Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Open Educational Resources (OER)

This guide defines OER, provides resources for locating and using OERs, and gives an overview of the Cal Poly Pomona Affordable Learning Initiative (ALI) program.

Where to find OER?

  • Contains free, openly-licensed textbooks
  • Uses peer-review and a rating system to improve content and provide feedback
  • Textbooks are listed by discipline

Visit Open Textbook Library

  • Contains high quality peer-reviewed textbooks and digital learning tools.
  • All content is free to use and reuse under the Creative Commons attribution license

Visit OpenStax

 

  • BCcampus is a collection of open textbooks, educational resources, and initiatives based out of Canada.

 

Visit BCcampus Open Ed

 

  • The CCCOER collects open access resources for the creation of textbook alternatives, in addition to open content repositories and developmental tools.
  • Access to over 500 open texbooks, as well as a useful guide to creating and implementing your own open access textbook.

 

Visit CCCOER

 

  • A multidisciplinary Open Access publisher of books and journals covering the fields of Physical Sciences, Engineering, Technology, Life Sciences, Health Sciences, Veterinary Medicine, Business, Social Sciences, and the Humanities.
  • InTech has published more than 850 Open Access books, and provides support services for faculty who wish to publish a book or journal and make it available via Open Access.

Visit InTech

 

  • Non-commercial textbook project that provides access to high quality, open access textbooks.
  • Multi-disciplinary
  • Contains books, learning objects, and course outlines.

Visit LibreText

  • A free and open resource designed primarily for faculty and students of higher education.
  • Multi-disciplinary
  • Links to online learning materials are collected here along with assignments and comments to enhance the teaching experience of an exercise.

Visit MERLOT

  • Provides over 1600 open teaching and learning resources: online presentations; course material; learning modules; podcasts; simulation tools.
  • Created by the NSF-funded Network for Computational Nanotechnology.

Visit NanoHUB

  • This catalog contains hundreds of college-level open textbooks from higher education institutions around the world.

Visit OER Commons: Open Textbooks

  • Free and open digital publication of high quality educational materials, organized as courses.
  • A collaboration of more than 200 higher education institutions and associated organizations from around the world creating a board and deep body of open educational content using a shared model.

Visit Open Courseware Consortium

  • A free and open, online, not-for-profit art history textbook with complete multimedia content.

Visit SmARThistory

  • A catalog of information about some of the top examples of open college textbooks, offered online under a license allowing free digital access and inexpensive print options. Material can be easily modified to fit your needs.
  • Subjects covered: Accounting & Finance; Business, Management & Marketing; Computer Science & Information Systems; Economics; General Education; Humanities & Language; Mathematics & Statistics; Natural & Physical Sciences; Social Sciences.

Visit Student PIRGs: Open Textbooks

  • Offers a number of e-Textbooks sorted by author and topic.
  • All of the textbooks can be downloaded for free and many of them can be purchased in print form.

Visit Textbook Media

  • A student-run site dedicated to increasing the use of free educational materials by teachers and professors.
  • The approach is to bring all of the free textbooks they can find together in one place, review them, and let the best rise to the top and find their way into the hands of students in classrooms around the world.

Visit Textbook Revolution

  • An evolving online community intended for the planning of education projects and the development of free content on WikiEducator for free learning.

Visit WikiEducator

OER Discussion

A detailed discussion of Open Educational Resources in higher education, covering a wide variety of critical topics.

Open Image Sharing

Open Video Sharing