Guides: Data and Statistics: Federal Data

USA Federal Statistics Sources

This site provides links to statistical data from over 100 U.S. Government agency Web sites. It includes:

an alphabetical listing of topical links
alphabetical and subject listings of agencies with contact information for and a description of key statistics that each produces links to the online versions of various published statistical collections
links to other statistical sites and data access tools to view select agencies’ statistical reports or generate your own tables.\

DATA.GOV is the open data portal for the US Federal Government on all topics. Here you will find data sets, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.

US Data and Statistics
Find US Data by subject.
FedStats
Data.Gov

Statistics from the U.S. Government

These are more general statistics from the U.S. Government. Subject-specific government statistics are under the Subject-Specific Stats tab.

American FactFinder
Offers access to U.S. census data (population, housing, economic, and geographic data).
U.S. Census Bureau
U.S. Counties - U.S. Census Bureau
Information in USA Counties is derived from the following general topics: age, agriculture, ancestry, banking, building permits, business patterns, crime, earnings, education, elections, employment, government, health, households, housing, income, labor force, manufactures, population, poverty, retail trade, social programs, veterans, vital statistics, water use, and wholesale trade.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
From the U.S. Department of Labor, and drawing from the most recent census data it covers employment, compensation, living and working conditions, etc...
Housing and Urban Development USER DATA
From U.S. Department of Housing & Urban Development: HUD USER provides interested researchers with access to the original data sets generated by PD&R-sponsored data collection efforts, including the American Housing Survey, HUD median family income limits, as well as microdata from research initiatives on topics such as housing discrimination, the HUD-insured multifamily housing stock, and the public housing population.
HealthData.gov
A US federal data website managed by the US Department of Health and Human Services. You can search for data or filter by agency, date and subject. "This site is dedicated to making high value health data more accessible to entrepreneurs, researchers, and policy makers in the hopes of better health outcomes for all."
Green Book
20th ed. (2008). This publication, compiled every two years by the staff of the Committee on Ways and Means of the U.S. House of Representatives, provides data on a variety of social and economic topics.
USDA's National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS)
"Conducts hundreds of surveys every year and prepares reports covering virtually every aspect of U.S. agriculture-production."
Energy Information Administration Statistics
This federal government site includes information on all topics related to energy. Information is available in datasets, reports, maps, databases, press releases and webpages.
Bureau of Justice Statistics Publications
The Bureau of Justice Statistics is a unit of the U.S. Department of Justice whose principal function is the compilation and analysis of data and the dissemination of information for statistical purposes. BJS mission is to collect, analyze, publish, and disseminate information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government.
Federal Court Statistics
Available from the Administrative Office of the U.S. Courts this site contains statistics on bankruptcy, court management, judicial caseload, as well as judical facts and figures.
USDA Economics, Statistics and Market Information System
"Contains nearly 2500 reports and datasets from several agencies of the U.S. Department of Agriculture. These materials cover U.S. and international agriculture and related topics."

Statistical Abstract of the U.S.

Published since 1878, this is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. We have older versions available in print in the library.

Statistical Abstract of the United States

Books in the Library on U.S. Statistics

Datapedia of the United States by Bernan Press Staff; Barbara A. Chernow; George Thomas Kurian
Call Number: e-book
ISBN: 1598880837
Publication Date: 2007-10-30
The Historical Statistics of the United States by Richard Sutch (Editor); Susan B. Carter (Editor); Scott Sigmund Gartner (Editor); Michael R. Haines (Editor); Alan L. Olmstead (Editor); Gavin Wright (Editor)
Call Number: HA202 .H57 v.1-v.5 Reference/2nd floor
ISBN: 0521817919
Publication Date: 2006-01-30