Guides: Food Science and Technology (FST): Regulations and Food Safety

Government sources

CDFA Animal Health and Food Safety Services Division (AHFSS)
The AHFSS division of the CA Department of Food and Agriculture (CDFA) serves the citizens of the State and consumers of California agricultural products to assure the safety, availability and affordability of agricultural products by promoting California agriculture, protecting public and animal health while enhancing stewardship of the environment. This AHFSS information page addresses how federal and state agriculture, health, and environmental agencies work together to ensure food safety for the US.
FDA Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition (CFSAN)
A product-oriented center (one of six) that carries out the mission of the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA). Website provides news and alerts on recalls, outbreaks, and emergencies; guidance and regulation for food and dietary supplements; information about food ingredients and packaging, and more.
USDA: Find information easily with their AskUSDA site
US Department of Agriculture (USDA) comprises 29 agencies and offices, and provides leadership on food, agriculture, natural resources, rural development, nutrition, and related issues.

Food Labeling

Food Labeling & Nutrition
The FDA's Food Labeling & Nutrition web pages address the labeling requirements for foods under the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act and its amendments. You can use this landing page to further explore the FDA's News, Topics, Regulations, and Guidance related to food labeling and nutrition. Among the claims that can be used on food and dietary supplement labels are three categories of claims defined by statute and/or FDA regulations: Health claims, Nutrient content claims, and Structure/Function claims.
Industry Resources on the Changes to the Nutrition Facts Label
This FDA web page addresses the most frequently asked questions from various stakeholder groups about Nutrition Facts label changes. Contains links to the pertinent rules and FDA guidance documents with important information such as Reference Amounts Customarily Consumed (RACCs) of common foods and Daily Values (DRVs and RDIs) of nutrients.

Westlaw
A comprehensive legal, business and news database. Legal content includes U.S. federal and state case law, regulations, statutes, administrative codes, legislative history, law reviews and journals, American Law Reports, American Jurisprudence 2d, Black's Law Dictionary, European Union case law and related legal publications. Business content includes EDGAR Filings and Disclosures, Company Investigator (including Hoover's Company Profiles for public and private companies), and business and trade publications. News content includes U.S. state, national and international newspapers, magazines, blogs, radio and television transcripts, and congressional testimony.