Guides: IBM 3001 Principles of Global Business: Home

Recommended Resources

Bloomberg
Available via EBSCO databases. Published since 1929.
The Economist
Available via ProQuest. Published since 1843.
Financial Times
Available via ProQuest databases
Forbes
Available via EBSCO databases
Fortune Magazine
Available via EBSCO databases
Wall Street Journal (WSJ)
Available via ProQuest databases

CountryWatch
Provides country profiles, news, statistics, and trends (political, economic, etc.).

First Research Industry Profiles
Covers over 1000 industry segments. Contain analysis, statistics, and forecasts.
Fitch Solutions Country Industry Reports (was Business Monitor International industry reports)
Global coverage of 22 industries.

Mergent Market Atlas
Mergent Market Atlas offers company, industry, country, index, ESG, and economic data displays and reports as well as search capabilities on detailed information related to company data, descriptions, financials, ratios, business segments, sustainability, officers, and directors. The database delivers the same comprehensive suite of financial information used by professionals under LSEG's Refinitiv and FTSE Russell brands.
NOTE: Trial access is available through June 30, 2025.

Recommended Websites

The Big Project: News
Links to major newspaper websites across the world. Recommended by Professor Arends.
CIA World Factbook
Free website provided by the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency with information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and other issues for over 250 locations.
globalEDGE
This research tool hosted by Michigan State University allows you to fine tune your results by country, trade bloc, economic classification, industry, and state.

Cite Your Sources using APA Style

Cal Poly Pomona (old stables) by JingKe888 (2024)

When creating your project, remember to cite everything you did not write / create / think up on your own, including images / graphs / charts / maps / datasets you borrow from online sources. Below are some tools and websites to help you cite your sources correctly.

APA Style Guidelines at APA.ORG
Includes guidelines on paper format (headings, fonts, etc.), tables and figures, style, grammar, as well as in-text citations and references, along with sample papers. If you use generativeAI, be sure to cite it. Learn how at How to cite ChatGPT.
APA Style Guide at Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)
Includes guidelines on formatting and citations as well as sample papers.
Citation Machine
Create citations in APA, MLA, Chicago, Harvard, ACM, IEEE, CSE, etc. Check your paper for plagiarism errors.
Google Scholar
Works best for books and scholarly articles. Search for a title, then click on the "Cite" button. Includes the following styles: APA, Chicago, Harvard, MLA, and Vancouver.
Zotero
Create citations in APA, MLA, Chicago, Harvard, ACM, IEEE, CSE, etc. Free registration to save bibliographies. Optional download for desktop version.

To learn more about the importance of academic integrity, please see

Videos on different types of plagiarism
Provided by the Office of Student Conduct & Integrity at Cal Poly Pomona.

Also See

International Business (IBM)
by Julie Shen Last Updated Feb 27, 2025 72 views this year
Marketing (IBM)
by Julie Shen Last Updated Feb 27, 2025 16 views this year
Library Research for Business Students
by Julie Shen Last Updated Mar 19, 2025 134 views this year