Citizen Literacy Guide

This 16th edition of the book, first published in 1855, has been expanded to include more than 20,000 quotations and more than 340 new authors both historical and contemporary - from Russell Baker, The Doors, Elvis, Nadine Gordimer, Stephen Hawking, Primo Levi, Norman Mailer, Salman Rushdie, the Talmud, Alice Walker and Elie Wiesel. This edition has been revised and edited by Pulitzer Prize-winning biographer Justin Kaplan.

This major new edition of The Oxford Dictionary of Quotations offers the broadest and most up-to-date coverage of quotations available today. Now with 20,000 quotations arranged by author, this is Oxford's largest quotations dictionary ever. As well as quotations from traditional sources,and with improved coverage of world religions and classical Greek and Latin literature, this foremost dictionary of quotations now covers areas such as proverbs and nursery rhymes. For the first time there are special sections for Advertising Slogans, Epitaphs, Film Lines, and Misquotations, whichbring together topical and related quotes, and allow you to browse through the best quotations on a given subject. In this new fifth edition there is enhanced accessibility with a new thematic index to help you find the best quotes on a chosen subject, more in-depth details of the earliest traceable source, an extensive keyword index, and biographical cross-references, so you will easily be able to findquotations for all occasions, and identify who said what, where, and when.

With over 12,000 quotations, this collection is the ideal place to answer all your quotation questions. You can discover which of over 3,000 authors said that tantalising phrase, or you can search over 600 subjects to find an apt quotation for any occasion

This work fills a need for lawyers and law students requiring material for their legal writing or interested in the rich cultural and historical dimensions of their profession, as well as anyone interested in the legal system so pervasive in modern life or in the vital legacy of the American constitution.

This hilarious collection of humorous quotations, full of wisecracks and wit, snappy comments and inspired fantasy, has been specially compiled by the late broadcaster and raconteur Ned Sherrin, with a foreword by leading British satirist, Alistair Beaton.

This comprehensive dictionary has been put together using memoirs, biographies, books, magazines, newspapers, and professional organizations. The quotations come from athletes, coaches, and sportscasters, as well as non-sports figures such as politicians, writers, and religious leaders. Topics cover professional and college football, baseball, basketball, hockey, lawn bowling, fencing, curling, and squash, amongst other sports. Other categories encompass general sports issues such as victory, defeat, offence, defence, sportsmanship, coaching, gambling, training, and more.

Certain lines define a movie. Marlene Dietrich in Morocco: Anyone who has faith in me is a sucker. Too, there are lines that fit actor and character. Mae West in I'm No Angel: I'm very quick in a slow way. Jane Fonda in California Suite: Fit? You think I look fit? What an awful shit you are. I look gorgeous.From the classics to the grade-B slasher movies, over 11,000 quotes are arranged by over 900 subjects, like accidents, double entendres, eyes (and other body parts!), ice cream, luggage, parasites, and ugliness. Each quote gives the movie title, production company, year of release, speaker of the line, and, when appropriate, a comment putting the quote in context.