Guides: Graphic Design: Journals

Journals

Art, Design & Communication in Higher Education : The Journal of the UK Learning & Teaching Support Network's Subject Centre for Art, Design & Communication This journal aims to inform, stimulate and promote the development of research with a learning and teaching focus for art, design and communication within higher education. It is peer-reviewed, is published three times a year. Coverage: January 2002 - Present
Communication Arts Print publication offering competitions, forums, feature articles, job bank, graphic design resources and online shopping. Print holdings CALL #: NC997.A1 C2 Lib. Has: v.42 (2000)+ Latest Received: March-April 2017 v.59 no.1 Location: Periodicals/3rd floor CALL #: NC997.A1 C2 Lib. Has: v.13 (1971)-v.33 (1991) Location: Compact Shelving/1st floor
Emigre Emigre magazine was published between 1984 and 2005. A total of 69 issues were produced, sometimes on a quarterly basis, but more often irregularly. Print holdings CALL #: NC997.A1 E4 Lib. Has: no.11 (1989)-no.69 (2005) Publication ended Location: Special Coll. CALL #: NC997.A1 E4 Lib. Has: no.60 (2001)-no.63 (2002) Location: CD/2nd floor media
European Comic Art This journal is the first English-language scholarly publication devoted to the study of European-language graphic novels, comic strips, comic books and caricature. Coverage: March 01, 2008 - March 27, 2016
Eye: The International Review of Graphic Design Coverage: March 2007 - June 2014
Graphis Print holdings CALL #: N8 .G73 Lib. Has: v.17 (1961)-v.26 (1970) Location: Microfilm/2nd floor CALL #: N8 .G73 Lib. Has: v.28 (1972)-v.48 (1992) Location: Compact Shelving/1st floor CALL #: N8 .G73 Lib. Has: v.51 (1995)-v.61 (2005) Latest Received: January-April 2005 v.61 no.355 Location: Periodicals/3rd floor
How Print holdings CALL #: NC1000 .H68 Lib. Has: v.10 (1995)- Latest Received: Spring 2017 v.32 no.1 Location: Periodicals/3rd floor CALL #: NC1000 .H68 Lib. Has: v.7 (1991)-v.9 (1994) Location: Compact Shelving/1st floor
Illustration Coverage: Apr. 15, 2006 - Present
International Journal of Comic Art International and multidisciplinary in scope, IJOCA aims to publish scholarly and readable research on any aspect of comic art, defined as animation, comic books, newspaper and magazine strips, caricature, gag and political cartoons, humorous art, and humor or cartoon magazines. Coverage: Oct. 15, 2005 - Oct. 15, 2010
Low Tech Magazine: Doubts on Progress and Technology Started in November 2007, this online magazine talks about the potential of past and often forgotten knowledge and technologies when it comes to designing a sustainable society.
Novum: Das Forum Für Kommunikations-Design Coverage: 1996 - Present Print holdings CALL #: NC997.A1 G4 Lib. Has: 2002- Latest Received: March 2017 Location: Periodicals/3rd floor CALL #: NC997.A1 G4 Latest Received: December 2008 Location: Periodicals/3rd floor Bound Volumes CALL #: NC997.A1 G4 Location: Periodicals/3rd floor LIB USE ONLY
Ornament Coverage: 1997 - Present
Print Print holdings CALL #: Z119 .P8985 Lib. Has: v.31 (1977)-v.48 (1994), v.64 (2010) Location: Compact Shelving/1st floor CALL #: Z119 .P8985 Lib. Has: v.49 (1995)- Latest Received: Winter 2016/2017 v.70 no.4 Location: Periodicals/3rd floor Online Coverage: 1995 - Present
Surface Design Journal Coverage: January 1, 1994 - Present
Typographische Monatsblätter (TM) Archive Coverage: 1960 - 1990
Works That Work - Magazine of Unexpected Creativity Works That Work is an international magazine for the curious mind, intending to surprise its readers with a rich mix of diverse subjects connected by the theme of unexpected creativity that improves our lives.