Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Mergent Online: Downloading Financial Statements

This libguide will show you how to access the Mergent Online database and how to download financial statements for your research.

Mergent Online: Downloading Financial Statements

Mergent Online: Downloading Financial Statements

Open CPP Library

in another browser window to work through this tutorial side by side.

Mergent Online is the library's database for 10,000+ publicly-traded companies. You can find background information on your company as well as reports and financials.

To access this database, go to the CPP library home page and click on "Databases" under Featured Links.

featured links with the word databases circled

 

How do I find "Featured Links" on the CPP library website?

the featured links are on the right hand side of the CPP library website

 

From the database list, navigate to Mergent Online.

Link

arrow pointing to Mergent Online from the database list

How to download financial statements

 SAMPLE SEARCH for Apple, Inc. (AAPL)

To begin, search by company name or symbol. Notice that a drop-down menu will appear as you type.

search box with "appl" written into it and a drop down menu with different results that match the search

After you select your company, select any of the tabs at the top to navigate through the database. Click on the "Company Financials" tab to find financial data to download.

What you can do in this database:

  • Download balance sheets, income statements, and more. Notice the download link on the right side of the page.
  • Select the numbers of years you would like to view. You can select as few as 3 years/quarters or as many as 15 years/quarters. See screenshot below.
  • Sort your data by annuals or quarters.

arrows pointing to the drop down menus that allow the use to sort the data by annuals or quarters, select the number of years, and choose which type of document they want to view