The California Building Code, or California Building Standards Code (BSC) is Title 24 of the California Code of Regulations. There are 12 volumes (Parts) and most are available in the Library. The latest editions are in Reference, 2nd floor.
This reference source can also be accessed online here: record=b1516874~S4 or here http://www.bsc.ca.gov/codes.aspx
The 2015 INTERNATIONAL BUILDING CODE is located in Reference on the 2nd floor of the University Library.
This reference source offers up-to-date, comprehensive insight into the regulations surrounding the design and installation of building systems. It provides valuable structural, fire-, and life- safety provisions that cover means of egress, interior finish requirements, roofs, seismic engineering, innovative construction technology, and occupancy classifications for all types of buildings except those which are detached one and two family homes and townhouses not more than 3 stories high. New code sections have been added to the 2015 IBC that cover rooftop mounted photovoltaic solar panels and all the content in the book is developed in the context of the broad-based principles that facilitate the use of new materials and building designs.
The library has many International Building Code books. You can find them using this link or by searching International Building Code using OneSearch on the library homepage.
Call Number: Online Encyclopedia Database - Requires login for Cal Poly Pomona users
Includes Grove Art Online: scholarly art encyclopedia, covering both Western and non-Western art. The content of Grove Art encompasses all aspects of visual culture. It features articles about topics as varied as Fauvism and Frida Kahlo, bibliographies for further research, and thousands of searchable images made available through Oxford’s partnerships with museums, galleries, and other outstanding arts organizations.
Call Number: Online - Required login for Cal Poly Pomona users
Publication Date: 2014
The Encyclopedia surveys the full breadth of critical thought on art, culture, and society, from classical philosophy to contemporary critical theory. The Encyclopedia is a comprehensive survey of major concepts, thinkers, and debates about the meaning, uses, and value of the arts - from painting and sculpture to literature, music, theater, textiles, dance,television, film, and sound art. Of special interest are in-depth surveys of Western aesthetics and broad coverage of non-Western traditions (e.g., Buddhist and Sanskrit Aesthetics).
In-depth data and analysis of the architectural profession's high-performing firms featuring the Top 1,000 Architecture and Design Firms in North America. Use this resource to learn about the most dominant firms by building types, awards, and fee volume. Find data on firms, reference material for clients, and statistics. Includes historic details on architecturally significant airports, aquariums, museums, convention centers, and stadiums and comprehensive records of awards and achievements. Includes a color gallery of leading projects and award winners for 2013; and much more.
Call Number: NA208 .E53 1997 (vol. 1, 2, 3) Reference on Second Floor
Publication Date: 1997
Vernacular - or traditional - architecture encompasses most of the buildings of the world. This encyclopedia is the first to show the remarkable diversity of the buildings constructed and lived in by the people of over a thousand cultures. The first of the three volumes focuses on the theories, principles and philosophy that underpin traditional architecture. Volumes 2 and 3 consider these principles within specific cultural and societal contexts. As building traditions vary widely within some countries and extend across the political boundaries of others, the encyclopedia considers vernacular architecture within its cultural rather than its national contexts. Richly illustrated with photographs, line drawings and maps, the work is also supported by a glossary, a lexicon, and the largest bibliography on the subject ever published.
This is a useful guide to any architect or student who is considering preparing a submission to competition. It illustrates winning case studies from many major international competitions. It provides strategic material on entering competitions: from which ones to enter to the way rules for competitions differ internationally and from region to region.
From site excavation to structures to roofs, this book is the first place to look when an architect is confronted with a question about building design. With more than 8,000 architectural illustrations, including both reference drawings and constructible architectural details, this book provides an easily accessible graphic reference for highly visual professionals.
Below are two of the Time-saver Books that the library has for your research. You can find other Time-saver books by using this link or by searching the keyword 'Time-saver' using OneSearch on the library homepage.
Call Number: Ebook - Requires login for Cal Poly Pomona Users
Publication Date: 2013
The Modern Construction Handbook systematic approach with chapters on materials, walls, roofs, construction and environment offers clear and efficient orientation. Digital fabrication techniques are included as well (complementing traditional production processes).
Call Number: Ebook - Requires login for Cal Poly Pomona users
Publication Date: 2011
A unique cost reference, updated and expanded, for architects, engineers, contractors, building owners, and managers. This Third Edition has been updated with the latest in green building technologies, design concepts, standards, and costs. The chapters, case studies, and resources give you practical guidance on green building, including the latest on: Green building approaches, materials, rating systems, standards, and guidelines Energy efficiencies, implementing energy modeling tools Designing and specifying, as well as commissioning, green building projects and more.
You can find resources on building estimates by clicking this link or by searching 'Building Estimates' using OneSearch on the library homepage.
Get the confidence and know-how you need to deliver more accurate cost estimates and improve profitability. The 73rd edition of this bestselling cost guide has been updated and expanded to provide you with the information you need to estimate projects, planning & budgeting.