Guides: Library Workshops: Finding Credible Sources

Workshop Learning Objectives

After attending this workshop, participants will be able to:

1) Describe three (3) or more characteristics of a credible source.

2) Name three (3) or more specific tools and techniques for finding credible sources for college-level research.

Credible or Not? - Exercise

Article: Coaching Olympic Athletes with Sport Psychology (via PsycArticles database)

Coaching Olympic Athletes with Sport Psychology (via OneSearch)
Consulting Psychology Journal (Journal web site)
Consulting Psychology Journal (Volumes and Issues)
Evaluating Information - Applying the CRAAP Test
C--urrency, R--elevance, A--uthority, A--ccuracy, and P--urpose. From Meriam Library, CSU Chico.

CRAAP Test Checklist

CRAAP Test
Developed by the Meriam Library at California State University, Chico.

Finding Credible Sources - Recommended Tools & Techniques

CRAAP Test

Evaluate for Currency, Relevance, Authority, Accuracy, and Purpose

Currency refers to the timeliness of the information. When was it published? Is it out-of-date for the topic?
Relevance refers to the appropriateness of the information for your needs. Is the information at an appropriate level (i.e. not too basic or advanced)?
Authority refers to the source of the information. Who is the author/publisher/source/sponsor? Is the author qualified to write on the topic?
Accuracy refers to the reliability of the informational content. Can you verify the information in another source? Does the language or tone seem biased or is it free of emotion?
Purpose refers to the reason the information exists. What is the purpose of the information? To inform, teach, sell, entertain, or persuade? Are there political, ideological, cultural, religious, institutional, or personal biases?

Optimize Your Google searches

Scroll down inside the box below for specific Google tips.

Library Resources for Background Reading

Collections of academic sources with added features to make research and writing easier.

Gale Ebooks
The GVRL collection includes encyclopedias and other reference works supporting a wide range of academic disciplines.
Gale in Context
Covers current hot topics and controversial issues. Gun control, censorship, immigration, and animal rights are but a few examples. Full text content includes topic overviews, pro and con essays and articles, statistics, images, web links, and more. Browse topics.
CQ Researcher
Learn about major issues from current and historical perspectives and the inner workings of the U.S. government from authoritative, accessible, and unbiased sources.
Academic Search Premier
Multi-subject database; articles from journals & other publications. Covers business, education, history, literature, medicine, philosophy, politics, science, and technology.
ProQuest Databases
Search platform for a wide range of multi-disciplinary subject areas, including agriculture, alternative publications, biology, business, country reports, dissertations and theses, education, ethnic and gender issues, geosciences, historical Los Angeles Times and New York Times, literature, PTSD, sociology, and US and global news.
Global Newsstream (US & International Newspapers)
Full text access to hundreds of U.S. and international newspapers, including The New York Times, Los Angeles Times, The Times of London, and Wall Street Journal.
E-Book Central (ProQuest)
ProQuest Ebook Central (formerly ebrary and EBL) is a multidisciplinary collection of ebooks from numerous academic publishers. Visit the help page. NOTE: Titles can be dropped by the publisher without prior notice.

Credible or Not? Exercise

Let's look at a few variations of a scholarly journal and article:

Consulting Psychology Journal: Practice and Research
APA PsycNet
Coaching olympic athletes with sport psychology
Coaching olympic athletes with sport psychology
This is an example of a "paywall" when accessing this article from the Internet.