Guides: REPAIR Lab: Home

REPAIR Lab 411

WHAT IS "REPAIR LAB"?

We are an apprenticeship-style Signature Polytechnic Experience (PolyX) program where students embody CPP's "learn by doing" experiential learning model by performing the techniques needed to make new materials into functional library items and to extend the life of the University Library's physical materials.

By "physical materials" or "physical collections," we mean all the formats that take up physical space such as print books, print journals, sheet music, maps, CDs, DVDs, multi-part kits, microfilm, and microfiche. All physical materials have a lifecycle--brand new, light wear and tear, and heavy damage.

REPAIR Lab handles new purchases, donations, and a spectrum of preservation work that heavily focuses on triage and repair of the University Library's circulating collection. In addition to the general collection, we also process materials for and transfers from Special Collections & Archives. The many specialized tasks we perform fall primarily into, but are not limited to, these categories:

Ready new items for circulation
Apply preventive reinforcement to new and donated items
Repair physical materials
Search for duplicate, problematic, lost, and missing items

WHERE IS REPAIR LAB?

We are located in the Collections, Acquisitions, and Resource Discovery Services (CARDS) Department of the University Library on the 1st Floor. CARDS is the "back of house" hub responsible for the purchase, access, maintenance, preservation, and discoverability of all the University Library's print and electronic collections. REPAIR Lab student assistants train primarily with staff from the Acquisitions & Materials Unit of CARDS.

What we stand for

REPAIR is an acronym for the three major types of work conducted in REPAIR Lab. REPAIR stands for:

RE = Repair

P = Processing

A = and

IR = Items Restoration

REPAIR

Repair is a generalized term encompassing three categories of tasks:

application of preventative measures for anticipated high-use items
reinforcement of items with minor damage incurred during shipment
major repair of severely damaged items.

To create an effective, long-lasting repair, we employ techniques involving glues, tapes, binders, clamps, sandpaper, knives, darning needles, heavy-duty electric and manual staplers, book presses, an electric drill, chemical solvents, a hot plate, and tabletop paper-cutters. A short list of the most common apprentice-level repair techniques include:

use knives to strip dry binding tapes and caked-on old glue residues
use various blades to slice broken covers for repair and reassembly
construct new book spine covers by upcycling used manila folders
re-form separated paperback sections back into books
use in-house bindery equipment to re-bind materials
reattach loose pages back into the book
mend ripped and cut pages

PROCESSING OR PHYSICAL PROCESSING

Processing refers to the tasks needed to turn any item into a library item ready to be borrowed. At the apprentice level, students learn custom processing and damage remediation tasks for new and donated materials. These specialized tasks include:

adding library identifiers such as barcodes and call number labels
inserting security strips
media disc processing (CDs, CD-ROMs, DVDs, etc.)
supplemental materials processing (maps, posters, cards, pamphlets, etc.)
custom lay flat or hinge-style pocket for books with supplemental materials
clear polyester mylar covers to protect book jacket

ITEMS RESTORATION

Item restoration is the most involved process to bring materials back to its closest original form. These items start with an evaluation to see whether it can first be restored safely and whether the restoration is within the scope and skills of the unit.

REPAIR Lab is now PolyX!

PolyX programs are designed to give students hands-on experience in solving real world challenges. In the University Library, that challenge is how to extend the life of the physical materials needed by our campus community using fiscally responsible, sustainable, and practical techniques and solutions.

In the REPAIR Lab, students support the teaching, research, intellectual, and scholarly needs of our campus community by performing specialized tasks that ensures the Library's physical materials are continuously usable.

In addition to in-house processing and physical item repair, students gain lifelong skills for academic and career success such as patience, precision, discipline, logic, workflow assessment, and time management in their performance of this indispensable work that supports the University Library's mission and the University's strategic plan.

We are the University Library's sole PolyX program. To see other programs, visit the PolyX Hub.