CARDS is responsible for ordering, receiving, cataloging, processing, and, when necessary, repairing any materials before they are delivered to public-facing library staff for fulfilling holds requests, and shelving in Course Reserves or the University Library's browsing shelves. CARDS also catalogs and processes materials for Special Collections & Archives. We also handle the materials transferring from Special Collections & Archives and re-process them for the University Library general collection.
REPAIR Lab student assistants and the CARDS staff who train them are vital to the ongoing process of collection maintenance. We ensure the immediate usability and readiness of physical Library materials. Books and other physical materials in the general collection suffer wear and tear from handling or poor storage. In-house physical processing and repair serve four main purposes:
Physical item repair and in-house processing are also fiscally responsible methods of collection maintenance as well as essential to providing our campus community with the resources necessary for academic success.
For example, from January-May 2022, the REPAIR Lab team saved the University Library over $100,000. During this period, our students repaired approximately 1,600 items. The CSU-defined lost library item fee is $90.00 per item. If the University Library repurchased all 1,600 repaired items, it would have cost $144,000. In comparison, our student assistant budget and supplies was only $35,000. By repairing items in-house, the University Library saved $109,000. This cost savings could then be used to acquire new resources to add to the University Library's collection.
REPAIR Lab student assistants encounter global issues related to libraries, librarianship, public institutions, and the publishing world. The first and most important issue is the allocation of funds for institutions such as libraries, universities, and other centers of learning. The University Library budget has been flat since 2008. With the costs of online databases, streaming media, and e-journal packages rising 3-15% per year along with increases based on our growing full-time enrollment (FTE) count, the University Library must make hard decisions to cancel electronic resources and limit purchasing. These cuts and purchasing constraints are detrimental to the university's goal of student success, the polytechnic experience, and the teacher-scholar model meant to promote lifelong learning.
Students learn about sustainability by using recycled, upcycled, and re-purposed readily available household materials in conjunction with professional-grade supplies to extend the life of our physical materials. They upcycle manila folders to create new book spines. They use free flooring samples and bulldog clips to rebuild broken book corners. Depending on the size of the book, various cylindrical implements such as bamboo skewers, metal rods, acrylic dowels, pencils, rulers, rubber bands, and bricks are used to repair loose hinges and spines. In the REPAIR Lab, assorted lidded food jars are re-purposed as glue containers and unlidded jars as water pots for cleaning brushes. These re-purposing techniques demonstrate the importance of devising creative, environmentally-sound, and fiscally responsible alternatives.
Thus, our students learn not only about in-house processing and physical item repair but also the value of print in an ever-evolving digital age; their work's impact on the University Library's budget, collection, and users; and the role of libraries in information creation, retention, and dissemination. In addition to the above organizational benefits, CARDS students learn lifelong skills for academic and career success such as patience, precision, discipline, logic, workflow assessment, and time management in their performance of this indispensable work that supports the University Library's mission and the University's strategic plan.
All workplaces have jargon and terminology specific to the site and group. REPAIR Lab is the same. Before you can process or repair any item, you will need to know the parts of the most common items we fix--books and media casings. Without an understanding of the terms we use, you'll be unable to follow the instructions. Here are the basic terms you need to know by category.
ABOUT CDs
*** This section still in progress ***
ABOUT DVDs
*** This section still in progress ***
"Repair" is a generalized term encompassing three categories of tasks:
A single book often requires a combination of several techniques employed in a specific sequence. Applied out of sequence and without precision means the repair will not withstand the cumulative wear and tear from handling and storage conditions. CARDS students are taught the theory, purpose, and execution of common and variant techniques by CARDS staff.
A short list of the most common apprentice-level repair techniques include:
At the apprentice level, students are closely supervised at every stage of the learning process and for the entire shift duration. CARDS staff monitor, assess, and review completed work every shift. Questions are encouraged and feedback given. By passing both processing and repair exams after completing 350 hours of training, CARDS students can independently perform processing and basic repair tasks with skilled precision.
a. 
b. 
c. 
d. 
a. Cutting a piece of 2.5 mm clear polypropylene hinge tape to reinforce the inside front cover. b. Creating a new spine cover with a recycled manila folder and vinyl-coated cloth tape. c. Gluing a broken book corner together before clamping it flat using bulldog clips. d. Applying a stitched binder tape in preparation to re-attach a fallen off cover.
"Physical processing" or "processing" refers to the tasks needed to make an item ready for someone to find on the shelf. At the apprentice level, students learn custom processing and damage remediation tasks for new and donated materials. The 4 basic elements of a straightforward processing job are:
The three largest categories of items that need more than basic processing are:
These categories usually need some combination of the below additional processing tasks:
a. 
b. 
c. 
d. 
e. 
a. interior property stamp b. applying a security sensor strip c. applying a call number label d. completed hinge pockets. e. processed DVD in a security case
Searching is done primarily when we are checking for duplicate copies. We find out about duplicate titles most frequently when donations are being cataloged. Since shelf space and budget are always a problem in a library, searching for duplicates allows the library to swap out a well-loved on-the-shelf copy with a donated copy in better condition. Other reasons for searching include catalog clean up projects and hunting for missing copies.
Cal Poly Pomona organizes its collections using the Library of Congress classification system. This classification system outputs as an alphanumeric code called a "call number". A "call number" gives basic information on the subject of the item and acts as the item's effective address within the library. This call number is printed on a label that you will find about 1/2" above bottom of the spine. If the spine of the book is too narrow, the call number label will be on the front cover in the lower left corner.
Here's the basic anatomy of a call number:
Now that you know what a call number is, let's talk about floors. Our University Library is like two connected buildings. The original building has 6 floors and the extension has 4 floors. Use the freight elevator to access all floors without having to switch elevators.
Each floor of the library has different call number ranges and sub-collections.
When you get to the shelves, you may see some shelves are very loose and others are tightly packed. In either situation, the best way to take a book from the shelf is to grab it by the spine. Never take a book off the shelf by tilting it forward using the top edge of the spine cover. This eventually rips off the top of the book's spine. (Check out the photo gallery for a book with a broken top of spine cover.)
So...how are you supposed to take a book off the shelf?
Removing books from a shelf creates gaps that cause the remaining books to tilt. The tilt puts stress on the spine and covers. In general, an item standing upright with a properly positioned bookend will accrue less damage over time. The best thing to do after removing any item is to tidy the shelf. Think of it this way,
Books are like people. They do better with the support of their friends.
That being said, when you look at CPP's bookshelves, you will see many types of bookends. The two most common types are knifing bookends and hanging compression bookends.
Note: If this video does not display, please try a different browser.
Write "NOS + [date]" on the note sheet. (NOS = Not on shelf)
Continue on to the next book.
Bring back all unfound books to the REPAIR Lab and return them to the dup check cart. We'll search for them again at a later time just in case the item was being used by someone.
Apply on Handshake! Please apply early. At the University Library, we will post the job in Handshake around late June for the Fall semester.
Anyone! We accept students from all academic majors.
Yes, we do. If you have federal work study, please attach a screenshot of the accepted award to your Handshake application.
Monday through Friday, 8 AM.- 5 PM.
No, it is not required. We provide the training you'll need to do this work.
Not very much. There will be times when you are out working in the general stacks that someone will ask you for assistance, but generally REPAIR Lab is part of the library's "backstage". You will be working closely with other student assistants as well as library staff in a workshop setting in the CARDS work suite.
Yes and no.
Yes, we will try to accommodate class schedule changes and time off requests as long as you speak with the student assistant coordinator first. Communication and open dialogue are values we hold in CARDS.
No, in the sense that if you are a new, your shift period must be at least two hours. Also, your work shift must fall between 8 AM - 5 PM, Monday through Friday.
