Guides: BUS 2500 Applied Business Communication: Home

Welcome to Your University Library!

Library Hours
Coming on campus today? Check to see if the Library (building 15) is open.
Group Study Rooms
Reserve a room to study with your classmates in the Library.
Quiet Floors
Looking for a quiet place to study? Go to the 1st, 5th, or 6th floor.
Tech Lending
Forgot your laptop at home? Borrow one of ours for a few hours.
24 Hour Computer Lab
This computer lab is open even when the Library is closed.
IT Service Desk
Have a technical question? Call or visit the 2nd floor of the Library.
CPP Library FAQs
Take a look to see if there's anything else you'd like to know. You can also ask a librarian!

Recommended Titles

Ad Age
Newest articles available via ProQuest databases. Known as Advertising Age until 2017. Published since 1930.
Harvard Business Review (HBR)
Available via EBSCO databases. Published by Harvard Business School, this online magazine focuses on business strategy, general management, technology, leadership, human resources and innovation.
Wall Street Journal (WSJ)
Available via ProQuest databases

Recommended Databases

ABI/INFORM Complete
Business news and analysis. Peer-reviewed research. Industry reports by country. Part of Proquest Databases. Read more about this resource or visit the help page.
Business Source Premier
Business news and analysis. Peer-reviewed research. Case studies and SWOT analyses. Country reports. Includes Harvard Business Review. Read more about this resource or watch a how-to video.
IBISWorld
U.S., China, Canada, and global industry market research and company benchmarking reports. Funded by the College of Business Administration. Read more about this resource.

See All Business Databases

Web Research Tips

Logo by R. Kedar (1999)

Many online sources are plagiarized or of questionable quality. When using online sources, ask yourself the following questions:

Who is the author?
What are their credentials?
What possible biases exist?
When was this source published?

Google.com
When using the AI Overview, you should always evaluate the sources.
Google Books
This search engine provides full-text for older books out of copyright. You can also use it to preview newer books that you can then get from the library.
Google News
Current news from all over the world.
Google Scholar
This search engine automatically connects to the library's full-text databases when you're on campus. If you are off campus, you can click on SETTINGS, then click on LIBRARY LINKS, add CAL POLY POMONA, and click SAVE.

Cite Your Sources using APA Style

Cal Poly Pomona (old stables) by JingKe888 (2024)

When creating your project, remember to cite everything you did not write / create / think up on your own, including images / graphs / charts / maps / datasets you borrow from online sources. Below are some tools and websites to help you cite your sources correctly.

APA Style Guidelines at APA.ORG
Includes guidelines on paper format (headings, fonts, etc.), tables and figures, style, grammar, as well as in-text citations and references, along with sample papers. If you use generativeAI, be sure to cite it. Learn how at How to cite ChatGPT.
APA Style Guide at Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)
Includes guidelines on formatting and citations as well as sample papers.
Citation Machine
Create citations in APA, MLA, Chicago, Harvard, ACM, IEEE, CSE, etc. Check your paper for plagiarism errors.
Google Scholar
Works best for books and scholarly articles. Search for a title, then click on the "Cite" button. Includes the following styles: APA, Chicago, Harvard, MLA, and Vancouver.
Zotero
Create citations in APA, MLA, Chicago, Harvard, ACM, IEEE, CSE, etc. Free registration to save bibliographies. Optional download for desktop version.

To learn more about the importance of academic integrity, please see

Videos on different types of plagiarism
Provided by the Office of Student Conduct & Integrity at Cal Poly Pomona.

Also See

How to Cite ChatGPT (from APA.org)

Business Writing
by Julie Shen Last Updated Jun 17, 2025 29 views this year
Library Research for Business Students
by Julie Shen Last Updated Sep 9, 2025 368 views this year