Guides: Chemistry & Biochemistry: Citation and Writing Resources

Avoid Plagiarism – Cite Your Sources

Why cite your sources?

Give credit to the creators of the information you used in your papers, presentations, and projects
Add credibility to your argument or assertions
Avoid committing plagiarism
Share the sources you found with other researchers

For more information about avoiding plagiarism, visit CPP's Student Conduct and Integrity website.

Which citation style should you use?

Check with your instructor to be sure. Your professor may have provided guidelines and examples for the class to follow, so be sure to consult those materials. Citation styles are often determined by your subject field.
If your professor allows you to choose a standard citation style to follow, aim for consistency when following it.

How to cite your sources?

Looking for a thorough citation tutorial? Check out the University Library's existing guide on citations!

Are you using APA – the style of documentation from the American Psychological Association? Watch the following videos!

Are you using MLA – the style of documentation from the Modern Language Association? Watch the following videos!

Are you using Chicago? Watch the following videos! Be sure to check out our Author-Date resources, available through our general tutorial, as well.

Citation tools can make life easier!

Gather many references with a reference manager such as Zotero or EndNote. A reference manager can quickly create a bibliography for you, and you can choose from a variety of citation styles. Or create one or a few quick citations with these tools:

How can I use a database search to format my citations for a bibliography?
Noodle Tools Express
ZoteroBib, see a quick video tutorial here.
Cite This For Me
Citation Machine

Citation tools and reference management tools are a big help. But beware: You should review the citations for accuracy and correct formatting. Ultimately, you are responsible for the citations that you submit for an assignment, not the citation tool.

See examples and guidance from Purdue OWL

APA and MLA are two commonly-used standard citation styles, but check with your professor before using either.

For using APA style: Creating references for Books, for Articles in Periodicals, for Electronic Sources Refer to Electronic Sources examples for the sources that you obtained from a library database or web site. For guidance on in-text citations, see the Basics here and further guidance on Author/Authors here. Find out how to use APA Footnotes here. View an APA sample paper and References list here.	For using MLA style: Creating references for Books, for Articles in Periodicals, for Electronic Sources Refer to Electronic Sources examples for the sources that you obtained from a library database or web site. For guidance on in-text citations, see the Basics here. Find out how to use MLA Footnotes here. View an MLA sample paper and Works Cited page here.

For using APA style:

Creating references for Books, for Articles in Periodicals, for Electronic Sources
Refer to Electronic Sources examples for the sources that you obtained from a library database or web site.
For guidance on in-text citations, see the Basics here and further guidance on Author/Authors here.
Find out how to use APA Footnotes here.
View an APA sample paper and References list here.

For using MLA style:

Creating references for Books, for Articles in Periodicals, for Electronic Sources
Refer to Electronic Sources examples for the sources that you obtained from a library database or web site.
For guidance on in-text citations, see the Basics here.
Find out how to use MLA Footnotes here.
View an MLA sample paper and Works Cited page here.

Communicate Your Research – Writing Help

Writing help at CPP and beyond!

The University Writing Center (UWC) at Cal Poly Pomona provides tutoring on an appointment, online, and drop-in basis. Check out their tutoring services today!
The Writing Center at University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill offers a plethora of publicly available online resources to support all forms of writing. Their Tips and Tools resource page has information on everything from how to write for college courses and how to development thesis statements to comma usage and gender-inclusive language.
The Academic Phrase Bank also provides "examples of some of the phraseological 'nuts and bolts' of writing." Visit the web site created by John Morley, at the U of Manchester.