URP 3350 Research Guide

This site provides access to data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas. The data come from several censuses and surveys.

Find historical charts the state's budget and general fund data.

Provides country profiles, news, trends, and statistics

Here you will find data sets, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.

Supporting a Community of Practice Engaged in Federal Statistics: provides access to the full range of official statistical information produced by the Federal Government without having to know in advance which Federal agency produces which particular statistic

Browse local data from the Census Bureau's American Community Survey, based on samples from 2005 to 2009. Because these figures are based on samples, they are subject to a margin of error, particularly in places with a low population, and are best regarded as estimates.

Business information, current news, and country reports.

Features a collection of statistics on California and its cities and counties, an online library of research reports, and a monthly report on California’s economy.

Drawing on millions of records, the Eviction Lab at Princeton University has published the first ever dataset of evictions in America, going back to 2000.

U.S. Census Data from 1790 - present. Browse data, build and download customized reports, and construct interactive maps on subjects like housing, race, employment, occupation, income level, and more.

The world's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic source on transportation information. It contains more than 900,000 records of published and ongoing research, covering all modes and disciplines of transportation.

Find information using interactive applications to get statistics from multiple surveys.

OPR studies future research and planning needs, fosters goal-driven collaboration, and delivers guidance to state partners and local communities, with a focus on land use and community development, climate risk and resilience, and high road economic development.

Here you will find data sets, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.

Here you will find data to conduct research, develop web, online, and mobile applications, and generally learn more about Los Angeles. This site allows you to subscribe to changes in datasets, request new datasets, and participate in discussions with other users. We look forward to seeing what you do with DataLA.

The LA County GIS Data Portal is the place to search for and download GIS data created, maintained, licensed, and stored by the County of Los Angeles.

"The United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA) launched a new internet based data service for the global user community. It brings UN statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single entry point (http://data.un.org/). Users can now search and download a variety of statistical resources of the UN system."

From the Pew Research Center's About page:
"Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. We conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. We do not take policy positions."

"The United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA) launched a new internet based data service for the global user community. It brings UN statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single entry point (http://data.un.org/). Users can now search and download a variety of statistical resources of the UN system."

"The Statistics Division is committed to the advancement of the global statistical system. We compile and disseminate global statistical information, develop standards and norms for statistical activities, and support countries’ efforts to strengthen their national statistical systems. We facilitate the coordination of international statistical activities and support the functioning of the United Nations Statistical Commission as the apex entity of the global statistical system."

World Bank Open Data: free and open access to data about development in countries around the globe.

The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, a World Oceans map, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.