Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MEP: Engineering in Your Future

An introduction to important services and engineering resources at the Cal Poly Pomona Library.

How to find books using OneSearch

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedias and encyclopedia type publications can be used to get an overview of a topic and to get familiar with the terminology in a field. Listed here is a very small sample of what's available.

For hints on finding more encyclopedias: How do I find an encyclopedia?

Handbooks

Engineering handbooks can be useful for getting an overview of your discipline or a specific topic. They also contain detailed information, facts, formulas, data, and more. Here a just a few of the hundreds available:

Knovel - Engineering Handbooks Online

Knovel is an online collection of over 600 engineering handbooks and reference sources. Search or browse individual books or search across the entire collection. Many of the handbooks in Knovel feature interactive tables and graphs and you can export data to Excel and other programs.

Our subscription includes the civil engineering & construction materials, electrical & power engineering, mechanics & mechanical engineering subject collections. Machinery's Handbook and other popular mechanical engineering references are in the Knovel collection.

knovel search screen

Spend a few minutes with the Knovel Support Center to learn more about the product and its special features. For best results, create your own Knovel profile. You can then easily log on from anywhere in the world, and take advantage of other features such creating your bookshelves and saving folders of information. Click My Knovel at the top of the screen. You'll be prompted to create your own username and password.

My Knovel