Access2Science
The Access2Science web site provides articles and links on accessibility of science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM). Its purpose is to provide practical information to people with print disabilities and to their friends, parents, and teachers.
BioNumbers: The Database of Useful Biological Numbers
"We aim to enable you to find in one minute any useful molecular biology number that can be important for your research."
iBiology
iBiology’s mission is to convey, in the form of open-access free videos, the excitement of modern biology and the process by which scientific discoveries are made. Our aim is to let you meet the leading scientists in biology, so that you can find out how they think about scientific questions and conduct their research, and can get a sense of their personalities, opinions, and perspectives.
International Plant Name Index (IPNI)
The International Plant Names Index (IPNI) produced by a collaboration between The Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew, The Harvard University Herbaria, and The Australian National Herbarium, hosted by the Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew. IPNI provides nomenclatural information (spelling, author, types and first place and date of publication) for the scientific names of Vascular Plants from Family down to infraspecific ranks.
Khan Academy Biology Resources
An open-access introductory guide to prepare students to study biology.
Native American Science Curriculum
"Our goal is to avoid romantic cliches and characterizations of Indian people and their traditional knowledge and to present this knowledge as well documented but different in approach from "Western science." These traditions are based on connection to the natural world, rather than separation from nature--in other words we are working with a science based on relationships, reciprocity and respect rather than solely on exploitation and economic concerns."
National Science Foundation (NSF) Biological Sciences Guide
The Directorate for Biological Sciences (BIO) at the NSF aims to enable discoveries for understanding life. BIO-supported research advances the frontiers of biological knowledge, increases our understanding of complex systems, and provides a theoretical basis for original research in many other scientific disciplines.
Nature Research
Nature Research is here to serve the research community by publishing its most significant discoveries—findings that advance knowledge and address some of the greatest challenges that we face as a society today. Our journals publish not only primary research but also reviews, critical comment, news and analysis.
NNLM Life Sciences Subject Primers
Network of the National Library of Medicine offers multiple subject primers for multiple disciplines including Biochemistry, Biology, Biotechnology, Microbiology, Molecular Biology, and Stem Cell Research. Some of the other links present throughout this page were originally recognized in these simple yet comprehensive guides.
PLOS Resources
PLOS is a nonprofit, Open Access publisher empowering researchers to accelerate progress in science and medicine by leading a transformation in research communication. Research peer-reviewed journals, submit articles, and more.
USDA PLANTS Database
The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.
BioMed Central BMC has an evolving portfolio of some 300 peer-reviewed journals, sharing discoveries from research communities in science, technology, engineering and medicine. In 1999 we made high quality research open to everyone who needed to access it – and in making the open access model sustainable, we changed the world of academic publishing.
Directory of Open Access Journals DOAJ is a unique and extensive index of diverse open access journals from around the world, driven by a growing community, committed to ensuring quality content is freely available online for everyone.
Library Publishing Media Library Publishing Media is an Oxford (UK) based open-access publisher, established in 2005. All our electronic publications are freely available, without the need for subscription.
Public Library of Science (PLOS) PLOS is a nonprofit, Open Access publisher empowering researchers to accelerate progress in science and medicine by leading a transformation in research communication.
PubMed Central (PMC) PMC is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). In keeping with NLM's legislative mandate to collect and preserve the biomedical literature, PMC is part of the NLM collection, which also includes NLM's extensive print and licensed electronic journal holdings and supports contemporary biomedical and health care research and practice as well as future scholarship.
American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS)
The AAAS seeks to "advance science, engineering, and innovation throughout the world for the benefit of all people."
American Indian Science and Engineering Society (AISES)
A national, nonprofit organization focused on substantially increasing the representation of American Indians, Alaska Natives, Native Hawaiians, Pacific Islanders, First Nations and other indigenous peoples of North America in science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) studies and careers.
Association for Women in Science (AWIS)
AWIS is a global network that inspires bold leadership, research, and solutions that advance women in STEM, spark innovation, promote organizational success, and drive systemic change.
Black Professionals in STEM (BPS)
BPS brings together people in fields such as Science, Tech, Engineering, and Mathematics by fostering community, promoting civic engagement, and supporting professional development. We are passionate about helping people of color create thriving networks as well as connecting them to new opportunities.
California Association for Professional Scientists (CAPS)
CAPS is an organization of scientific civil servants who protect public health, the environment, and California’s natural resources.
Latinas in STEM
Our mission is to inspire and empower Latinas to pursue, thrive and advance in Science, Technology, Engineering & Mathematics (STEM) fields.
Society for Advancement of Chicanos/Hispanics and Native Americans in Science (SACNAS)
An inclusive organization dedicated to fostering the success of Chicanos/Hispanics and Native Americans, from college students to professionals, in attaining advanced degrees, careers, and positions of leadership in STEM.
Society of Asian Scientists and Engineers (SASE)
SASE is dedicated to the advancement of Asian heritage scientists and engineers in education and employment so that they can achieve their full career potential. In addition to professional development, SASE also encourages members to contribute to the enhancement of the communities in which they live.
