Senior Project Design Principles and Applications

Search for U.S. patents and patent applications. Download text and images.

Google has an agreement with the USPTO to provide patent products to the public at no charge. Most students will find Google Patents easier to use than the USPTO database. I've seen reports that there are "holes" in the Google Patents database and that it might not always have the latest patents.

The EPO provides a uniform application procedure for individual inventors and companies seeking patent protection in up to 40 European countries.

Summarizes free resources from the European Patent Office.

Information service of the European Patent Office; search for European (EP) patents.

Claims to have a fast, easy, powerful search engine. Register for a free account.

A cooperative effort between the USPTO and the People's Republic of China to provide access to Chinese patent documentation.

Patent Lens is a worldwide, open-access, free full-text patent informatics resource. The website includes a special search engine for DNA and protein sequences disclosed in patents.

Search international and national patent collections. WIPO (World Intellectual Property Organization)

The SciFinder database (Chemical Abstracts) has records for thousands of patents - many new chemicals are first described in patents. You can search using chemical structures, registry numbers, and other specialized search fields. Cal Poly Pomona students, faculty, and staff only.

Weekly publication summarizing patents issued that week.