Knovel is an online collection of over 600 engineering handbooks and reference sources. Search or browse individual books or search across the entire collection. Many of the handbooks in Knovel feature interactive tables and graphs and you can export data to Excel and other programs.
The handbooks and reference books listed here are useful for materials engineering. Some are available online as well.
This is a highly selective list. Use the Library Catalog to find more. Most materials references are in the TAs. Plastics and polymers are in TP.
ASM Handbooks
A comprehensive set of materials information; plus volumes on welding, heat treating, casting, machining, and more. This link connects to the online edition. We also have a print edition in Reference (2d floor) and copies of some volumes in the circulating collection.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry & Physics
Often called the "CRC Handbook", this standard reference tool provides extensive tables of data on chemical compounds, physical properties, constants, laboratory data, mathematical tables, conversion factors, etc.
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
Kirk-Othmer has extensive data on materials - properties, production, applications, etc. This link connects to the online edition. We also have the print edition in Reference (2nd floor).
Materials Selector (CRC-Elsevier)
This is the 1997 edition but the data and comparison charts are still useful.
Encyclopedia of Polymer Science and Engineering
The Concise Edition of a multi-volume encyclopedia, but still quite comprehensive.
The Wiley Encyclopedia of Packaging Technology by
The complete guide to modern packaging techniques and materials-updated and expanded This A-to-Z guide covers technologies used to package consumer and industrial products across all industries-from food to automobiles, soft drinks to pharmaceuticals. It features complete coverage of all the basic packaging materials and formats (boxes, shrink wrap, etc.) and supplies a wealth of information on conversion processes such as laminating and plastics manufacture. It also offers details on all packaging machinery and equipment currently in use worldwide. The Wiley Encyclopedia of Packaging Technology, Second Edition is thoroughly updated and expanded by 25 percent. Coverage includes the many changes in materials, processes, technologies, and regulations that have occurred over the past decade, as well as the latest developments in marketing, economics, recycling and the environment, computer-aided design, coatings, nutritional labels, microwave packaging, polyester bottles and jars, and more. The Wiley Encyclopedia of Packaging Technology, Second Edition brings you: * More than 250 alphabetical listings, covering all stages of the packaging process-from raw materials to distribution * Contributions from experts in everything from additives to microwave packaging trademarks to zero-crush packaging * Complete coverage of relevant federal and state laws and regulations * Large, double-column format for easy reference * Extensive cross-referencing and easy-to-access information on all subjects
