Guides: Chemistry & Biochemistry: Databases

If you have a specific project or research topic in a subject, try searching for sources (books, articles, reports, etc.) on a database.

**If you cannot find the full-text of an article, reach out to the library because we most likely can find it and let you borrow it for free!

ACS Web
Complete contents of some 30 journals published by the American Chemical Society.
PubMed
Provides access to the Medline database and other biomedical sources. Medline is a worldwide Index to medical literature (including sports medicine) and supporting disciplines (including human nutrition and animal science). Look for the "Find IT!" button after clicking on the title of the desired article. Access the public version of PubMed here.
SciFinder-n Web Edition
Scifinder-n offers all the same resources as SciFinder with additional access to new workflow solutions such as PatentPak™, MethodsNow™ and Retrosynthesis Planner as well as the core CAS-created databases available in classic SciFinder. Check out these training modules to learn more.
Web of Science Core Collection
Provides seamless access to Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Over 10,000 journals are indexed in this multidisciplinary database. Web of Science also provides a unique search method, cited reference searching. 1991 to present. Read more about this resource or watch an introductory how-to video.

Annual Reviews
Annual Reviews provides users definitive academic resources in more than 45 scientific disciplines. Annual Reviews synthesizes the vast amount of primary research literature in specific subject areas, identifies principal contributions, and offers critical reviews on these research contributions. Articles are written by recognized experts. Cal Poly Pomona users have access to the Annual Review of Anthropology; Annual Review of Biochemistry; Annual Review of Ecology, Evolution, and Systematics; Annual Review of Nutrition; Annual Review of Phytopathology; and Annual Review of Plant Biology.
AGRICOLA
Agriculture, animal science, foods & nutrition, and landscape architecture. Look for the "Find IT!" button after clicking on the title of the desired article.

PubChem
Search chemicals by name, molecular formula, structure, and other identifiers. Find chemical and physical properties, biological activities, safety and toxicity information, patents, literature citations and more.