It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Searches back runs of scholarly journals; art & architecture, language & literature, history, economics, social sciences, mathematics, ecology and music. JSTOR now includes some current issues for selected titles. Ebooks from scholarly publishers are also available.
As a convenient source of critical opinion on early literature, this series excerpts criticism on the works of philosophers, poets and playwrights, political leaders, scientists and writers from other genres.
Literature Criticism Online is made up of 10 databases comprised of a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres. It includes modern, classical and medieval literature; poetry, Shakespeare, short story, drama and children's literature.
This comprehensive resource covers 27 key areas of the field of applied linguistics, including: Language Learning and Teaching, Bilingual and Multilingual Education, Assessment and Testing, Corpus Linguistics, Conversation Analysis, Discourse, Cognitive Second Language Acquisition, Language Policy and Planning, Literacy, and Technology and Language.
Over 1,600 plays ranging from 1 CE through current day. Especially useful for locating a monologue or scene for auditioning. Also includes: detailed encyclopaedic information; overviews of major concepts, topics and issues; surveys of theatre institutions, countries, genres and movements; biographical entries on key performers, playwrights, directors, designers, choreographers and composers; synopses of significant plays; critical works on major playwrights; original works from theatre practitioners; and core craft skills: acting, design, directing, lighting etc.
Includes every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom during the 18th century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. Materials are diverse, including not only books and broadsides but also Bibles, tract books, sermons, and printed printed ephemera by many well-known and lesser-known authors. Captures the essence of the Enlightenment in Great Britain, and is essential in order to understand the context of the French, Industrial, and American Revolutions. Contains more than 32 million pages of text and over 205,000 individual volumes, all fully searchable.
Shakespeare Collection is the subject's most comprehensive and authoritative online resource, bringing together general reference data, full-text scholarly periodicals, reprinted criticism, primary source material and the full-text annotated works from The Arden Shakespeare, the world's most recognized scholarly edition.