Guides: IBM 4291 International Logistics: Home

Business, Hospitality, and Computer Science Librarian

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Hello CPP Students! 😊You can login to CPP Connect to see my availability and choose a Zoom or on-campus appointment. If you would prefer to meet via phone, please let me know when you make the appointment.

Everyone else, please feel free to contact me by email for an appointment.
Phone 909-869-4330

Subjects: Accounting, Business Administration, Computer Information Systems, Computer Science, Finance, Hospitality Management, International Business, Law, Management & Human Resources, Marketing, Reference, Technology & Operations Management

Need an article we don't have?

Interlibrary Loan Services (formerly Document Delivery)
Free to all CPP students, faculty, and staff. Registration required. Request articles not available in our databases and get them within a few days!

Feedback Survey

If you attended a face-to-face library workshop with Julie Shen, please take 3 minutes to fill out this feedback survey. Thanks!

Introduction

Welcome to this library guide! Many of the resources featured here require that you login with your Bronco name and password. If you have any questions, please contact Julie Shen at jshen@cpp.edu.

Recommended Resources for Industry Research

ABI/INFORM Complete
Business news and analysis. Peer-reviewed research. Industry reports by country. Part of Proquest Databases. Read more about this resource or visit the help page.
Business Source Premier
Business news and analysis. Peer-reviewed research. Case studies and SWOT analyses. Country reports. Includes Harvard Business Review. Read more about this resource or watch a how-to video.

First Research Industry Profiles
Covers over 1000 industry segments. Contain analysis, statistics, and forecasts.

IBISWorld
U.S., China, Canada, and global industry market research reports. Funded by the College of Business Administration. Read more about this resource.
Mergent Online - Industry Reports
The online version of the Moody/Mergent manuals. Financial information on more than 10,000 companies on the NYSE, AMEX and NASDAQ exchanges. Information includes company histories, products, current news, and income statement and balance sheets (including EDGAR{170} (SEC) filings).
Global Newsstream (US & International Newspapers)
Full text access to hundreds of U.S. and international newspapers, including The New York Times, Los Angeles Times, The Times of London, and Wall Street Journal.

Recommended Resources for Country Research

CIA World Factbook
Free website provided by the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency with information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and other issues for over 250 countries.
Coface Group: Country Risk
Risks associated with doing business in a country.
Country Commercial Guides (Trade.gov)
Market conditions, opportunities, regulations, and business customs prepared by trade and industry experts at U.S. embassies worldwide.

CountryWatch
Provides country profiles, news, statistics, and trends (political, economic, etc.).

U.S. Department of State: A-Z Countries
Choose a country and click on its bilateral relations fact sheet for more info.
World Bank: Doing Business
Measures business regulations and their enforcement across 189 economies and selected cities at the subnational and regional level.

Cite Your Sources!

La Geode, by Samyra Serin
Photo by S. Serin (2008)

When creating your project, remember to cite everything you did not write / create / think up on your own, including images / graphs / charts / maps / datasets you borrow from online sources. Below are some tools to help you cite your sources correctly.

Google Scholar
Works best for books and scholarly articles. Search for a title, then click on the "Cite" button. Includes the following styles: APA, Chicago, Harvard, MLA, and Vancouver.
Citation Machine
Create citations in APA, MLA, Chicago, Harvard, ACM, IEEE, CSE, etc. Check your paper for plagiarism errors.
Zotero
Create citations in APA, MLA, Chicago, Harvard, ACM, IEEE, CSE, etc. Free registration to save bibliographies. Optional download for desktop version.

To see examples, visit the following websites:

APA Style Guide at Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)
Includes guidelines on formatting and citations as well as sample papers.
APA Style Guidelines at APA.ORG
Includes guidelines on paper format (headings, fonts, etc.), tables and figures, style, grammar, as well as in-text citations and references, along with sample papers.
Chicago Style Guide at Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)
Chicago Style on ChicagoManualOfStyle.org
MLA Style Guide at Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)
ACM Citation Style at ACM.ORG
IEEE Reference Guide at IEEE.ORG
IEEE Style Manual at IEEE.ORG

To learn more about the importance of academic integrity, please see

Videos on different types of plagiarism
Provided by the Office of Student Conduct & Integrity at Cal Poly Pomona.