Guides: MHR 4610 Senior Project: Citing Sources

Cite Your Sources using APA Style

When creating your project, remember to cite everything you did not write / create / think up on your own, including images / graphs / charts / maps / datasets you borrow from online sources. Below are some tools and websites to help you cite your sources correctly.

APA Style Guidelines at APA.ORG
Includes guidelines on paper format (headings, fonts, etc.), tables and figures, style, grammar, as well as in-text citations and references, along with sample papers.
APA Style Guide at Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)
Includes guidelines on formatting and citations as well as sample papers.
Citation Machine
Create citations in APA, MLA, Chicago, Harvard, ACM, IEEE, CSE, etc. Check your paper for plagiarism errors.
Google Scholar
Works best for books and scholarly articles. Search for a title, then click on the "Cite" button. Includes the following styles: APA, Chicago, Harvard, MLA, and Vancouver.
Zotero
Create citations in APA, MLA, Chicago, Harvard, ACM, IEEE, CSE, etc. Free registration to save bibliographies. Optional download for desktop version.

To learn more about the importance of academic integrity, please see

Videos on different types of plagiarism
Provided by the Office of Student Conduct & Integrity at Cal Poly Pomona.

Citing IBISWorld Reports

Reference List:

Alvarez, A. (2017, October). Fast food restaurants in the US (IBISWorld Industry Report 72221a). Retrieved from IBISWorld database.

In-text citation:

According to Alvarez (2017), the quick-service industry must seek “healthy and convenient meal options” to stay competitive (p. 5).

The quick-service industry must seek “healthy and convenient meal options” to stay competitive (Alvarez, p. 5).

For more information on APA citation, see: OWL Purdue APA

Citing SimplyAnalytics Data

Below are examples of citing Simply Analytics data in APA style:

SimplyAnalytics (2017). EASI/MRI Consumer Expenditure Data 2016. Retrieved February 17th, 2017, from SimplyAnalytics database.
SimplyAnalytics (2017). Census 2016 Current Estimates Data. Retrieved February 17th, 2017, from SimplyAnalytics database.
SimplyAnalytics (2017). Map with 2016 Consumer Expenditure Data. Retrieved February 17th, 2017, from SimplyMap database.

To find these examples within the database, go to: Support > Help Center > click on How do I cite Simply Analytics data?

MHR 4610 Senior Project

Librarian

Cite Your Sources using APA Style

Citing IBISWorld Reports

Citing SimplyAnalytics Data

If you are unsure which dataset you are using, below is a screenshot how to find it:

Introduction to Zotero