Guides: MHR 4610 Senior Project: MHR 4610S (Professor Simarasl)

Introduction

This page features recommended resources for Professor Simarasl's MHR 4610 service learning project. Please contact your librarian if you need help.

Recommended Library Resources

Global Newsstream (US & International Newspapers)
Search for Pomona California to see relevant news articles. Change the date range to see articles from a specific time period.
SimplyAnalytics

Create custom maps using downloadable U.S. datasets. Topics covered: people (demographics, consumer expenditures, market segments, sales potential), businesses (establishments, employees, retail sales), consumer price index, crime, and weather. Geographies available: states, congressional district, counties, cities, zip code, census tract, block groups, and street address. Not all data available in all geographies.

Consulting essentials: The art and science of people, facts, and frameworks by Jeff Kavanaugh
Call Number: Audiobook. Listen online.

ISBN: 9781544510255

Publication Date: 2018
The management consultant: Mastering the art of consultancy by Richard Newton
Call Number: E-Book. Read online.

ISBN: 9781292282237

Publication Date: 2019

See more books about business consultants.

Recommended Websites

Pomona Chamber of Commerce
Black Chamber of Commerce of Pomona Valley
California Chamber of Commerce Directory
Census.gov: Quick Facts about Pomona
City of Pomona Business Page
Available in English and Spanish.
Downtown Pomona
Fairplex
Small Business Development Center (SBDC) at University of La Verne
Works with the Pomona Chamber of Commerce as well as other local chambers.

Special Collections at the University Library

These items are available for use only in the Special Collections and Archives Reading Room, located in the W.K. Kellogg Arabian Horse Library, room 1734, on the ground level of the University Library (Building 15), adjacent to Starbucks.

Visit during their normal hours, Monday-Thursday, 10:00am- 12 noon and 2:00-4:00pm, or make an appointment if you want to visit outside these hours.
Email speccollections@cpp.edu regarding the items you would like to use.
Follow the guidelines for using the materials, including asking for permission before taking photos with your cell phone.

Allen, David. Pomona A to Z. 10th Anniversary ed. Claremont, Calif.: Pelekenesis, 2014.
Faull, Harry A. "From Pathways to Freeways: A Study of the Origin of Street Names in the City of Pomona." The Historical Society of Southern California Quarterly 34, no. 2 (1952): 133-46.
Fryer, Roy M. "Pomona Valley before the Americans Came." The Quarterly: Historical Society of Southern California 21, no. 4 (1939): 91-101.
Fryer, Roy M. "When the Americans Came to Pomona Valley." The Quarterly: Historical Society of Southern California 23, no. 3/4 (1941): 157-77.
Gallivan, Mickey and the Historical Society of Pomona Valley. Early Pomona. Images of America. Charleston, SC: Arcadia Pub., 2007.
History of Pomona Valley, California,: With Biographical Sketches of the Leading Men and Women of the Valley... Los Angeles, Calif.: Historic Record Company, 1920.
Lothrop, Gloria Ricci and the Pomona Chamber of Commerce. Pomona: A Centennial History. 1st ed. Northridge, Calif.: Windsor Publications, 1988.
Pomona Centennial-Bicentennial Committee. Pomona Centennial History. Pomona, Calif.]: Pomona Centennial-Bicentennial Committee, 1976.
Pomona Fox Theater Reopening Collection
The Pomona Fox Theater first opened its doors in 1931 and operated for 70 years before closing in 2001. In April 2009, the theater reopened following a 10-million dollar renovation. The collection contains flyers, a program, newspaper, DVD, magazine and reprinted newspaper and booklet related to the reopening events for the new Pomona Fox Theater.