Guides: RS4990: Sustainable Food Systems: Home

Research & Instruction Librarian

he/him

Email Me

Contact:

Cal Poly Pomona
University Library 15-2334F
3801 W. Temple Ave, Pomona, CA 91768

(909) 979-6349

Subjects: Architecture, Art, Environmental Design, Landscape Architecture, Regenerative Studies, Urban & Regional Planning

Basic Research

The interdisciplinary resources below are great places to start your research. Variations of your keywords and the use of the Connectors will help you yield more targeted searches in all the resources in this guide. See the Search Strategies tab for tips on how to accomplish this.

One Search
Search for articles, books, media, and Link + all at the same time. Use boolean keywords for the best results.

Academic Search Premier
Multi-subject database; articles from journals & other publications.

Google Scholar
Provides a simple way to broadly search across many disciplines for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles.

ProQuest Databases
Multi-subject database; articles from journals & other publications
JSTOR
Searches back runs of scholarly journals; art & architecture, language & literature, history, economics, social sciences, mathematics, ecology and music. JSTOR now includes some current issues for selected titles. Ebooks from scholarly publishers are also available.

Resources from other Disciplines

AgEcon Search
AgEcon Search collects, indexes, and electronically distributes full text copies of scholarly research in the broadly defined field of agricultural economics including sub disciplines such as agribusiness, food supply, natural resource economics, environmental economics, policy issues, agricultural trade, and economic development. Open access; no login required.

AGRICOLA
Subject coverage includes landscape architecture in addition to agriculture, plant science, and related topics.

Agris
1975 - present: International database covering agricultural sciences and technology containing citations for conventional and non-conventional ("grey") literature.

Education Research Complete
Education Research Complete is the definitive online resource for education research. This massive file offers the world's largest and most complete collection of full text education journals. It is a bibliographic and full text database covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. The database also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues.

Education Resources Information Center (ERIC)
After searching for a topic of interest, use the filters in the left column to fine tune your results.

PubAg
(National Agricultural Library, USDA) PubAg is a portal to USDA-authored and other highly relevant agricultural research. At launch, it delivered over 40,000 full-text journal articles by USDA staff and includes nearly 450,000 citations. Open access; no login required.
Web of Science Core Collection
Provides seamless access to Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. This interdisciplinary database is especially useful for fields such as URP.

Websites

Center for Invasive Species and Ecosystem Health
- gateway to websites, publications, and images on the broad study of invasive species.
National Sustainable Agriculture Coalition
NSAC is "an alliance of grassroots organizations that advocates for federal policy reform to advance the sustainability of agriculture, food systems, natural resources, and rural communities."
Sustainable America
"aims to reduce U.S. oil consuption while increasing U.S. food production....supporting innovation...[to] effect sustainable change."
U.S. Department of Agriculture
"...provide leadership on food, agriculture, natural resources, rural development, nutrition, and related issues based on sound public policy, the best available science, and efficient management. "
Urban Farming: More than a gardening organization
Mission: "...to create an abundance of food for people in need by supporting and encouraging the establishment of gardens on unused land and space...to uplift communities around the globe."