Science

Using Library Databases:

To find articles on a particular subject, search one or more of the databases on our Databases Page. You can get to it via the Library Home Page on the right side of the page.

Once at the databases page, click on an appropriate subject category. Keep in mind that other subjects might also be useful to your research topic.

Otherwise, if you know the name of the database you want, click on the first letter of its name in the alphabetical listing towards the top or enter the title in the Search for Databases bar.

Searching databases: Most databases available to you will have one or more search boxes where you can type your search term(s). The Advanced Search window will usually have multiple boxes with AND OR as well as NOT operators.

There may be other options for searching such as filters for peer reviewed, review articles, empirical articles, range of dates, etc.

There may also be specialized filters for particular types of subject matter.

Finding your article: After you do a search in the database, look at the results screen very carefully. Full Text icons and notations are very important. If there is any full text icon or notation – like "Get full text" under result 12 – near an item you want, click on the icon to get a copy of the article. You will be taken to a new window and have the option to download your article as a PDF.

Using "Find It! If there is no full text icon or notation – like under result 11 – select the "Find It!" button.

Find It! will connect you to OneSearch, and OneSearch will prompt you to sign in with your BroncoName and Password to see all available results.