The following list is a small offering of relevant datasets, maps, and journals for Geological Science students at CPP.
National Geological Map Database
A distributed archive of standardized geoscience information – maps, geologic names, and more – for the United States.
NNLM Geosciences Subject Primer
The Network of the National Library of Medicine offers subject primers for multiple disciplines including the Geosciences, which spans subfields including atmospheric chemistry, climatology, environmental sciences, geography, geology, geophysics, meteorology, oceanography, paleontology, mineralogy, and seismology. Some of the other links present throughout this page were originally recognized in these simple yet comprehensive guides.
NOAA Climate Dataset Gallery
Easy access to climate data, products, and services from the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration.
NOAA Sea Level Rise Map Viewer
This map viewer illustrates the scale of potential coastal flooding after varying amounts of sea level rise. Users can simulate inundation associated with one to six feet of sea level rise at various scales along the contiguous United States coast, except for the Great Lakes. From the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration.
USDA Web Soil Survey
"Web Soil Survey (WSS) provides soil data and information produced by the National Cooperative Soil Survey. It is operated by the USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS) and provides access to the largest natural resource information system in the world. NRCS has soil maps and data available online for more than 95 percent of the nation’s counties and anticipates having 100 percent in the near future. The site is updated and maintained online as the single authoritative source of soil survey information."
USGS GMNA Resources
A collection of geospatial files, map images, publication documentation, and informational resources in support of the Geologic Map of North America.
USGS Groundwater Atlas of the United States
The Ground Water Atlas of the United States describes the location, hydrologic characteristics, and geologic characteristics of the principal aquifers throughout the 50 States, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands. The groundwater information summarized in the Atlas was collected over many years by the USGS and other partner agencies and published in 2000. The Atlas provides key descriptive information in a regional and national context. geological and climatic history. More can be located here on the project's official website.
USGS Streamer
Interactive map that allows users to look at the large stream systems of the United States.
U.S. Water Monitor
A portal to federal water information and companion to the U.S. Drought Monitor and the Drought Impact Reporter.
Gale Encyclopedia of Science
Accessible when logged into your library account. This collection of entries covers major areas of science including: biology, genetics, microbiology, astronomy, chemistry, physics, engineering, technology, geology, weather, archaeology, psychology, mathematics, and medicine, and provides readers with a wide range of up-to-date, relevant, and accurate information.
GeoData: A Geographical Encyclopedia
Accessible when logged into your library account. A comprehensive resource that provides entries on the physical geography of every country in the world plus other selected locations. Each entry features a relief map depicting the geography of the location plus detailed text that describes its features, climate and vegetation. Entries are formatted with standardized rubrics to facilitate comparison.
GeoRef
Accessible when logged into your library account. The GeoRef database, established in 1966 by the American GeoSciences Institute (AGI), provides access to the geoscience literature of the world. GeoRef is the most comprehensive AGI database in the geosciences and continues to grow by more than 80,000 references a year. The database contains over 3 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses.
GeoRef Open-Access Journals and Series
GeoRef covers the following journals and series that are openly available on the web. Only journals and series that appear to provide stable open-access to current issues, have multiple issues available for use, and appear to plan to continue to be available in an open manner are included. Journals that require subscriptions to current issues are not included. This list is updated frequently as availability of openly accessible publications grows.
Lyell Collection from Geological Society of London Publications
The Lyell Collection represents one of the largest integrated collections of online Earth Science literature available. Bringing together key journals, Special Publications and Society book series on a single site, the Lyell Collection is a unique resource for researcher and student alike. Open Access specific resources from the Lyell Collection can be found here.
