Guides: Geological Sciences: Home

Geological Sciences Research Guide

This resource guide supports students and researchers in the Geological Sciences department – including Geology, Geophysics/Earth Exploration, and Environmental Resources.

Starting your Research

The library has a general search engine called OneSearch. It might be a good idea to start your research project or assignment using OneSearch to get an idea of what is written on a topic. If you need more focused and specific literature on a subject, try using one of the databases available on the library's website.

OneSearch
OneSearch provides simple, one-stop searching for books and e-books, videos, articles, digital media, and more.
Databases List
An A-Z list of databases available at CPP Library

Geology Resources

The Library organizes its books using the Library of Congress Classification system, which categorizes books by subject.

Browse the following links below to view books from different subjects within the field of Geology, which is located in the QE section on the 4th floor of the library (links redirect to library catalog/OneSearch)

Geology
Print Books / 4th floor: QE1-996.5
Mineralogy
Print Books / 4th floor: QE351-399.2
Petrology
Print Books / 4th floor: QE420-499
Dynamic and Structural Geology
Print Books / 4th floor: QE500-639.5
Volcanoes and Earthquakes
Print Books / 4th floor: QE521-545
Structural Geology
Print Books / 4th floor: QE601-613.5
Stratigraphy
Print Books / 4th floor: QE640-699
Paleontology
Print Books / 4th floor: QE701-760
Paleozoology
Print Books / 4th floor: QE760.8-899.2
Paleobotany
Print Books / 4th floor: QE901-996.5

Geology Journals
All of the Geology journals available at CPP library
Dynamic & Structural Geology
Geology - General Journals
Mineralogy Journals
Paleobotany Journals
Paleobotany Journals
Paleontology Journals
Paleozoology Journals
Petrology Journals
Stratigraphy Journals

GeoRef
GeoRef, as part of Elsevier's Compendex/Engineering Village, is a comprehensive database in the global geological sciences and provides access to books, journals, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses. Coverage includes the geology of North America from 1666 onward, the geology of other parts of the world from 1933 onward, and references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. The Show Map feature enables users to put results into geographical context by visually representing the location of the document topics retrieved via search.
Earth and Planetary Sciences Focus Collection
Search and browse by book title for access to over 1,000 full-text major reference works, textbooks, ebooks, and handbooks through Elsevier's Focus Collection in ScienceDirect related to earth and planetary sciences. Use the Advanced Search in ScienceDirect to find specific book chapters.
Environmental Science Focus Collection
Search and browse by book title for access to full-text major reference works, textbooks, ebooks, and handbooks through Elsevier's Focus Collection in ScienceDirect related to environmental science. Use the Advanced Search in ScienceDirect to find specific book chapters.
Scopus
Scopus is Elsevier's abstracting and indexing database that indexes content from thousands of scholarly books, journals, and conference proceedings over a wide range of disciplines. Scopus also provides access to detailed author profiles and analytical tools to compare journals, citation impact, and citation trends.
ScienceDirect
Peer-reviewed scholarly journals, articles, book chapters, and open access content, primarily STM; also covers physical sciences, engineering, life sciences, health sciences, social sciences, and the humanities. Read more about this resource or watch a how-to video. Access to the Earth and Planetary Sciences Focus Collection and Environmental Science Focus Collection also available.
Web of Science Core Collection
Provides seamless access to Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Over 10,000 journals are indexed in this multidisciplinary database. Web of Science also provides a unique search method, cited reference searching. 1991 to present. Read more about this resource or watch an introductory how-to video.