Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Agriculture

Guide to Agriculture Research in the Cal Poly Library: covers Animal Science, Agribusiness & Food Industry Management, Agricultural Education, Food Science, Human Nutrition and Plant Science.

How to Find Articles in Library Databases

To find articles on a particular subject, search one or more of the databases on our Databases Page. You can get to it via the Library Home Page. Databases Link on the Library Homepage

Once at the databases page: If you need guidance in choosing a database, click on an appropriate subject category. Keep in mind that some of the other subjects might also be useful to your topic.

Otherwise, if you know the name of the database you want, click on the first letter of its name in the alphabetical listing towards the top.

Library databases A-Z

A database product will have one or more search boxes where you can type your search term(s),  An advanced search screen will usually have multiple boxes with the and / or operators.

There may be other options for searching such as filters for peer reviewed, review articles, empirical articles, range of dates, etc.

There may also be specialized filters for particular types of subject matter.

Screen shot of Ebsco Biological Abstracts search form

After you do a search in the database, look at the results screen very carefully. Full Text icons and notations are very important. If there is any full text icon or notation (as in number 23) near an item you want, click on that to get a copy of the article that you can read right on the screen.

Using "Find It!
If there is no full text icon or notation (as is the case for number 24) click on the "Find It!" button.

The "Find It!" button can look like these icons

Screenshot of search results from Biological Abstacts database
 

Find It! will connect you to OneSearch, and OneSearch will present View It! or Get It! options for the full text article.

Be sure to sign in with your BroncoName and Password to see more complete results.

View It option in OneSearch
If there are no full text options, there will be a link to Document Delivery. Use it to get a copy of the item. Get It option, for Document Delivery, in OneSearch

 

 

Links: 

How can you tell if a source will be good for your assignment?

This CPP Library video illustrates how to evaluate Information with the CRAAP Test.

What Is a Scholarly Journal, versus a Newspaper or a Magazine?

What is a scholarly journal and how is it different from a magazine or newspaper? All three are called periodicals because they are published at periodic intervals throughout the year.

  • Newspapers are the first draft of history, but are not scholarly. However, some newspaper articles can point you to scholarly research.
  • Magazines are good sources of information, opinions, or up-to-date information about popular culture, current events, or a subject.They are not scholarly but can mention scholarly research.
  • Scholarly journals have collections of refereed/peer-reviewed articles written by experts in academic or professional fields.
    Scholarly journals are excellent for finding out what has been studied or researched on a topic, and to find bibliographies that point to other relevant sources of information. Please note: the word "journal" is not necessarily in the title of a scholarly publication.

Helpful Links