Guides: Music Industry Resources: Music Industry Library Databases

What's a NAICS code?

A NAICS code is the classification standard for the company type, which is determined by Federal statistical agencies so that data can be collected regarding these different types of companies. You can lookup and search for NAICS codes here.

HINT: Many music industry related NAICS codes begin with 512.

Music Industry Databases - Search Strategies

Below are a number of business databases that you can use to search for information on the music industry. To access these databases directly, you'll need to click on the links below. If you are off-campus, you will have to sign in using your Library Account.

ABI/INFORM Complete
This database provides articles, reports, newspaper articles, among other types of materials. It is possible to limit to NAICS codes to limit the industry. Some recommended NAICS codes for music research include:
5122* for Sound Recording Industries
451* for Sporting Goods, Hobby, Book, and Music Stores
711* Performing Arts, Spectator Sports, and Related Industries
IBISWorld
IBIS World provides market research on specific industries. If you limit or search by music, a number of industry reports in the U.S. and international markets will be displayed as well as industry 1-page summaries. In-depth industry reports will provide information about the specific industry, the industry at a glance, the industry performance, industry outlook, products & markets, competitive landscape, major companies, operating conditions, and key statistics. Industry iExpert summaries will provide one page summaries of the industry including many summarized versions of the values from the full industry reports.

Communication & Mass Media Complete
This database provides articles from trade publications, academic journals, and magazines as well as reviews and books. You can search for keyword terms such as "music industry" or more narrow music industry terms. Additionally you can also look up companies by name, for instance searchign by "Universal Music Group" will pull up articles relating to that company. It is also possible to search via NAICS codes.

Mergent Online
This database compiles detailed financial data for public companies with some coverage of private companies through the D&B Private Company Database. It's possible to search this database using company names, or to look up the company via classification code such as NAICS.