Guides: Southern California Wine and Wine Industry Collection: Books and Resources

Books and Resources on the Southern California Wine Industry

The Southern California Wine and Wine Industry Collection includes a variety of publications that document the history of wine in the region. Click on the publication's title below to view the library catalog record.

Biane, Philo., & Teiser, Ruth. (1972). Wine making in Southern California and recollections of Fruit Industries, Ltd.: an interview conducted by Ruth Tieser. Berkeley, CA: Regents of the University.
Bichowsky, E.C., & Shorb, James. (1892). The vine in southern California: being reports by commissioners Bichowsky and Shorb on the present state of the vineyards. Sacramento: State Office, A.J. Johnston, Supt. State Printing.
Blum, Corrine. (1991). The Cucamonga grape past and present.
Bountiful vineyards: a collection of recipes from Rancho Cucamonga's historic wine country. (2003). Upland, CA: Dragonflyer Press.
Byles, Stuart. (2014). Los Angeles wine: a history from the mission era to the present. Charleston, SC : American Palate.
Carosso, Vincent P. (1951). The California wine industry, 1830-1895: A study of the formative years. Berkeley: University of California Press.
Carosso, Vincent P. (1949). Anaheim, California, a Nineteenth Century Experiment in Commercial Viniculture. Boston: Business Historical Society.
Cinotto, Simone. (2008). Terra soffice, uva nera: vitivinicoltori piemontesi in California prima e dopo il proibizionismo.Torino, Italy: Otto
This book includes 29 photographs from Cal Poly Pomona's Southern California Wine and Wine Industry Collection. The title is loosely translated as Land of the black grape: Piedmont viticulturists in California before and after Prohibition.
Danson-Lucy, Gia. (2003). Temecula wine country: the undiscovered jewel of southern California. Dana Point, Calif. : Vista Pacifica Pub. Co.
DeAmbrogio, Mary., & DeAmbrogio Kinney, Bonnie Jean. (2005). Old vines: Recollections of Mary Tudor DeAmbrogio.Rancho Cucamonga: Publisher not identified.
Filippi, Gino., Karavidas, Nick., & Joseph Filippi Winery. (2000). Joseph Filippi Winery. Rancho Cucamonga: Jerry LaPointe Video Production.
VHS format.
Promotional video in two volumes for the Joseph Filipi Winery.
Fruit Industries, Ltd. (1940). Strength of Fruit Industries. San Francsco, CA: Fruit Industries.
Haraszthy, A. (1862). Grape Culture, Wines, and Wine-Making. New York: Haper.
One of the earliest books written on California wine. Colonel Agoston Haraszthy immigrated to the United States from Hungary and eventually settled in Northern California in 1852.
Haraszthy, A. (1978). Wine-making in California (Publication (Book Club of California) ; no. 159). San Francisco: Book Club of California.
This book details the wine making industry in California, and what it takes to produce a successful crop of wine grapes.
Hardy, Thomas., Pinney, Thomas., & Book Club of California. (1994). The vineyards and wine cellars of california: An essay on early california winemaking (Publication (Book Club of California) ; no. 204). San Francisco: Book Club of California
A compilation of notes detailing the process of wine making throughout the state of California and his experiences visiting the California vineyards.
Heintz, William. (1982). An examination of historical records and related documents with regard to the claim by the Thomas Winery, 8916 Foothill Boulevard, Cucamonga, California, to be "the first commercial winery in California". Sonoma, CA: W.F.
Heintz, William., & McMillan Farm Management Co. (1981) Temecula: A Grape and Wine History Temecula, CA: William F. Heintz and McMillan Farm Management.
Includes the histories of the Brookside Winery, Hart Winery, Hugo's Celar, Mesa Verde Winery, Mount Palomar Winery, and Piconi's Winery.
The History of Cucamonga Wines
Documentary film available online.
Hofer, James. (1983). Cucamonga wines and vines: a history of the Cucamonga Pioneer Vineyard Association.
Hofer, James D. (1984). Guasti and the Italian Vineyard Company.
Howser, Huell, & KCET. (1999). California's gold. #1008, Winery. Los Angeles, CA: Huell Howser Productions.
VHS Format.
Howser attends a "Guasti" reunion and visits one of the oldest wineries in California: Joseph Filippi Winery.
Howser, Huell., Pauley, Clarke., & KCET. (1995). Guasti ( Visiting with Huell Howswer; no. 739). Los Angeles, CA: KCET Television.
VHS format.
Huell visits Guasti in Ontario, and introduces its history of wine making and the Joseph Filippi Winery, the oldest winery in California.
Melville, John. (1972) Guide to California Wines. San Carlos, CA: Nourse Pub. Co.
Peninou, Ernest., & Wine Librarians Association. (2004). A history of the Los Angeles Viticultural District. Santa Rosa, CA : Nomis Press for Wine Librarians Association
This volume discusses the Los Angeles Viticultural District, including the following counties: Imperial, Los Angeles, Orange, Riverside, San Bernardino, San Diego, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, and Ventura. Includes grape acreage statistics and directories of grape growers.
Phillips, George. (2010). Vineyards & vaqueros: Indian labor and the economic expansion of Southern California, 1771-1877 (Before gold ; v. 1). Norman, Okla.: Arthur H. Clark.
Vineyards & Vaqueros discusses the role of Native Indians and the importance of their labor contributions on the Southern California economy and within the missions.
The Regina story. (1998). Rancho Cucamonga, CA: City of Rancho Cucamonga.
VHS Format
Tells the story of the Regina Grape Products Co. of southern California and follows the production of wine from the planting, through harvesting, fermenting, bottling, and selling, to the dinner table.
Rancho Cucamonga Redevelopment Agency. (1997). Historical assessment and artifacts inventory of the Ellena Brothers Winery/Regina Grape Products Co. (Regina Winery). Sherman Oaks, CA: Chattel Construction Corporation/Mellon & Associates.
Rixford, E. (1883). The Wine Press and the Cellar San Francisco, New York: Payot, Upham &; D. Van Nostrand.
This book provides a look at the process of making wine, producing grapes, fermentation, and the bottling of wine.
Scaletta, Giuseppe. (2005). La chiesa cattolica San Secondo d'Asti in Guasti, California. Asti, Italy: Fenoaltea printer
An Italian and English language book on the church San Secondo d'Asti in Guasti, California built by wine pioneer Secondo Guasti.
Scaletta, Giuseppe., Zobelein, Giulli., & Ferreghy, Charlotte. (2004). La famiglia Giuseppe Amillo di Los Angeles in Californina. Asti, Italy : Publisher not identified.
Scaletta, Giuseppe., Zobelein, Giulli., & Ferreghy, Charlotte. (2004). The Giuseppe Amillo family of Los Angeles. Place of publication not identified: Publisher not identified.
English translation of designated pages in the Italian language book La famiglia Giuseppe Amillo di Los Angeles in Californina.
Scaletta, Giuseppe. (2003). Cantina Sociale di Mombaruzzo: cento anni di cooperazione. Mombaruzzo, Italy : Cantina Sociale di Mombaruzzo
Includes biographical information on the Guasti family.
Scaletta, Giuseppe. (2002). La famiglia Guasti di Mombaruzzo (Asti): terra di Monferrato in Piemonte. Milano: Pragma editrice.
Includes biographical information on the Guasti family.
Scaletta, Giuseppe. (1994). Un pensiero da Mombaruzzo: cartoline d'epoca e testi. Mombaruzzo Italy : Cantina Sociale Mombaruzzo.
Italian language book on the Guasti family's hometown Mombaruzzo, Italy.
Schleifer, Harold., Adamson, Danette., Hofer, James., Galleano, Don, Biane, Michael, & California State Polytechnic University, Pomona Library (1998). Wines and vines of the Inland Valley
VHS Format
An exhibit held on Oct. 29, 1998 celebrating regional vineyards, wineries and wine, and inaugurating the Cal Poly Pomona University Library's Wine and Wine Industry Collection.
Stumpf, Marcia. (1999) Growing up in Guasti . Phoenix, AZ: Stumpf.
Stumpf, Marcia. (2002). Grapevines & peppertrees: family stories from Guasti. Phoenix, AZ: Marcia Stumpf.
Wilson, Iris., & Historical Society of Southern California. (1957). Early Southern California viniculture. Los Angeles, CA: Historical Society of Southern California.