Guides: DEI in the Hospitality & Tourism Industry: Home

Library Resources

Books

Heritage, Tourism, and Race by Antoinette T. Jackson
Call Number: E-Book. Read online.
ISBN: 1003029019
Publication Date: 2020
A view of heritage and leisure tourism in the Americas through the lens of race, especially African Americans as an underrepresented community in leisure. Learn how the construction and control of space affect marginalized communities.
The Routledge Handbook of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Management in the Hospitality Industry by Ashokkumar Manoharan; Juan M. Madera; Manisha Singal
Call Number: E-Book. Read online.
ISBN: 9781032259260
Publication Date: 2023
Provides a systematic guide to the current state of knowledge on workforce diversity and its management. Global in perspective, this book is a teaching resource for academics, an illustrative reference resource for PhD students and early career researchers who work on workforce diversity and a practical guide for managers and HR consultants.
Keywords for American Cultural Studies, Second Edition by Bruce Burgett (Editor); Glenn Hendler (Editor)
Call Number: E-Book. Read online.
ISBN: 0814725317
Publication Date: 2014
Vocabulary of key terms in American Studies
Overground Railroad by Candacy Taylor
Call Number: Books/6th floor ; E185.61 .T23 2020
ISBN: 9781419738173
Publication Date: 2020
Explores the historical role and residual impact of the Green Book, a travel guide published from 1936 to 1966 for black motorists when traveling through segregated America.
Black Faces, White Spaces by Carolyn Finney
Call Number: E-Book. Read online.
ISBN: 1469614499
Publication Date: 2014
Why are African Americans so underrepresented when it comes to interest in nature, outdoor recreation, and environmentalism? Drawing on a variety of sources from film, literature, and popular culture, and analyzing different historical moments, Finney reveals the perceived and real ways in which nature and the environment are racialized in America. Looking toward the future, she also highlights the work of African Americans who are opening doors to greater participation in environmental and conservation concerns.
Driving While Black by Gretchen Sorin
Call Number: New Books/3rd floor ; E185.61 .S667 2020
ISBN: 9781631495694
Publication Date: 2020
The basis of a PBS documentary by Gretchen Sorin and Ric Burns first aired on October 13, 2020.
The Critical Turn in Tourism Studies by Irena Ateljevic (Editor); Nigel Morgan (Editor); Annette Pritchard (Editor)
Call Number: E-Book. Read online.
ISBN: 1138081264
Publication Date: 2017
This second edition explores how critical tourism inquiry can make a difference in the world, linking tourism education driven by the values of empowerment, partnership and ethics to policy and practice.
Decolonizing Methodologies: Research and Indigenous Peoples by Linda Tuhiwai Smith
Call Number: E-Book. Read online.
ISBN: 1786998149
Publication Date: 2021
Stuck : Why Asian Americans Don't Reach the Top of the Corporate Ladder by Margaret M. Chin
Call Number: E-Book. Read online.
ISBN: 9781479816811
Publication Date: 2020
Award winning book that offers a behind-the-scenes examination of Asian Americans in the workplace.
All God's Children Need Traveling Shoes by Maya Angelou
Call Number: Books/4th floor ; PS3551.N464 Z463 1986
ISBN: 0394521439
Publication Date: 1986
The fifth book in the poet/author's seven-volume autobiography series.
Traveling Black by Mia Bay
Call Number: E-Book. Read online.
ISBN: 0674979966
Publication Date: 2021-03-23
Award-winning book that reveals how travel discrimination transformed over time from segregated trains to buses and Uber rides.
Tourists and Tourism by Sharon Bohn Gmelch (Editor)
Call Number: Books/6th floor ; G155.A1 G5 2004
ISBN: 9781577663065
Publication Date: 2003

DVDs & Streaming Video

Driving while Black : Race, Space and Mobility in America (part 1)
A film by Gretchen Sorin and Ric Burns ; produced by Emily Pfeil, Emir Lewis, Steven Bennett, Kathryn Clinard ; [a production of Steeplechase Films].
Driving while Black : Race, Space and Mobility in America (Part 2)
Written & directed by Ric Burns and Gretchen Sorin ; produced by Emily Pfeil, Emir Lewis, Steven Bennett, Kathryn Clinard ; a production of Steeplechase Films.
Gringo Trails
Zebra Films presents ; a film by Pegi Vail & Melvin Estrella ; directed by Pegi Vail ; producers, Pegi Vail, Melvin Estrella.
The Last Tourist
Directed by Tyson Sadler, Produced by Marc Swenker (Los Angeles, CA: Utopia Select, 2021)
The Motorcycle Diaries
Call Number: DVD/2nd floor media ; PN1995.9.A3 D641 2005
Diarios de motocicleta / Focus Features, Film Four, Wildwood Enterprises, BD Cine, South Fork Pictures, Tu vas voir production, Inca Films S.A., Sahara Films, Senator Film Produktion ; directed by Walter Salles ; screenplay by Jose Rivera ; produced by Michael Nozik, Edgard Tenenbaum, Karen Tenkhoff.

Articles

Ballengee-Morris, C. (2002). Cultures for sale: Perspectives on colonialism and self-determination and the relationship to authenticity and tourism. Studies in Art Education: A Journal of Issues and Research, 43(3), 232-245.
Available via library databases
Bloch, K. R., Taylor, T., Church, J. & Buck, A. (2021). An intersectional approach to the glass ceiling: gender, race and share of middle and senior management in U. S. workplaces. Sex Roles, 84, 312-325.
Available via Springer database
Bodenheimer, R. (2013). National symbol or a “Black thing”?: Rumba and racial politics in Cuba in the Era of cultural tourism. Black Music Research Journal, 33(2), 177-205.
Available via library databases
Chang, E. H. & Milkman, K. L. (2020). Improving decisions that affect gender equality in the workplace. Organizational Dynamics, 49(1), 100709.
Available via ScienceDirect database
Costen, W. M., Cliath, A. G. & Woods, R. H. (2002). Where are the racial and ethnic minorities in hotel management?: Exploring relationship between race and position in hotels. Journal of Human Resources in Hospitality & Tourism, 1(2), 57-69.
Available via T&F database
Dashper, K. (2020). Mentoring for gender equality: Supporting female leaders in the hospitality industry. International Journal of Hospitality Management, 88, 1-8.
Available via ScienceDirect database
Emirbayer, M. & Desmond, M. (2012). Race and reflexivity. Ethnic and Racial Studies, 35(4), 574-599.
Available via T&F database
Gajjar, T. & Okumus, F. (2018). Diversity management: What are the leading hospitality and tourism companies reporting. Journal of Hospitality Marketing & Management, 27(8), 905-925.
Available from T&F database
Gertner, R. K. (2019). The impact of cultural appropriation on destination image, tourism and hospitality. Thunderbird International Business Review, 61, 873-877.
Available via Wiley database
Hampton, M. P. & Jeyacheya, J. (2014). Power, ownership and tourism in small islands: Evidence from Indonesia. World Development, 70, 481-495.
Available via ScienceDirect database
Kock, F., Josiassen, A., Assai, A. G. Karpen, I. & Farrelly, F. (2019). Tourism ethnocentrism and its effects on tourist and resident behavior. Journal of Travel Research, 58(3), 427-439.
Available via Sage database
Liu-Lastres, B., & Wen, H. (2020). Exploring Ethnic Minority Workers’ Perceptions of Employee Well-Being in the Tourism and Hospitality Industry: An Exploratory Study. Travel and Tourism Research Association: Advancing Tourism Research Globally.
2020 TTRA International Conference. Victoria, B.C., Canada. Available via Indiana University Indianapolis
Macleod, D. V. L. (1999). Tourism and globalization of a Canary Island. Royal Anthropological Institute, 5(3), 443-456.
Available via library databases
Madrid, A. (1988). Missing people and Others: Joining together to expand the circle. Change: The Magazine of Higher Learning, 20(3), 55-60.
Available via library databases
Mahony, K., & Van Zyl, J. (2002). The impacts of tourism investment on rural communities: Three case studies in South Africa. Development Southern Africa, 19(1), 83–103.
Available via library databases
Mbaiwa, J. E. (2017). Poverty or riches: Who benefits from the booming tourism industry in Botswana? Journal of Contemporary African Studies, 35(1), 93-112.
Available via library databases
Okumus, F. (2020). Hospitality and tourism: Delving deeper into diversity management. Rosen Research Review, 2(1), 16-19.
Available via University of Central Florida
Palmer, C. A. (1994). Tourism and colonialism: The experience of the Bahamas. Annals of Tourism Research, 21(4), 792-811.
Available via ScienceDirect database
Perales, F. (2022). Improving the wellbeing of LGBTQ+ employees: Do workplace diversity training and ally networks make a difference? Preventative Medicine, 161, 107113.
Available via ScienceDirect database
Shum, C., Gatling, A. & Garlington, J. (2020). All people are created equal? Racial discrimination and its impact on hospitality career satisfaction. International Journal of Hospitality Management, 89, 1-10.
Available via ScienceDirect database
Van den Berghe, P. L. (1992). Tourism and the ethnic division of labor. Annals of Tourism Research, 19(2), 234-249.
Call Number: Compact Shelving/1st floor ; G155.A1 A58
Abstract available via ScienceDirect database.
Walter, P. (2021). Settler colonialism and the violent geographies of tourism in the California redwoods. Tourism Geographies, 1-22.
Available via T&F database
Wijesinghe, S. N. R. (2020). Researching coloniality: A reflection on identity. Annal of Tourism Research, 82, 1-11.
Available via ScienceDirect database

Internet Resources

The Negro motorist Green-book by Victor H. Green (publisher)
Digital copy hosted by Library of Congress

Glossary | Racial Equity Tools
Key terms and definitions for ethnic studies

Civil Rights Act (1964)
Digital copy hosted by National Archives

Immigration Act of 1965
This act, signed into law by President Lyndon Johnson on July 2, 1964, prohibited discrimination in public places, provided for the integration of schools and other public facilities, and made employment discrimination illegal. To learn more, visit the Center for Immigration Studies.
Civil Rights Act of 1875
This law guaranteed all citizens, regardless of color, access to accommodations, theatres, public schools, churches, and cemeteries, forbade the barring of any person from jury service on account of race, and provided that all lawsuits brought under the new law would be tried in federal, not state, courts. It was declared unconstitutional by the Supreme Court in 1883. To learn more, visit Senate.gov.
Native American Travel Documents
This State.gov webpage states that "travel documents issued by Native American tribes or nations are not issued under the authority of the United States." To learn more, click the link.

Plessy v. Ferguson (1896)
The ruling in this Supreme Court case upheld a Louisiana state law that allowed for "equal but separate accommodations for the white and colored races." To learn more, visit the National Archives.

Privileges and Immunities Clause
Found in Article IV, Section 2 of the Constitution, also known as the Comity Clause, it provides that “the citizens of each state shall be entitled to all privileges and immunities of citizens in the several states.” This clause protects the fundamental rights of individual citizens and restrains state efforts to discriminate against out-of-state citizens. To learn more, visit the Legal Information Institute at Cornell Law School.
First Nations and Native Americans
The Jay Treaty, signed in 1794 between Great Britain and the United States, provides that American Indians may travel freely across the international boundary. To learn more, visit U.S. Embassy & Consulates in Canada.
United States v. Guest, 383 U.S. 745 (1966)
This Supreme Court case ruled that if a state participates at all in a conspiracy, it has violated the Fourteenth Amendment with regard to any individuals whose rights are infringed, based on the constitutional right to travel. To learn more, visit Justia.com.
Wilderness Act of 1964 (PDF)
Clicking on this link will take you to the PDF hosted on the USDA website.
Native American entry to the U.S.
Information from the U.S. Customs and Border Protection website
Globe Act
If enacted, this bill would build a framework into U.S. diplomacy to protect LGBTQ+ human rights worldwide. To learn more, visit the Human Rights Campaign.
Women and Gender in Public Policy
While federal laws prohibit discrimination on the basis of sex, gender disparities persist in education, employment and earnings, retirement, health, violence, and other areas covered by federal programs. To learn more, visit the U.S. Government Accountability Office
Department of Labor Policies on Gender Identity: Rights and Responsibilities
Describes the rights of USDOL employees and applicants for employment to experience a workplace free of discrimination, including harassment.
Equality Act
This bill prohibits discrimination based on sex, sexual orientation, and gender identity in areas including public accommodations and facilities, education, federal funding, employment, housing, credit, and the jury system. To learn more, visit Congress.gov.

YouTube Videos

For More Information

Assistant Professor E'Lisha Fogle is the DEI Committee Chair for Collins College of Hospitality Management. She can be reached at evfogle@cpp.edu.

Also See

African American Studies Research Guide
by Library Staff Last Updated Apr 30, 2024 14 views this year
Asian American & Pacific Islander Studies Research Guide
by Library Staff Last Updated Sep 27, 2024 3 views this year
Latina/o/x Studies
by Sally Romero Last Updated Sep 27, 2024 297 views this year
Native American Studies Research Guide
by Library Staff Last Updated Oct 2, 2024 59 views this year