A comprehensive legal, business and news database. LEGAL CONTENT includes U.S. federal and state case law, regulations, statutes, administrative codes, legislative history, law reviews and journals, American Law Reports, American Jurisprudence 2d, Black's Law Dictionary, European Union case law and related legal publications. BUSINESS CONTENT includes EDGAR Filings and Disclosures, Company Investigator (including Hoover's Company Profiles for public and private companies), and business and trade publications. NEWS CONTENT includes U.S. state, national and international newspapers, magazines, blogs, radio and television transcripts, and congressional testimony.
Searches back runs of scholarly journals; art & architecture, language & literature, history, economics, social sciences, mathematics, ecology and music. JSTOR now includes some current issues for selected titles. Ebooks from scholarly publishers are also available.
Search platform for a wide range of multi-disciplinary subject areas, including agriculture, alternative publications, biology, business, country reports, dissertations and theses, education, ethnic and gender issues, geosciences, historical Los Angeles Times and New York Times, literature, PTSD, sociology, and US and global news.
The Social Science/Humanities Library is a collection of over 1,480 online social science/humanities journals spanning a broad range of academic disciplines. Use the search function to find titles and articles. The Social Science/Humanities Library title list also provides direct URL links to the individual journals. All currently subscribed journals are also available and accessible.
The impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas, including business, education, literature and the arts, health sciences, history, political science, public policy, sociology and contemporary culture, gender studies and women's and men's studies. Includes full-text articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers, newsletters, books and reports.
TCB research is a searchable database of full-text research reports on the latest issues in business management and US and global economics. Proprietary, nonbiased research includes studies of F500 companies on business trends, leadership decisions, performance excellence, corporate governance, HR, productivity, CRM and more. Economics material includes topline US and global economic indicators and analysis and forecasts of US and international economic conditions by our chief economist.
The Economist Historical Archive offers an invaluable perspective on the great events of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries and is an essential accompaniment to The Times Digital Archive. It contains editorials, news, commentary, letters, country reports, industry reports, surveys, and advertising that afford insight into British, European, American, and world affairs.
The International Herald Tribune is an online, fully searchable collection of the full run of this internationally focused daily paper from its first issue through to 2013. It is one of the most innovative and original newspapers, famous for its objective and clear coverage. Bringing an international perspective, it provides a valuable counterpoint to the Anglo-American press, adding a new dimension to research.
Complete digital edition of The Times (London) newspaper. Use keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of a specific article or a complete page. To search full-text, change drop-down box from keyword to "text." The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching. Funded by the History Department.
Ethnic NewsWatch provides access to thousands of full text newspaper, magazine, and journal articles from the ethnic and minority presses in America. Of the more than 1.8 million articles contained in the collection, nearly a quarter are written in Spanish.
This primary source collection of the ACLU's records focuses on free speech, civil rights and the Civil Rights Movement, citizenship, race, gender, immigration, discrimination, and issues related to the U.S. Supreme Court and American legal history. Documentation includes information on the inner workings of the organization, case files, correspondence, newspaper clippings, political cartoons, manuscripts, and more, including the documents from the ACLU's Southern Regional Office.
This primary source collection features content from periodicals, newsletters, papers, government documents, manuscripts, pamphlets, and more on LGBTQ history and activism, the LGBTQ rights movement, underrepresented groups within the LGBTQ community, the HIV/AIDS crisis, cultural studies, psychology, sociology, health, political science, policy studies, human rights, and gender studies.
Produced by the Ethnic Studies Library at the University of California, Berkeley, the Chicano Database from EBSCO is a bibliographic index that includes over 70,000 records from more than 2,400 journals and other resources, including newspapers, books, and book chapters, focused on the Mexican-American and Chicano experience, as well as the broader Latino experience of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans and Central American immigrants.
• Civil Rights and Social Justice: This database contains a diverse offering of publications covering civil rights in the United States as their legal protections and definitions are expanded to cover more and more Americans. Containing hearings and committee prints, legislative histories on the landmark legislations, CRS and GAO reports, briefs from major Supreme Court cases, and publications from the Commission on Civil Rights, A curated list of scholarly articles, a varied collection of books on many civil rights topics, and a list of prominent civil rights organizations are also included.
• Gun Regulation and Legislation in America: Included are periodicals, key compiled federal legislative histories, relevant congressional hearings, CRS Reports, Supreme Court briefs, scholarly articles and more.
• LGBTQ+ Rights: This database charts the gay rights movement in America, showing the civil rights codified into law in the 20th and 21st centuries, as well as the inequalities that still exist today. All titles in this collection have been assigned one or more title-level subjects relating to their scope, and are further divided into six subcollections: Marriage and Family; Employment Discrimination; Military Service; AIDS and Health Care; Public Spaces and Accommodations; and Historical Attitudes and Analysis.
• Open Society Justice Initiative : The Open Society Justice Initiative, part of the Open Society Foundations, was established in 2003 to provide expert legal support for Open Society's broader mission and values through strategic human rights litigation and other legal work. The Justice Initiative publishes reports, handbooks, briefing papers, legal and policy submissions, and fact sheets exploring and advocating on issues of human rights and justice. Beyond their publications, the Justice Initiative represents individuals before domestic and international human rights tribunals. Their advocacy work targets national and regional policymakers and governments to advance human rights and the rule of law, and they support local, national, and international efforts to expand access to justice.
• Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law: The database contains legal and non-legal materials regarding slavery in the United States. It includes colony status, federal statues, and state cases on slavery. Also provides access to all Congressional debates from the Continental Congress to 1880. Included are English-language legal commentary on slavery published before 1920, pamphlets and books on slavery from the 19th century, modern histories of slavery, and modern law review articles on the subject. Much of the non-legal material in this collection is based on the holdings of the Buffalo Public Library which contains nineteenth century pamphlets and books on slavery.
Following the Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor and the U.S. entry into World War II in December 1941, the Roosevelt administration decided that for reasons of "military necessity," the government would evacuate all persons of Japanese heritage from the West Coast states. The Records of the War Relocation Authority document the day-today running of the 10 relocation camps from 1942-1946. The collection is organized by relocation center. Records include reports and correspondence on issues such as security, education, health, vocational training, agriculture, food, and family welfare.
This primary source collection focuses on the political, social, and cultural history of indigenous peoples from the 16th century through the 20th century. Documentation include newspapers, indigenous language materials, dictionaries, religious texts, photographs, maps, reports, and legal materials. Topics include delegations and federal relations, trade, communication, wars, laws, language/linguistics, education, assimilation, relocation, and civil rights.
Race Relations in America houses an archive of documents in various formats including hundreds of hours of audio recordings and photographs covering topics including desegregation of schools, migration of African Americans, the Civil Rights Movement, and racial tensions in the United States.
This primary source collection contains manuscripts, ephemera, documents, newspapers, journals, and literature related to women's movements, feminist theory and activism, the social, political, and professional achievements of women, women's education, women's health and mental health, and other gender issues throughout the 19th and 20th centuries. The archives cover multiple geographic regions and multilingual content.