Primary source newspaper content from 1800-1899, featuring full-text content and images from about 500 newspapers from a range of territories and urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. Includes topics such as the American Civil War, the Confederacy, African-American culture and history, Western migration, immigration, elections and Antebellum-era life. Funded by the History Department.
Full text articles from newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press.
The Economist Historical Archive offers an invaluable perspective on the great events of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries and is an essential accompaniment to The Times Digital Archive. It contains editorials, news, commentary, letters, country reports, industry reports, surveys, and advertising that afford insight into British, European, American, and world affairs.
Ethnic NewsWatch provides access to thousands of full text newspaper, magazine, and journal articles from the ethnic and minority presses in America. Of the more than 1.8 million articles contained in the collection, nearly a quarter are written in Spanish.
Full text access to hundreds of U.S. and international newspapers, including The New York Times, Los Angeles Times, The Times of London, and Wall Street Journal.
Hispanic American Newspapers features hundreds of newspapers published by Hispanics, including many from the 19th century that have long since ceased publication as well as papers published bilingually in Spanish and English. Users can compare and contrast Hispanic views on most major themes in American life, beginning in 1808 when the first Spanish-language newspaper in the United States was printed in New Orleans.
The International Herald Tribune is an online, fully searchable collection of the full run of this internationally focused daily paper from its first issue through to 2013. It is one of the most innovative and original newspapers, famous for its objective and clear coverage. Bringing an international perspective, it provides a valuable counterpoint to the Anglo-American press, adding a new dimension to research.
Full-page and article images from the Los Angeles Sentinel, the oldest and largest black newspaper in the western United States and the largest African-American owned newspaper in the U.S., covering issues concerning the African-American community and its readers. Searchable with full text.
The L.A. Times offers full page and article images; covers 1985 to present.
The L.A. Times (1881-2000) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue.
The New York Times (1851-2020) offers full page and article images with searchable full text.
Complete digital edition of The Times (London) newspaper. Use keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of a specific article or a complete page. To search full-text, change drop-down box from keyword to "text." The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching. Funded by the History Department.
(NOTE: Only Phase I content is free to users at at this time) 125.000 volumes covering literature, philosophy, politics, religion, geography, science, art and all other areas of human endeavor. Traces the history of English thought from the first book printed in English in 1475 through 1700. The corpus consists of the works represented in the English Short Title Catalog I and II (based on the Pollard & Redgrave and Wing short title catalogs), as well as the Thomason Tracts.
Special Collections and Archives collects, organizes, preserves, and makes accessible Cal Poly Pomona’s rare books and archival collections for use by current and future researchers. These unique interdisciplinary collections center around themes relevant to the mission of the university and the history of the region. Available to researchers from the university and general community, a key part of our mission is to engage researchers of all levels and promote learning, discovery, and scholarship.
Areas of Collecting:
- University Archives and Cal Poly Pomona History
- the Pomona Valley Historical Collection
- the Southern California Wine and Wine Industry Collection
- the W.K. Kellogg Arabian Horse Library
- general rare book collection
E-mail speccollections@cpp.edu to schedule an appointment to view the collection in their Reading Room - located on the 1st floor of the University Library.
