Ethnic & Women's Studies

Douglass Adair joined the United Farm Workers union in 1965 at the age of 22. He helped organize the nationwide grape boycott and served as editor then publisher of the union's newspaper El Malcriado from 1965 to 1970. Through the 1970s and 1980s, Adair worked in the fields at various California ranches and as a member of the union's legal department. The collection includes correspondence, notes, notebooks, and records documenting Adair's involvement with the union and his employment as a farm worker; clippings and short publications on the union and related topics; and realia, ephemera, and photographs related to the farm workers' rights movement

Hilda Solis was a United States Congresswoman representing the 31st and 32nd districts in California between 2001 and 2009. The collection includes correspondence, news clippings, voting information, awards, photographs, and other materials related to Solis' tenure in Congress. There are also some materials related to her role as President Barack Obama's nominee for United States Labor Secretary.

The collection chronicles the activities of the League of Women Voters of East San Gabriel Valley and its state and national counterparts over the course of several decades. The collection includes studies and reports on issues, correspondence with lawmakers, information about candidates' forums held by the organization, the organization's newsletters, and other records documenting the organization's operations.

The United Farm Workers (UFW) agricultural labor union was formed in Delano, California in August 1966. The union rose to prominence for leading the Delano grape strike from 1965-1970, which culminated in a collective bargaining agreement with grape growers and drew national attention to the farm workers movement. Cesar Chavez led the union from 1966 until his death in 1993. The collection contains flyers, posters, short publications, and other ephemera promoting the UFW, the Delano grape strike and other UFW campaigns, and Chavez's legacy.

The United Farm Workers (UFW) is a labor union for farmworkers in the United States headquartered in Keene, California. The news clippings collection was created by UFW staff member Dolores Velasco as a way to disseminate information to union field offices. Velasco collected and copied the news clippings and then faxed them to the field offices before filing them away for future reference.