Skip to main content

University Library

Cal Poly Pomona University Archives

Information about the collections available in Cal Poly Pomona's University Archives and guidelines for using the collections.

Guidelines for Use of Materials

Cal Poly Pomona’s University Archives is open to all users who fill out a registration form and present a form of photo identification, subject to the following rules:

Registration

  • All readers must fill out a Reader Registration Form annually in order to view materials from the Special Collections and Archives.
  • Readers must present a valid form of photo identification.
  • Readers must sign the registration form to indicate their agreement with these rules.

General Reading Room Rules

  • All materials are housed in closed stacks and may not be removed from Special Collections. Materials must be viewed in the reading room under staff supervision.
  • Food, drink, and gum are not allowed in the reading room.
  • Only pencils and laptop computers may be used for taking notes in the reading room. Ink of any kind is prohibited. Additional personal belongings must be stored in a designated area.
  • Special Collections staff reserves the right to inspect library materials and personal items prior to entry and upon departure from the reading room.

Handling of Materials

  • Materials must be handled with care to ensure their safety and preservation. Please follow any special instructions given by Special Collections staff.
  • No marks may be added or erased on any materials.
  • Books, papers, and other objects should not be set on the materials. Special weights will be provided to hold books open.
  • Please do not use post-it notes, paper clips, pencils, or other objects to mark a place in a book or folder. Special acid-free paper strips will be provided.
  • White cotton gloves are to be worn when handling photographic materials. Staff will provide them.
  • Readers are allowed one archival box or folder OR up to three books at their table at any time.
  • Folders should be removed from the box one at a time, and the exact order of materials within folders and boxes must be maintained. Please report any disarrangement to Special Collections staff.
  • Foam book rests will be provided for particularly fragile materials.

Policies for Reproduction of Materials

Reproductions

  • Special Collections and Archives allows photographic reproduction of its materials for scholarly and general use unless doing so would damage the items or violate donor agreements or copyright restrictions.  All reproductions of Special Collections materials are permitted at the discretion of the Cal Poly Pomona University Library.
  • Special Collections and Archives makes these reproductions for one-time use.  Copies may not be sold or placed in other institutions. Copies may not be further duplicated or given to other individuals. The Special Collections and Archives unit reserves the right to ask for the return of copies when the user is finished with them.
  • Publication or display of reproductions without permission from the copyright holder may constitute copyright infringement.

Personal Photography

  • If approved by Special Collections staff, users may take non-flash photos of collection materials with their personal cameras for research use only.