Guides: Cal Poly Pomona University Archives: Other Audiovisual Materials

Recordings

In addition to its collection of oral histories, University Archives has also digitized many audio and video recordings documenting the history of Cal Poly Pomona. Click on the titles in the boxes below to listen to and/or view these recordings published on the Internet Archive.

Cal Poly Campus History

Augmented Reality Tour
This augmented reality tour of the Cal Poly Pomona campus was released in 2013 in celebration of the school's 75th anniversary.
The Black Student Experience and Gow Dow at Cal Poly
Date: 3/17/1986
An unidentified speaker discusses the experience of black students at Cal Poly Pomona and Gow Dow, a concept of black pride and unity originated by Cal Poly Professor of Black Studies Dr. James Benson.
California State Polytechnic College(s) Kellogg Campus Memorial Service for the Late President of the United States John F. Kennedy
Date: 11/26/1963
This recording documents the impact that the assassination of John F. Kennedy had on students, faculty, staff, and the campus community at California State Polytechnic University, Pomona.
Center for Regenerative Studies
Date: 1990s
The Lyle Center for Regenerative Studies opened in 1994. The center originated from an assignment that professor John T. Lyle gave students in 1974. Lyle challenged students to design a space that does not deplete the environment or resources. This film recaps the progress made within the first year of the center opening and the concepts around regeneration and preserving the environment. Included are interviews with John T. Lyle (founding director), students, and administrators.
Introduction to Cal Poly
Date: 1957
Promotional recording for the Kellogg-Voorhis campus of the California Polytechnic University when it was considered an extension of Cal Poly San Luis Obispo. Also describes the University’s main campus in San Luis Obispo.
Suzuki, Dr. Bob
Date: 1991
Dr. Bob Suzuki served as president of Cal Poly Pomona from 1991-2003. Suzuki earned is bachelor's and master's degrees in Mechanical Engineering from the University of California at Berkeley. He received his doctorate in Aeronautics from the California Institute of Technology in 1967. In 1997, he was confirmed as a member of the National Science Board by the United States Senate. His accomplishments at Cal Poly Pomona include, prioritizing the improvement of student and academic life for minorities on campus, establishing the International Polytechnic High School on campus, and gaining AACSB accredidation for the College of Business Administration.
This is Kellogg West
Date: unknown
This recording features Kellogg West, a highly regarded Conference Center in Southern California. After WWII, the W.K. Kellogg Foundation gave the land that was once cereal magnate W.K. Kellogg's ranch estate to the state of California. The state, in turn, used the site to expand the southern branch of the California State Polytechnic College, now known as Cal Poly Pomona. Kellogg West is a part of the Cal Poly Pomona Foundation and is located on the university campus. The recording is narrated by Ed Nelson, Professor of Animal Science.

Kellogg Ranch and Arabian Horses

Cal Poly Pomona Arabian Horse Sunday Show
Date: 4/7/1974
Continuing the legacy of W.K. Kellogg, this recording features video footage of the Arabian Horse Center's Sunday Shows, a tradition that seeks to promote interest in the Arabian breed and to educate and entertain the public.
Dedication of the W.K. Kellogg Arabian Horse Center
Date: 4/6/1974
Cal Poly Pomona's famous Arabian horses were moved to a new location, the W.K. Kellogg Arabian Horse Center, from the original location of the Kellogg stables. This recording notes the dedication ceremony for the new barn/stables.
Presentation of Kellogg Ranch to University of California
Date: 5/17/1932
This recording documents the presentation ceremony of W.K. Kellogg (cereal magnate, entrepreneur, and owner of Arabian Horses) giving his Pomona ranch to the State of California. Nearly 22,000 people attended the special event that included Will Rogers as Master of Ceremonies, W.K. Carrie Kellogg, California governor James Rolph, John G. Mott, Henry O'Melveny, Harry Chandler, S.H. Woodruff, and Edward Dickson.

Rose Float

1975 Rose Float Parade and Victory Park
Date: 1/1/1975
This recording documents the creation of a Rose Float by the Cal Poly Pomona and Cal Poly San Luis Obispo campuses.
Building a Cal Poly Universities Rose Float
The Tournament of Roses Parade has taken place in Pasadena, California on New Years' Day since 1893. Cal Poly Pomona and Cal Poly San Luis Obispo have partnered every year since 1949 to create a float for the parade.
Building a Rose Float: A Unique Cal Poly Experience
Date: 9/11/1984
In this audio reel, the late Raymond Burr discusses building a Rose Float, an annual tradition at the Cal Poly Pomona and Cal Poly San Luis Obispo campuses since 1949. Rose Floats are featured in the Pasadena Tournament of Roses Parade, which dates back to 1893 and is today televised all over the world. In addition to his contributions to the parade, Mr. Burr is noted for his donation of an orchid collection and three greenhouses to Cal Poly Pomona.
Rose Float '84
Date: 1984
Cal Poly Pomona and Cal Poly San Luis Obispo have continuously participated in the world famous Tournament of Roses Parade since 1949. Cal Poly floats have won numerous awards and the program is one of the longest consecutive running self-built entries in the parade, as well as the only "self-built" float designed and constructed entirely by students year-round on both campuses.
Rose Floats 1949-1997
Date: 6/17/2003
The Tournament of Roses Parade began in 1890 and has been an ongoing tradition in the city of Pasadena with millions of television viewers and attendees on New Year's Day. The parade has many participants from colleges, universities and community organizations, including the Cal Poly Universities (a team effort between Cal Poly Pomona and Cal Poly San Luis Obispo) which have participated in the annual building of a float for the parade since 1949. This ongoing tradition is comprised of volunteers, alumni, faculty, staff, and interested students at both campuses.
Why a Rose Float?
Date: 1979
This is a video slide show with pictures and sound of the building of the 1979 Award winning Cal Poly Rose Parade Float "Cub O' War," winner of the Princess Award. The tradition of the Cal Poly campuses building a float together dates back to 1949 and still continues to the present.

Lectures

Agriculture in the Year 2000: Dr. Reza Hoshmand, Poly Views Lecture Series
Date: 3/23/1986
The Cal Poly Pomona campus publication The Poly Views sponsored a forward-thinking lecture series comparable to today's TED Talks. Lectures were created by Cal Poly Pomona professors and attended by the local community. This recording features Dr. Reza Hoshmand, a Professor of Agricultural Business Management and Agricultural Education.
Desert Studies Center
Date: 9/4/1985
This recording features Don Hoyt, a professor of Biological Sciences who studied equine locomotion, and the Desert Studies Center. The Desert Studies Center was established in 1976 through an agreement with the Bureau of Land Management. It is operated for the California State University by the California Desert Studies Consortium, an organization of seven Southern California CSU campuses, including Cal Poly Pomona.
Fresh Water Fish
Date: 11/15/1985
The Cal Poly Pomona campus publication The Poly Views sponsored a forward-thinking lecture series comparable to today's TED Talks. Lectures were created by Cal Poly Pomona professors and attended by the local community. This recording features Dr. Jonathan Baskin, Professor Emeritus at Cal Poly Pomona and the author of many articles. Dr. Baskin was contracted by the California Department of Transportation to perform wildlife and fish surveys in the Santa Clara River.
Gloria Lothrop: Italo-American Los Angeles
Date: unknown
Gloria Lothrup was a California historian and Cal Poly Pomona professor who studied the role of women through cookbooks and other cultural artifacts. Her unique historical method led to many discoveries that were previously undocumented. Lothrup also researched the history of Italian Americans in the West and discusses the Italian American community in Los Angeles specifically in this audio recording.
Pioneer Women
Date: 1988
This film is of the first Women Faculty Association (WFA) banquet at Cal Poly Pomona in 1998. It includes a panel of female professors who each share memories of their time at the Cal Poly Pomona campus from the late 50s and 60s. In 1957, the first female professors were hired at Cal Poly Pomona, then an all boys school. Among those sharing stories are Prof. Dorothy Tucker McNeil who was one of the first female professors hired in 1957. Also presenting is Prof. Ruth Harmer who wrote the book "The High Cost of Dying" which was an expose in the high pressure tactics of the funeral industry that resulted in a congressional investigation. Among the memories the women share are about struggling to raise a family while working, health care for women, and working at a predominantly male campus.
Senator Merv Dymally: "Politics and the Black Society in America"
Date: 8/18/1972
Mervyn "Merv" Dymally served in the California State Assembly from 1963 to 1966 and the California State Senate from 1967 to 1975. In 1972, he spoke at Cal Poly Pomona on the topic of "Politics and the Black Society in America" which was co-sponsored by the California State Polytechnic University, Pomona Black Studies Center and Associated Students Speakers Committee. Recording includes David Cunningham and Student Body President Walter Allen III.
Senator Mervyn Dymally
Date: 10/17/1973
Lecture by Mervyn "Merv" Dymally, who served in the California State Assembly from 1963 to 1966 and the California State Senate from 1967 to 1975. Includes political science professor Shah Wali Khan as moderator.
Small Business Admin - Economy Problems. Cecil Brown and Student Panel Interviewing Dean Reed Powell
Date: 10/28/1974
This panel is comprised of students from the Department of Business as they interview Dean Reed Powell along with Cecil Brown (who was a veteran war correspondent and a former faculty member at California State Polytechnic University, Pomona).

Cal Poly Pomona - Other

Kennard F. Bubier Interview
Date: 4/28/1974
An interview with California resident Kennard F. Bubier, who served as the Aviation Mechanic and member of Admiral Richard E. Byrd's Antarctic Expedition to the South Pole from 1928 to 1930. The interview was conducted by Cal Poly Pomona student George Wood for his senior project.