It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
While the last entry was in 2014, this advice blog is still very helpful. It covers a wide range of topics related to careers in music, including arts administration, chamber music ensembles, fundraising, career management, and more.
To browse through the blog, look at the left hand column and find the subcategories listed under "Ask Edna."
YAP Tracker facilitates research and provides easy access to thousands of applications for various programs and competitions. With a required free account subscription, users are able to not only view the list, but save opportunities and schedule auditions on the site itself so all the details for your auditions are saved in one place.
Opportunities available may include: summer programs, young artist programs, studio artist programs, international programs, vocal competitions, period/composer institutes, and more. Some of the applications are free, while others have fees and preliminary requirements.
This second edition of Beyond Talent provides user-friendly real-life advice, examples, and perspectives on how to further a career in music. Understanding the unique talents and training of musicians, veteran music career counselor Angela Myles Beeching presents a wealth of creative solutions for career advancement in the highly competitive music industry. Step-by-step instructions detail how to design promotional materials, book performances, network and access resources and assistance, jump start a stalled career, and expand your employment opportunities while remaining true to your music. Beeching untangles artist management and the recording industry, explains how to find and create performance opportunities, and provides guidance on grant writing and fundraising, day jobs, freelancing, and how to manage money, time, and stress. The companion website puts numerous up-to-date and useful internet resources at your fingertips. This essential handbook goes beyond the usual "how-to," helping musicians tackle the core questions about career goals, and create a meaningful life as a professional musician. Beyond Talent is the ideal companion for students and professionals, emerging musicians and mid-career artists.
Understanding the Classical Music Profession is an essential resource for educators, practitioners and researchers who seek to understand the careers of classically-trained musicians, and the extent to which professional practice is reflected within existing classical performance-based music education and training. Taking Australia as a case-study, Dawn Bennett outlines how Australia is now a service economy, and an important component of service provision is in the culture and recreation industries. Despite this, employment in culture and recreation is poorly understood and a lack of cultural intelligence contributes to a less than satisfactory environment that inhibits the creative potential of cultural practitioners. Musicians in the twenty-first century require a broad and evolving base of skills and knowledge to sustain their careers as cultural practitioners. Bennett maintains that a musician cannot be simply defined as a performer, but that a musician is someone who works within the profession of music in one or more specialist fields. The perception of a musician as a multi-skilled professional working within a portfolio career has significant implications for policy, funding, education and training, and for practitioners and students seeking to achieve sustainable careers. This indispensable book provides a comprehensive analysis of life as a musician, from education and training to professional practice as well as revealing the structure of the Australian cultural industries. Although Australia is the focus of the book, the basis of the research originates from many different places and most of the issues discussed relate directly to other countries throughout the world.
REQUEST VIA LINK+
Young pianists pursuing a professional career face a barrage of questions, choices, and challenges. In this book, experienced teacher and performer Stewart Gordon offers a new and practical way to approach them by helping readers to plan strategically and build a secure and successful career from the ground up. For decades, Gordon has guided young pianists through the details of how to prepare musically, navigate their college years, and forge a career that will provide a livelihood. In this guide to beginning that musical career, Gordon has assembled the wisdom of decades of teaching: a fundamental body of information emerging pianists will rely on as they work toward their goals. His advice, focused on both mental and practical work, will enhance both motivation and security. Carefully balancing aspiration with reality and inspiration with organization, Gordon creates a blueprint for transforming dreams into achievement, and illustrates his points with examples drawn from the lives of famous musicians. The book also addresses many practical matters, such as developing keyboard technique, acquiring reading and memorizing skills, building repertoire, and balancing the demands of being a musician with living a full life. This volume is a valuable resource for both young pianists and their parents
This association webpage contains many useful resources. The competition announcement page is regularly updated with a list of all open competitions accepting applications currently or in the future. The AGO page also offers a list of both regional and national conventions.
Live music is a huge industry. In 2006, concert ticket sales totaled $3.6 billion in North America alone! Playing live is an integral part of the success of any musician, band, or artist. There is a huge difference between writing and recording your songs in your home studio or rehearsal space and going out and putting on a show. If you can't cut it live, then you really won't impress any audience, let alone gain a record deal and sell your music. So how do you make sure your show has the maximum impact? How do you appear professional and knowledgeable in an industry that has its own conventions, language, and baffling technical terms? How do you get booked into a venue and get paid? How do you then get bigger and better shows? The Tour Book: How to Get Your Music on the Road answers these questions and many more. It provides practical advice, hints, and tips on every aspect of putting on a live show, including rehearsal, equipment, travel, accommodations, show booking and promotion, sound checks, contracts, taxation, working abroad, and marketing. Featuring interviews and quotes from key industry figures and contemporary artists and musicians, The Tour Book is a must-have for any band or musician who is serious about playing live and making it big.
Stage Presence From Head to Toe: A Manual for Musicians is the only resource of its kind: a practical, authoritative guide to accepted practices of stage presence for performing musicians. It answers the basic questions every musician has about a performance: how to prepare, how to dress, how to walk out on stage, how to bow, how to look confident and put your audience at ease, how to interact with other musicians on stage and with backstage personnel. The book discusses the specific needs of soloists and small and large ensembles, both instrumental and vocal. Includes illustrations, several helpful checklists and a comprehensive bibliography.
(Music Pro Guide Books & DVDs). Since the age of seven, Anika Paris has been playing piano and writing songs, as well as singing and performing. Making Your Mark in Music re-creates the nurturing approach that she experienced growing up with a symphonic conductor father and a poet mother. Three solo records, songs in film and TV, touring the world, and ten years of teaching have all led to this authorship. Making Your Mark in Music serves as a personal mentor for the reader through stories and trade secrets passed down to the author over the years. This book, one of the very few on stage performance for musicians, blends psychology, Eastern philosophy, the art of conversation, and performance techniques valuable to performers of all levels. It reveals the inner workings of performance from an artist's perspective while also functioning as a self-discovery and artist-development journal. Included is a closer look with online videos of the author coaching artists, with before and after footage of each performer. The book also reveals what many readers want to know, through interviews with industry professionals. Record executives answer the question, "What exactly are you looking for?" A psychologist explores who we are and what role we each play in music. An image stylist talks about how to best fuse fashion with music. A television host discusses how to keep the audience tuned in. And a sound engineer explains how to keep the music playing. Find all of this and more in a book that will help you make your mark in music.
The ACDA offers a list of Featured Jobs as well as a search which can be limited by location or job title. Various other functionalities are available through an account sign in. Members also have access to a mentoring program.
The American Choral Directors Association (ACDA) is a nonprofit music-education organization whose mission is to inspire excellence in choral music through education, performance, composition, and advocacy.