It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The ACDA offers a list of Featured Jobs as well as a search which can be limited by location or job title. Various other functionalities are available through an account sign in. Members also have access to a mentoring program. The American Choral Directors Association (ACDA) is a nonprofit music-education organization whose mission is to inspire excellence in choral music through education, performance, composition, and advocacy.
REQUEST VIA LINK+
Performance. Choosing songs ; Reading music notation ; Finding your key and transposing ; More notation : dynamics and repeats ; Practicing your song ; Creating a lead sheet ; Hooking up with the rhythm section : roles and functions in the groove ; Arranging ; Rehearsing your band -- Presentation. Auditions ; Getting a good sound : microphones, PAs, and sound checks ; Warm up ; Overcoming performance anxiety ; The day of the show ; Effective performance : delivering your song ; After the performance ; Communication 101 : getting the word out -- Conclusion. Vocal health dos and don'ts ; Putting it all in perspective.
Note Companion CD contains instruction and demonstration tracks keyed to exercises in the book.
The Singer's Companion by Sharon Stohrer
Publication Date: 2006-02-17
Covering all the fundamental issues faced by vocalists in all styles of music, including how to find a good teacher, work with a score, audition and perform, The Singer's Companion is a basic text aimed at university-level singing students. Stohrer provides practical advice, step-by-step instruction, and graded exercise that will guide the novice singer to a better understanding of vocal technique and auditioning. Bringing a long career of vocal coaching and university-level teaching to bear on the subject, Stohrer offers up-to-date, accurate and understandable information that will be invaluable to singers and their teachers.
The Handbook for Working Singers by Roma Waterman
Publication Date: 2008-09-01
Everything you need to know about singing and caring for your voice. Topics include: posture, breathing, resonance, studio work, how to warm up, and much more.
REQUEST VIA LINK+
The author presents practical information on maintaining a career in opera, such as the different types, procedures, and pitfalls of opera auditions; types of opera contracts and contract negotiations; and the value of networking. She also provides an example of life in a state-level German opera house, with insights into various performance spaces, makeup and responsibilities of an ensemble, and jobs and functions of opera-house personnel. A glossary and several appendixes contain information for auditioning, such as newly classified roles for children, lyric, and beginner singers; roles for the established Fach categories; lists of opera agents and houses in German-speaking countries; and suggested audition arias. In addition, the book provides practical details about establishing and maintaining residency in Europe, obtaining permission to live and work there, and helpful hints about customs and travel."
The Performing Life by Sharon Mabry
Publication Date: 2012-09-01
The Performing Life: A Singer s Guide to Survival is the first-hand account of the 35-year career of singer, music professor, and recording artist Sharon Mabry, who draws on personal experience to explore how professional singers survive in the face of personal and professional pressures, exorbitant expectations, illness, and the demands of their public. She details the factors that can change the course of a particular performance or an entire career. Mabry offers sage advice for how singers can bolster themselves mentally, physically, and emotionally in order to maintain their powers of performance. Divided into two parts The Performing Life focuses first on such basics as the need for extensive preparation, discovering your performance niche, acquiring mentors, determining your maintenance level, finding a strong support system, learning how and what to organize, and discovering how to groom body and mind. In the second half, Mabry draws on her wealth of personal stories to dig more deeply into such seemingly mundane but absolutely critical matters as personal health (illness, food allergies, insomnia), logistical challenges presented by venue location and performance dynamics, and the difficulties off-stage organized by the recording studio. In all instances, Mabry illustrates how perseverance, organization, attention to detail, excellent training, strong planning, a resilient support system, and a good sense of humor can lead to a successful and satisfying career during even the most difficult times."
REQUEST VIA LINK+
Make Me a Star helps the reader determine his or her strengths and gives advice based on those strengths. Each chapter will also include insight from top producers, agents, publicists, and stylists.
The easy-to-use handbook Get the Callback: The Art of Auditioning for Musical Theatre offers practical advice on all the facets of auditioning, walking the reader step by step through the audition process, explaining what to expect, how to behave, and how to prepare for a winning audition. It also coaches the actor through the ins and outs of pursuing a career in musical theatre. Through his professional and teaching experience, Jonathan Flom presents the material in an easily accessible way. Get the Callback proceeds chronologically through the audition process, beginning with finding auditions and reading and interpreting casting calls. Flom discusses many facets of preparation, including selecting songs and monologues to suit your voice and the audition, organizing and arranging your music, working with the accompanist, and presenting yourself to the directors. He gives a detailed description of the actual audition performance and even offers advice on how non-dancers can survive a dance audition. The book includes valuable information on callbacks and how to field job offers, providing advice on contracts and negotiations. Further information on getting professional headshots, designing a quality resume, and writing winning cover letters is also included, each with examples. Unique to this volume is a chapter on auditioning for college training programs. The book concludes with three appendixes: a list of recommended dos and don'ts, and two lists of appropriate audition repertoire by genre and by actor type, as well as a glossary of terms.
REQUEST VIA LINK+
This book provides a unique perspective on the musical theatre audition process and how to improve the chances of landing a role. With wit, humour and insight, Neil Rutherford guides the reader through the crucial elements of musical theatre auditions, opening up the process of casting and auditioning to the thousands of hopefuls trying to secure work in this industry every year, as well as anyone involved in musical theatre. With a foreword by Tony-award-winning director Bartlett Sher, the book also contains contributions from some of the world's leading directors and musical directors, including Sir Richard Eyre and Jerry Mitchell, adding further valuable insight from those at the centre of the musical theatre world. This book is a vital tool for anyone hoping to improve their audition chances and survive in the world of musical theatre."
REQUEST VIA LINK+
This book shows those interested in auditioning for a rock musical how to holistically embody the essence of the show for which they are auditioning. Rock the Audition teaches performers how to: * Pick songs that have or have room to create a dramatic arc * Create their own appropriate cuts and arrangements, and successfully communicate the feel of a song to a pianist for proper support * Capture the essence of the musical they're trying out for * Understand the vocal styles of different genres and how the styles changed over time * Act a rock song Sanders's method also helps singing actors refine their physical life in the audition room when singing a rock song, an approach profoundly different from that of the legit musical-theatre auditioner. Rock the Audition shows readers how to interpret the meaning of the chosen songs and how to bring their own unique point of view to those interpretations.