Guides: Geological Sciences: Finding Geologic Maps

Geologic Guidebooks of North America Database
The Geologic Guidebooks of North America Database consists of references to geologic field trip guidebooks of North America (United States, Canada, Mexico). Most of the guidebooks cited are from the period 1940-the present. The database is updated monthly and contains more than 10,000 references.
USGS National Geologic Map Database
The National Geologic Map Database (NGMDB) is a distributed archive of geoscience information for the Nation. It was mandated by the Geologic Mapping Act of 1992 and is cooperatively built and maintained by the USGS and State Geological Surveys. We welcome you to explore the archive, view the maps, and help us to improve this resource.

GeoRef
GeoRef, as part of Elsevier's Compendex/Engineering Village, is a comprehensive database in the global geological sciences and provides access to books, journals, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses. Coverage includes the geology of North America from 1666 onward, the geology of other parts of the world from 1933 onward, and references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. The Show Map feature enables users to put results into geographical context by visually representing the location of the document topics retrieved via search.

USGS - The National Map
Digital access to the most up to date USGS Topographical Maps.

There are a few different search options on the NGMDB:

Map Catalog: Find over 100,00 products from over 600 publishers.
- Search by keywords for title, author, map series
Stratigraphy: Find geologic names, charts, and guidelines.
- Geolex Search: The U.S. Geologic Names Lexicon ("Geolex"), a national compilation of names and description of geologic units
- Search by geologic age
- Search by clicking on a state/territory
MapView: Discover geologic maps through map interface
TopoView: Access the Historical Topographic Map Collection.
- Here is a great tutorial: A tutorial by USGS scientist and topoView developer Chris Garrity demonstrating how to use topoView version 2.1

USGS National Geologic Map Database
The National Geologic Map Database (NGMDB) is a distributed archive of geoscience information for the Nation. It was mandated by the Geologic Mapping Act of 1992 and is cooperatively built and maintained by the USGS and State Geological Surveys. We welcome you to explore the archive, view the maps, and help us to improve this resource.

Geological Sciences