History

Correspondence, scientific notebooks, journals, blueprints, articles and photographs documenting the life of Bell, provided by the Library of Congress.

Digitized collection includes correspondence, writings by Kelley and other material.

Transcriptions of articles, essays and editorials dealing with the assassination of President William McKinley in 1901.

Over 5,000 digitized items, including photographs, cartoons, newspaper articles, and diary entries.

Correspondence and other materials dealing with the inventor from 1847-1897. Provided by Rutgers University.

Correspondence and other papers of the aviation pioneers primarily dating from 1900-1940, provided by the Library of Congress.

Selections of letters, articles, images and more related to William F. (Buffalo Bill) Cody.

Collections and papers regarding the 19th President of the United States (1834-1893).

New York Paper from 1841-1902. Access provided by the Brooklyn Public Library.

Part of the National Digital Newspaper Program at the Library of Congress, this site has digitized 15 million pages of American newspapers from 1789 to 1963.

Translations of Chicago Ethnic Newspapers from 1861-1938

19th Century women's magazine; some years may be missing. Provided by Hathi Trust.

The personal website of scholar Michael Gagnon, this contains links to PDFs of digitized early American newspapers.

This collection contains thousands of digitized issues of 25 historically significant U.S. farm weekly newspapers published in the late 19th and twentieth centuries (from 1841 to 1950).

Originally in the collection at Columbia University, now hosted by the Internet Archive, this contains fantastic pamphlets and tracts from the First World War. Most of the material here is from the United States.

This collection, housed by the University of North Texas, contains all sorts of dramatic posters from the world wars, most (but not all) American in provenance.

This digital collection (at the University of Michigan) chronicles the experience of American soldiers who found themselves in Russia in 1918, fighting Bolshevik revolutionaries for months after the Armistice ended hostilities in France.

The collections within this archive (maintained by the US Army) focus on military history, including materials about the American army in the First World War and Russo-Japanese war, operational documents from the Second World War, and materials from Fort Leavenworth.

A major ongoing project to digitize over 400,000 items illustrating the history of WWI. Primarily European in focus, but does include materials dealing with the U.S.

Digitized collection includes published texts plus six hundred pages of manuscript letters, diary entries and images. Provided by the University of North Carolina.

Over 1,800 examples of music from the WWI era. Provided by Brown University.

Complete run of the WWI edition of the newspaper from February 8, 1918 to June 13, 1919. Provided by the Library of Congress.

A newspaper published by the National War Work Council of the YMCA at Camp Upton in Long Island. Provided by the University of Minnesota.

More than 1,000 images mostly from the late 19th and early 20th centuries. Provided by a partnership of Bryn Mawr College, Haverford College & Swarthmore College.

The NASWA Collection consists of 167 books, pamphlets, and other artifacts documenting the suffrage campaign. Provided by the Library of Congress.

More than 700 photographs especially of the 1913 International Women Suffrage Alliance (IWSA) Congress. Provided by the New York Public Library.

More than 400 digitized photographs dating primarily from 1913-1922. Provided by the Library of Congress.

Digitized books, photographs, manuscript collections and more with a focus on the 19th Century. Provided by Harvard University.

Over 9,000 images of early advertising. Provided by Duke University Libraries.

Collection of manuscripts, artifacts, broadsides, photographs and prints dealing with the 1886 strike. Provided by the Chicago Historical Society.

Collection of excerpts of letters, testimonials, and journalism about the Triangle Shirtwaist Fire. Provided by Cornell University.

Collection of manuscripts, books and photographs. Provided by Harvard University.

A guide to the holdings at Indiana State University related to Debs (1855-1926), union leader and founding member of the International Labor Union and IWW, and five-time U.S. presidential candidate on the Socialist Party ticket; some (but not all) of the material has been digitized.

Gompers was president of the American Federation of Labor for almost forty years between 1886 and 1924, and the nation's leading trade unionist and labor spokesman. This is the home of the Papers Project and includes selected documents, a bibliography, an index, microfilm reel guides, and assorted subject guides.

The site from the University of Pittsburgh strives to “map” the historical terrain of the labor movement in Pittsburgh and Western Pennsylvania and includes documents sets and an overview of the labor movement.

This fabulous site (hosted by the University of Washington) site includes hundreds of photos, articles and printed ephemera relating to the history of labor in Washington state, arranged in five sections: the IWW (Industrial Workers of the World) in the Pacific Northwest; the Seattle General Strike and its aftermath; Anti-Labor Reactions and Labor Espionage; Labor and the New Deal; and Labor in the Modern Era.

This contains digitized issues of the communist-affiliated Negro Worker (1928-1932), published by the International Trade Union Committee of Negro Workers.

This collection (through George Washington University Libraries and the Internet Archive) contains the digitized editions of the International Teamster magazine (the publication of the International Brotherhood of Teamsters) from 1940 to 1969.

Digitization of records of a committee investigating crime in Chicago, focusing on prostitution and the illegal sale of alcohol. Notes are from on-scene investigations, summaries of court records and newspaper clippings. Provided by the University of Chicago Library

Digital collection of books and magazines dealing with home economics 1850-1950. Provided by Cornell University.

Collection of trial narratives from the U.S. and U.K. (including Ireland) 1815-1914. Provided by Harvard University.

This collection (housed at the John Jay College of Criminal Justice) contains the verbatim typewritten proceedings of 3,326 court cases, held in various courts of New York County.

This collection from the Brown University Library Center for Digital Scholarship brings together over 1,600 pieces of ephemera, such as broadsides and pamphlets, that document the quest to make prohibition a reality during the early 20th century.

The digitized materials in this collection (maintained by the University of Minnesota) include documents and reports from various American groups oriented towards public health (e.g. eradicating venereal disease and prostitution), child welfare and social services in the 20th century. (Click on “digital objects” to browse the digitized materials, many of which were produced by the American Social Hygiene Association).

This collection (at Illinois State University) contains photos and textual primary sources (including route books, magazines and programs) devoted to the history of the American circus.