History

Online exhibition created and maintained by the Royal Air Force Museum.

The U.S. War Department published Newsmaps throughout the second World War. The names and configurations of the responsible sub-agencies changed several times during the war. Notes on many of the Newsmaps indicate that they were distributed by both the Army and the Navy. Digital Collection from the University of North Texas Libraries.

Photographs, drawings, posters, and films keep the memory of the Second World War alive. The image material from the collections of Dutch war and resistance museums, remembrance centres, and NIOD is brought together in the Image Bank WW2. The participating institutions work together to create, describe, and make available a valuable collection of digitised visual material on the years before, during, and after the Second World War. The Image Bank WW2 is managed by NIOD.

This digital collection presents 90 images documenting the beginning of World War II in Poland, taken by the American photojournalist, Harrison Forman in late August and early September of 1939. The collection is supplemented by Forman’s article “Filming the Blitzkrieg” and a selection of newspaper clippings from his 1938-1939 scrapbook. Provided by the University of Wisconsin, Madison Libraries

Photographs of the Normandy Invasion, online collection on Flickr.

The Daily Battle Communiqués issued by the Communiqué Section, Public Relations Division of the Supreme Headquarters Allied Expeditionary Force Europe (SHAEF), relate the daily progress of the Allied campaign in Europe from D-Day on June 6, 1944 until the German surrender on May 7, 1945. Access provided by BYU Libraries Special Collections.

After the Day of Infamy: "Man-on-the-Street" Interviews Following the Attack on Pearl Harbor presents approximately twelve hours of opinions recorded in the days and months following the bombing of Pearl Harbor, Hawaii, from more than two hundred individuals in cities and towns across the United States. Access provided by the Library of Congress.

The Historic Government Publications from World War II contains 343 Informational pamphlets, government reports, instructions, regulations, declarations, speeches, and propaganda materials distributed by the U.S. Government Printing Office (GPO) during the Second World War. Access provided by Southern Methodist University Libraries.

These materials focus on World War II and the immediate postwar period of the late 1940s. In addition to materials created during the time period, materials may include modern studies and commemorative works about the era. Access provided by the University of North Texas University Libraries.

Collection of oral histories, photographs, and documents dealing with Japanese American history with a special focus on World War II.

Digitized collections include WWII era diary, artwork and photos.

Consists of surplus copies of U.S. War Relocation Authority documents, including publications, staff papers, reports, correspondence, memoranda, press releases, and a few photographs. Also includes material collected and/or generated by the Japanese-American Evacuation and Resettlement Study, University of California, Berkeley, including evacuee diaries and letters, and staff correspondence, reports, and studies.

The Japanese American Archival Collection is comprised of approximately 2,100 original items, including letters and other textual documents, photographs, diaries, scrapbooks, newsletters, art work, clothing and artifacts. The collection provides valuable insights into the history of Japanese American communities in northern California, particularly in the town of Florin, California from the late 19th century and into the 20th century. The collection contains significant documentation related to the internment of Japanese born and Japanese American individuals during World War II.

This collection of photographs from the Hearst Collection of the Los Angeles Examiner in the USC Regional History Collection, documents the incarceration of Japanese Americans in California during World War II. These 222 photographs provide a glimpse into the lives of Japanese immigrants and native born Japanese Americans (a.k.a. Nisei) residing in California from 1921 to 1958, with primary emphasis on 1941-1946. Much of the coverage documents scenes of:
the mass removal and incarceration process; life in camps at Manzanar, Santa Anita, Tanforan, and Tule Lake;
post-war repatriation to Japan.

Photographs document the Japanese American evacuation of World War II and its effects. Shown are children and adults at various relocation centers throughout the west. Includes one view of Eleanor Roosevelt visiting the Gila River camp.

The collection consists of correspondence, magazines, newspaper and journal articles clippings, and publications from the War Relocation Authority, religious groups, as well as civil liberties organizations. It also has a series of correspondence to and from Occidental President Remsen Bird's office, and meeting minutes and other publications from the National Japanese American Student Relocation Council.

The collections represent approximately 26.3 linear feet of archival materials and cover an enormous range of subjects central to Japanese-American life before, during, and after World War II, including immigration, the California Alien Land Acts of 1913 and 1920, the War Relocation Authority (WRA), organizations supporting Japanese Americans, redress, sports, and the U.S. Army's 442nd Regimental Combat Team. Camps represented include Jerome, Gila River, Rohwer, Manzanar, Poston, Amache/Granada, Heart Mountain, and more. Among the archives are letters, photographs, camp publications, papers of camp administrators and counselors, certificates and other documents to prove citizenship, and school yearbooks.

This collection focuses on the internment of Japanese-Americans during World War II. The collection includes documents covering the years 1942 through 1962. Provided by the Harry S. Truman Presidential Library.

Digitized documents of the Unitarian Universalist Service Committee, an organization that aided Holocaust survivors

The "official record of the trial of the major civilian and military leaders of Nazi Germany who were accused of war crimes." Also see the Nuremberg Trials Project, the Eichmann trial & the Law Reports of Trials of War Criminals

The museum site includes a number of exhibits with primary documents including images and oral histories.

Collection of 70 early interviews of Holocaust survivors. Also see other oral history collections: Voice/Vision Holocaust Survivor Oral History Archive, Jewish Survivors of the Holocaust & Fritz Bauer Institute.

Yad Vashem, the World Holocaust Remembrance Center, is the ultimate source for Holocaust education, documentation and research. From the Mount of Remembrance in Jerusalem, Yad Vashem's integrated approach incorporates meaningful educational initiatives, groundbreaking research and inspirational exhibits

Collection of more than 60 documents dealing with the decision to drop the bomb and the immediate aftermath

This collection focuses on the decision to use the atomic bombs to end World War II with Japan. It includes documents and photographs covering the years 1945 through 1964. Provided by the Harry S. Truman Presidential Library.