Books on the History of the United States will be located on the 6th Floor of the University Library:
ProQuest Ebook Central (formerly ebrary and EBL) is a multidisciplinary collection of ebooks from numerous academic publishers. Visit the help page. NOTE: Titles can be dropped by the publisher without prior notice.
This collection includes over 8,000 ebooks covering a range of academic topics. Watch a how-to video.
The GVRL collection includes encyclopedias and other reference works supporting a wide range of academic disciplines.
The Humanities Ebook collection includes nearly 4000 ebooks. Subject focus is the humanities disciplines and area studies.
This primary source collection of the ACLU's records focuses on free speech, civil rights and the Civil Rights Movement, citizenship, race, gender, immigration, discrimination, and issues related to the U.S. Supreme Court and American legal history. Documentation includes information on the inner workings of the organization, case files, correspondence, newspaper clippings, political cartoons, manuscripts, and more, including the documents from the ACLU's Southern Regional Office.
Content includes primary sources regarding African American studies; American Indian studies; Asian studies; British history; Holocaust studies; LGBT studies; Latin American and Caribbean studies; Middle East studies; political science; religious studies; and women’s studies.
Includes every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom during the 18th century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. Materials are diverse, including not only books and broadsides but also Bibles, tract books, sermons, and printed printed ephemera by many well-known and lesser-known authors. Captures the essence of the Enlightenment in Great Britain, and is essential in order to understand the context of the French, Industrial, and American Revolutions. Contains more than 32 million pages of text and over 205,000 individual volumes, all fully searchable.
Gale Primary Sources is an online collection of primary sources with access to books, newspapers, photographs, maps, and more. This resource includes access to: Archives Unbound, 19th Century U.S. Newspapers, Sabin Americana, History of the Americas (1500-1926), and The Times of London Digital Archive (1785-2014).
Full text access to hundreds of U.S. and international newspapers, including The New York Times, Los Angeles Times, The Times of London, and Wall Street Journal.
Databases composed of fully searchable image-based PDFs of original primary sources and retrospective legal materials. Documents are high quality and can be printed or downloaded.
• Civil Rights and Social Justice: Includes hearings, committee prints, legislative histories, CRS and GAO reports, Supreme Court briefs, scholarly articles, books, and prominent civil rights organizations.
• Gun Regulation and Legislation in America: Includes periodicals, federal legislative histories, congressional hearings, CRS Reports, Supreme Court briefs, and scholarly articles.
• LGBTQ+ Rights: Charts the gay rights movement in America, showing civil rights codified into law in the 20th and 21st centuries and the inequalities still present.
• Open Society Justice Initiative: Provides expert legal support for Open Society's mission and values through strategic human rights litigation and other legal work.
• Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law: Includes colony status, federal statues, state cases on slavery, Congressional debates from the Continental Congress to 1880, English-language legal commentary on slavery, 19th-century pamphlets and books, modern histories of slavery, and modern law review articles.
A digital archive offering full-text and full-image primary resources about historical figures, events, and social movements. Search the entire History Vault, browse the modules, or search each module individually:
Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America provides a collection of materials related to Native Americans and indigenous peoples of Canada, Mesoamerica, and the Caribbean, including content from the earliest contact with Europeans to contemporary civil rights issues, in the form of books, legal and financial records, diaries, travel journals, photographs, maps, newspapers, artwork, treaties, and tribal records.
Indigenous Newspapers in North America contains a collection of more than 200 years of Indigenous print journalism over more than 9,000 individual editions from the perspective of Indigenous peoples of the U.S. and Canada in both native languages and English.
This primary source collection focuses on the political, social, and cultural history of indigenous peoples from the 16th century through the 20th century. Documentation include newspapers, indigenous language materials, dictionaries, religious texts, photographs, maps, reports, and legal materials. Topics include delegations and federal relations, trade, communication, wars, laws, language/linguistics, education, assimilation, relocation, and civil rights.
Full-page and article images from the Los Angeles Sentinel, the oldest and largest black newspaper in the western United States and the largest African-American owned newspaper in the U.S., covering issues concerning the African-American community and its readers. Searchable with full text.
The L.A. Times offers full page and article images; covers 1985 to present.
The L.A. Times (1881-2000) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue.
The New York Times (1851-2020) offers full page and article images with searchable full text.
Primary source newspaper content from 1800-1899, featuring full-text content and images from about 500 newspapers from a range of territories and urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. Includes topics such as the American Civil War, the Confederacy, African-American culture and history, Western migration, immigration, elections and Antebellum-era life. Funded by the History Department.
Race Relations in America houses an archive of documents in various formats including hundreds of hours of audio recordings and photographs covering topics including desegregation of schools, migration of African Americans, the Civil Rights Movement, and racial tensions in the United States.
An online collection of books, pamphlets, serials and other works about the Americas, from the time of their discovery to the early 1900s. Covering a span of 400 years in North, Central and South America, as well as the Caribbean, this fully searchable digital archive is an essential tool for the study of the western hemisphere. It provides primary source material critical to the understanding of the society, politics, religious beliefs, literature, customs and momentous events of the times.
This primary source collection contains manuscripts, ephemera, documents, newspapers, journals, and literature related to women's movements, feminist theory and activism, the social, political, and professional achievements of women, women's education, women's health and mental health, and other gender issues throughout the 19th and 20th centuries. The archives cover multiple geographic regions and multilingual content.