Skip to Main Content

Communication 4620 - Communication Capstone

Mission

Special Collections and Archives collects, organizes, and preserves Cal Poly Pomona’s rare books and archival collections for use by current and future researchers. These unique interdisciplinary collections center around themes relevant to the mission of the university and the history of the region. Available to researchers from the university and general community, a key part of our mission is to engage researchers of all levels and promote learning, discovery, and scholarship. Taking pride in our role of preserving the history of these areas, we actively collect and welcome all interested users from around the world on an annual basis.

Collecting Areas

 Display of a yearbook, University Archives photographs, and a vinyl record.Display of Arabian horse-related materials, including a photograph of W.K. Kellogg and a horse.   

   

 

 

 

 

 

 

We have four main collecting areas:  

University Archives

Documents the history of the campus

Pomona Valley Historical Collection

Documents local history

Southern California Wine and Wine Industry Collection

Documents wine production in the region

The W.K. Kellogg Arabian Horse Library

Documents the history of the Arabian horse, the horse industry, and equine history 

Finding Primary Sources

Example of finding aid on the Online Archive of California website

 

At Cal Poly Pomona

  • Visit the Collections section of our website. Guides to each of our four collecting areas have been created.

Within California

  • Calisphere  serves as a gateway to California’s digital collections and contains over one million photographs, documents, letters, artwork, diaries, oral histories, films, advertisements, musical recordings, and more from repositories all over the state.
  • Online Archive of California - Contains thousands of finding aids to primary source materials located in many California libraries, archives, historical societies, and museums. 
  • LA as Subject– Research alliance that maintains a directory of collections related to the Los Angeles region.

At the National Level

  • ArchiveGrid – A collection of over two million archival material descriptions held around the world.
  • Library of Congress Digital Collections – Historic photographs, papers, newspapers, and other materials held by the Library of Congress.  
  • Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) – Includes photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents, etc. that have been digitized and made accessible to the public.
  • Internet Archive – is a non-profit library featuring millions of free books, photographs, websites, movies, software, music, and more for institutions all over the country.