Career Guides

"Opportunities in Veterinary Medicine Careers offers job seekers essential information about a variety of careers in the field of veterinary medicine. The book includes training and education requirements, salary statistics, and professional and Internet resources.

This definitive reference book about horse careers features more than two hundred potential jobs in the horse industry. From the traditional careers of trainer, farrier, and veterinarian to inventive options such as sports psychologist, author, and marketing specialist, Vicki Hogue-Davies covers it all. By portraying all the pros and cons of these positions, Davies opens the reader's eyes to the full scope of potentially satisfying careers. Separate sections are dedicated to evaluations options according to experience and educations, advising on the best ways to search for jobs, and offering counsel and guidance to those who aspire to start their own business. Extensive appendices are also included to give job seekers every opportunity to find the perfect career for them.

How can you make a real difference in the world and make a good living at the same time? The ECO Guide to Careers That Make a Difference: Environmental Work for a Sustainable World provides the answer. Developed by The Environmental Careers Organization (ECO, the creators of the popular Complete Guide to Environmental Careers), this new volume is unlike any careers book you've seen before. Reaching far beyond job titles and resume tips, The ECO Guide immerses you in the strategies and tactics that leading edge professionals are using to tackle pressing problems and create innovative solutions. To bring you definitive information from the real world of environmental problem-solving, The ECO Guide has engaged some of the nation's most respected experts to explain the issues and describe what's being done about them today. You'll explore: Global climate change with Eileen Claussen, Pew Center for Global Climate Change; Biodiversity loss with Stuart Pimm, Nicholas School for the Environment at Duke University; Green Business with Stuart Hart, Kenan-Flager Business School at University of North Carolina; Ecotourism with Martha Honey, The International Ecotourism Society; Environmental Justice with Robert Bullard, Environmental Justice Center at Clark Atlanta University; Alternative Energy with Seth Dunn, Worldwatch Institute; Water Quality with Sandra Postel, Global Water Policy Project; Green Architecture with William McDonough, McDonough + Partners; and twelve other critical issues. To demonstrate even more clearly what eco-work feels like on the ground, The ECO Guide offers vivid "Career Snapshots" of selected employers and the professionals that work there. You'll visit government agencies like the USDA Forest Service, nonprofit organizations like Conservation International and Project Wild, and local advocates like Alternatives for Community and Environment. You'll go inside environmental businesses like Wildland Adventures and Stonyfield Farms. And you'll learn from academic institutions like the National Center for Atmospheric Research and the Gund Institute for Ecological Economics. ECO also identifies and describes forty specific jobs that are representative of environmental career opportunities in the twenty-first century. It provides dozens of the best Internet resources. And most importantly, The ECO Guide offers all of the insight about current trends you expect from ECO, the acknowledged leaders in environmental career information.

This compact volume, which is updated annually, gives a general overview of the application process, including detailed information on the Veterinary Medical Colleges Application Service and residency requirements. Each of the 31 veterinary medical school

This informal guide provides answers for those interested in "working with wildlife" as a career. Sections include: Veterinary Medicine, Zoo and Aquarium Careers, Research, Education, Conservation, Communication and Creative Careers, and a generous selection of biographies of professionals in the field.

The most comprehensive career book series available, Opportunities in . . . explores a vast range of professions. Each book offers: The latest information on a field of interest Training and education requirements for each career Salary statistics for different positions within each field Up-to-date professional and Internet resources And much more

Each volume in Ferguson's Careers in Focus series offers an overview of a career category followed by a selection of jobs, profiled in detail. Each profile discusses the nature of the job, earnings, prospects for employment, what kind of training and skills it requires, and sources for further information. Each book also includes black-and-white photographs and interviews with industry professionals. Career profiles include: Buyers Fashion designers Makeup artists Models Photo stylists Tailors and dressmakers Textile technicians.

Opportunities In . . . series gives you valuable career insight into your job field of choice! The most comprehensive career book series available, Opportunities In . . . explores a vast range of professions. In Opportunities in Nutrition Careers, you will find: The latest information on the field Training and education requirements you will need Salary statistics for different positions Up-to-date professional and Internet resources And much more

Describes job opportunities, salary ranges for each profession, and necessary qualifications, with advice on how to gain experience and job searching techniques.

A job in this field-be it as a zoologist, a veterinarian, or a marine biologist-can be an exciting and fulfilling experience. The author covers many jobs that don't require special training: working in a luxury pet hotel, breeding animals, or working in a pet store. The list is endless! Also included is information on salaries and an extensive section on training centers, veterinary associations, recommended Web sites, and books of interest.

Detailed information on requirements, application procedures, and opportunities for jobs in the outdoors.

VGM Business Portraits * BASIC BUSINESS CONCEPTS. Put into a format that intiques reluctant, young readers. * FULL COLOR. Creates a book that is not only easy to read, but fun to explore. * FOCUS ON FAMOUS COMPANIES. Helps students relate even more to the trials and successes of American business. * SIDEBARS. Explain important terms and phrases, improving student understanding. * GLOSSARY. Provides a handy reference to business terms and concepts.

More than 100 "opportunities" for students and job seekers! The most comprehensive career book series available, Opportunities in . . . covers a range of professions, from acting to writing, and encompasses traditional as well as cutting-edge careers. Each book offers job seekers essential information about a variety of careers within each field and includes training and education requirements, salary statistics, and professional and Internet resources.