Career Guides

"What can I do with a degree in business?" If you're like many business majors, you chose this course of study because it promised the smoothest career transition after graduation. In today's volatile job market, however, nothing is guaranteed. Even a business major has to approach the job search with creativity and competitive zeal in order to succeed. "Great Jobs for Business Majors is the perfect place to start. Designed to help you put your major to work, this handy guide covers both the basics of a job search as well as detailed profiles of possible careers in your field. From sales to nonprofits, retail to health care, you'll explore a variety of job sectors for business majors--including some you never knew existed--to determine the best fit for your personal, professional, and practical needs. In this updated edition, you'll find: Thorough explanations of job-search basics such as crafting resumes, writing cover letters, and interviewing dos and donts Revealing self-assessments to help you determine your best professional fit Investigative tools to help you uncover those jobs that will make the most of your major Networking tips to get your face out in the field and your foot in the door before the resume is even sent True-life tales from practicing professionals who detail what daily life on the job is really like Up-to-date statistics on earnings, advancement, and the overall career outlook Extensive listing of resources--journals, associations, websites--that provide the inside track on job opportunities in your field With the information and inspiration packed into "Great Jobs for Business Majors, you'll discover how to explore your professional options, targetyour ideal career, and use your college major as an asset in landing your dream job.

Includes accountants and auditors, cultural advisers, executive recruiters, public relations specialists, receptionists, and typists and word processors.

Despite the recent scandals, now is not a bad time to be looking for work in accounting. Clients need accountants in bad times and good, and accounting provides an excellent grounding in business fundamentals. This WetFeet Insider Guide explores the ins and outs of working in accounting, from the Big Four firms to smaller regional accountancies to in-house accountants.

Every college major gives students valuable skills and training, perfect for a wide range of careers. The "Great Jobs for Accounting Majors" helps you assess your talents and skills for a job, target the perfect career, tailor your job search, present college majors as workplace assets, and much more!

For college students planning a future, professionals looking to change fields, or anyone who wants new insight into a specific profession, this series offers: Specific information on each profession Career choices within each field Information on working conditions Details on responsibilities, education, and training required And much more

Each volume in Ferguson's Careers in Focus series offers an overview of a career category followed by a selection of jobs

The Bureau of Labor Statistics predicts that jobs in advertising and public relations will grow faster than the average in the years ahead. It is important that people entering this highly competitive field be well-informed before deciding on a major career path. Career Opportunities in Advertising and Public Relations, Fourth Edition profiles more than 80 jobs. Each entry provides detailed information on salary ranges, employment and advancement prospects, and job duties. All material has been updated to reflect changes in the industry, new trends, and current salary and employment information, and the appendixes have been completely updated and revised.

For anyone interested in advertising or PR, this book explains how to select the right agency; the forces and trends at work; how new ad and PR campaigns are developed; who the top-ranked agencies are; what industry professionals like and dislike about their jobs; typical pay, hours, and office culture; and how to shine in your interviews.

From Milk-Bone to Colgate, there are more brands in the marketplace than teenagers in a shopping mall. For those interested in brand management, this WetFeet Insider Guide explores typical career paths; what makes a brand successful; profiles of major players; industry trends; the salary, benefits, and company culture you can expect; and online resources to aid in your job search.

This career guide to computers includes computer and video game designers, computer programmers, computer support service owners, Internet security specialists, software engineers, technical writers and editors and webmasters. Ages 12+.

Thanks to the prevalence of consumer products, many professionals make their living in this industry, from the well-known fields of marketing and brand management to the less-storied fields of finance, logistics, IT, and human resources. For those who yearn to make their mark in this industry, this book covers industry trends, major players, key jobs, and the recruiting process.

Everything you'll need to know to start your own e-business.

Part of a series that provides information for specific careers, this book includes computer and video game designers, computer programmers, content developers, Internet sales people, advertising and marketing managers and webmasters.

E-commerce is a hot new industry, and retailing over the Internet will entice many teens who like to shop and spend time in front of their computers. This book explains the brief history of e-tailing, suggests different occupations within the field and how to prepare for them, and makes predictions about e-tailing's future.

Each volume in Ferguson's Careers in Focus series offers an overview of a career category followed by a selection of jobs

The Harvard Business School Guide to Careers in Finance 2001 is an indispensable resource for anyone considering a job search in finance or investment banking. This all-in-one guide details the trends in finance, describes the industry's vast and varying career opportunities, and provides guidance on the recruiting process. Included in this new edition are profiles of leading investment banks, commercial banks, and Fortune 500 companies that hire MBAs; a selected bibliography; and a useful glossary of finance terms.

Working in investment banking is a great way to learn the ins and outs of corporate finance and develop analytical skills that will prove useful throughout a business career. This popular WetFeet Insider Guide explores what working in an investment bank is really like the opportunities for undergrads and MBAs profiles of top investment banks and the latest industry trends.

Guide from the Vault Career Library from corporate finance and sales & trading to research and syndicate and how these functions interact, the career path in investment banking for experienced professionals, as well as MBAs and recent college graduates

Part of a series that provides information for specific careers, this book includes court reporters, crime analysts, judges, lawyers, legal secretaries and polygraph examiners.

Part of a series that gives you the inside scoop on more than 100 professions as well as on various useful aspects of your career. This book provides information about job opportunities and earning potential, along with a forecast of the paralegal profession. It gives an overview of education, curriculum, and training requirements.

Covers a range of jobs in marketing, from those that require high school and trade school to associate, four-year, and graduate degrees. This guide offers salary statistics, training requirements, as well as the lowdown on life on the job. It takes the stress out of launching a career that's both satisfying and financially rewarding.

Part of a series that provides information for specific careers, this book includes antique dealers, cashiers, retail managers, retail sales workers and stock clerks.

Landing a job in the 21st century takes skill and determination. Each title in this series offers an in-depth look at salary ranges, advancement prospects, employment trends, necessary experience, on-line information, and relevant unions and associations.

Asset management and retail brokerage firms are in the business of using money to make more of it. Turn to this WetFeet Insider Guide to learn about the industry, where its been and where its headed; typical jobs and salary ranges; the recruiting process, including requirements and tips for landing a job; and the pros and cons of working in the industry.

This title is part of the Opportunities In... career books series. Comprehensive information on the field of technical sales provides readers with everything they need to make an informed career choice. They will find out what life is like on the job, what to expect in terms of compensation, training requirements and places to go for more information. Highly focused content allows readers an in-depth introduction to this specialized field.

Venture capitalists enjoy a high degree of job satisfaction, and many insiders concur that they work with the brightest minds in business. But if you aspire to sit on the board of the next Google or eBay, you have your work cut out for you. Read this guide to learn what it takes to get your foot in the door.

This unusual, instructive and entertaining fable shines light on dysfunctional teams. Bestselling business author and screenwriter Lencioni weaves a fictional story of the highly capable Kathryn Petersen who has an amazing capacity for building teams. Kathryn becomes the CEO of a struggling, high-profile company with an exceptionally dysfunctional executive team.