Career Guides

Careers for Hard Hats and Other Constructive Types takes an enticing look at the possibilities and training requirements for dozens of jobs involving a wide variety of popular hobbies and interests. The book provides expert advice on how readers can put their construction knowledge to work in the career of their dreams.

Specific advice for those considering a career in mechanical engineering.

Specific advice for those considering a career in materials engineering.

Specific advice for those considering a career in civil engineering.

Part of a series that provides information for specific careers, this book includes air traffic controllers, pilots, diesel mechanics, signal mechanics and urban and regional planners.

Each volume in this series offers an overview of a career category followed by a selection of jobs, profiled in detail. Each profile discusses the nature of the job, earnings, prospects for employment what kind of training and skills it requires and sources for further information.

One in seven Americans is employed in some capacity by the automotive industry, and the number of cars and other vehicles on our roads is rising steadily. A fun and exciting business, this field offers a wide array of career options for the automobile enthusiast. From pit crew mechanics to restoration experts, from mechanical engineers to parts distribution director, from RV specialist to exotic car museum director, Career Opportunities in the Automotive Industry thoroughly explores this vast and popular profession. Providing clear, easily accessible information about a wide range of careers in the field, this reference gives comprehensive descriptions of more than 70 different jobs. The book is divided into six areas that represent the branches of the industry - racing, sales, transportation, repair/restoration, design/production, and other automotive careers. Career Opportunities in the Automotive Industry also offers extensive appendixes of associations, certified training programs and two-year schools, major car racing schools, and bibliographics of books and periodicals.

Part of a series that provides information for specific careers, this book includes aircraft mechanics, biomedical equipment technicians, bicycle mechanics and maintenance mechanics.

In this book, read about manufacturing sectors that are showing growth and longevity in the United States; innovations driving new kinds of manufacturing and changing the industry; how to decide which area of manufacturing is right for you; 30 profiles of top companies; manufacturing-specific job roles and day-on-the-job profiles; and the lifestyle, hours, workplace culture, compensation, and perks you can expect.

Aimed at high school, college and general readers, the books in this series provide up-to-date career information. Written in an accessible style, the comprehensive series surveys a wide array of commonly held jobs and is arranged into volumes organized by specific industries and interests.

This guide to careers in the construction industry includes architects, carpenters, drywall installers and finishers, heating and cooling technicians, operating engineers, roofers and welders. Ages 12+.

Includes airport security personnel, air traffic controllers, customs officials, helicopter pilots, industrial traffic managers, and reservation and ticket agents.

With a comprehensive history of aviation and projections for the future of this field, this work provides information on a range of aviation jobs, including government and military positions and business, executive, commercial, personal, and instructional flying. It also profiles of related organizations, including the FAA and NASA.

Since September 11, 2001, the airline industry has faced severe setbacks and economic losses, but with heightened security measures and increased sales, it is finally stabilizing and making room for new jobs and opportunities.

More than 100 opportunities for students and job seekers! The most comprehensive career book series available, Opportunities in...covers a range of professions from acting to writing, and encompasses traditional as well as cutting-edge careers. Each book offers job seekers essential information about a variety of careers within each field and includes training and education requirements, salary statistics, and professional and Internet resources.

Part of a series that provides information for specific careers, this book includes mechanical engineers, broadcast engineers, software engineers and aerospace engineers.

Terrorists, drug traffickers, mafia members, and corrupt corporate executives have one thing in common: most are conspirators subject to federal prosecution. Federal conspiracy laws rest on the belief that criminal schemes are equally or more reprehensible than are the substantive offenses to which they are devoted. The essence of conspiracy is an agreement of two or more persons to engage in some form of prohibited misconduct. The crime is complete upon agreement, although some statutes require prosecutors to show that at least one of the conspirators has taken some concrete steps or committed some overt act in furtherance of the scheme. There are dozens of federal conspiracy statutes. This book examines conspiratorial crimes and related federal criminal law with a focus on the federal Racketeer Influenced and Corrupt Organization (RICO) provision of the Organized Crime Control Act of 1970; money laundering and the 18 U.S.C. 1956 statute; mail and wire fraud; and an overview of federal criminal law.

Written for high school and pre-engineering college students, this book compiles resources, information, and stories of engineers who design new and improved products. Ranging from the design and construction of stadiums and courses to the design and manufacture of sporting equipment and clothes, the book reveals what you need to know to work in this industry, and find a rewarding job as a sports engineer. Explore what types of engineers are involved in extreme sports like skateboarding to the more traditional sports like tennis, and get advice from engineers about how to succeed as a sports engineer.