Career Guides

Now five volumes and more than 3,700 pages of information! ""Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance"" - now in its thirteenth edition - remains the most comprehensive career reference in print. Now expanded into five volumes, this unparalleled resource has been fully revised and updated to contain the most accurate and current career information available. This five-volume encyclopedic set is an essential resource for public, college, high school, and junior high school libraries; career centers; guidance offices; and other agencies involved with career exploration. More than 700 articles have been revised and updated since the last edition to reflect accurate, up-to-date career information. Along with revisions and updates to all articles, included here are more than 60 new career articles and more than 100 new photographs. Each article offers expanded career information, a bibliography, sidebars, and other user friendly features, as well as an extended profile of someone working in the field. Receiving prominent treatment in this edition are the top 10 fastest-growing careers and the top 10 careers that experts predict will add the greatest number of positions through the year 2012. Extensive online references and on-the-job interviews More than 2,500 websites, selected for inclusion based on the quality of information they provide, are listed in the career articles and refer users to professional associations, government agencies, and other organizations. More than 300 on-the-job interviews ranging from worker profiles to daily routines to workers' comments about their occupation are also included in major career articles. Designed to hold students' attention and relay information effectively, the new edition of ""Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance"" is the ideal starting place for career research. This new edition features: completely up-to-date overviews of 93 industries; 741 completely revised and updated career articles; 62 brand-new career articles; more than 320 on-the-job interviews; more than 220 new sidebars, providing additional reading on industry issues and history, useful websites, industry jargon, and much more; approximately 550 photographs, 128 new to this edition; more than 500 additional pages; career articles keyed to four different government classification systems; more than 2,500 websites listed for further information; career Guidance section in Volume 1. Each career article includes quick facts, an overview and history, an in-depth description of the types of specific jobs in the field, job requirements, various ways to further explore the field, where to look for employment, current salaries and wages, the future growth of the career based on U.S. government projections, a list of organizations that can provide further information, and more.

Current, interesting descriptions of more than 100 careers presented in convenient alphabetic order within five degree levels-jobs typically requiring a professional or doctoral degree, a master's degree, a bachelor's degree plus work experience, or a bachelor's degree. A fifth group is jobs that may not require a bachelor's degree but are often held by college graduates. Plus, there's a bonus section with advice proven to cut job search time in half, including targeted sample resumes by professional resume writers.

"This movie tie-in Special Edition includes "Behind the Scenes with Judy" commentary as well a 16-page color photo insert " Davey has never felt so alone in her life. Her father is dead--shot in a holdup--and now her mother is moving the family to New Mexico to try to recover. Climbing in the Los Alamos canyon, Davey meets the mysterious Wolf, who can read Daveys "sad eyes." Wolf is the only person who seems to understand the rage and fear Davey feels. Slowly, with Wolfs help, Davey realizes that she must get on with her life. But when will she be ready to leave the past behind and move toward the future? Will she ever stop hurting?

A comprehensive guide to technical careers, this reference covers in depth 110 jobs with information that will answer any question a reader might have concerning the opportunities, requirements, responsibilities and expectations associated with each career.

This terrific handbook offers the most accurate and helpful information available for making decisions on a college major, or what to do with a degree you have. Readers learn which majors are the best investment, the job and salary prospects for specific majors, the employment growth rates for particular majors, and how many graduates go on to additional education. The second edition includes substantial new information, including the important steps to take before college to ensure future career success, the rising earnings premiums related to a college education, and the misinformation that exists about college costs and the belief that the "sticker price" of college is the final price. Each chapter describes the major and the courses it requires; discusses jobs that graduates actually obtain; and gives information on employers, tasks, and salaries.

Nearly 80 percent of first-year college students begin their freshman year uncertain about their major. And 55 to 60 percent of students will change their major at least once during the course of their college career. So, which major is right for you? The key is to understand what each major offers, on both the course level and the career level. Making the Major Decision provides all the details you need on each major to make an informed decision about your college career -- and the rest of your life! Book jacket.

Thoroughly revised for 2005, a handy job-hunter's guide explains how to identify one's personal goals and interests and reveals how to apply that information toward obtaining satisfying employment, with tips on interviews, salary negotiation techniques, career searching online, and more, in a guide

Find the best jobs in just two easy steps! First, browse 65 "best jobs" lists that rank the best jobs in categories that fit salary needs, education attainment, interests, and career objectives. For example, there's a list of the fastest-growing jobs for workers age 55 and over; a list of the 100 jobs employing the highest percentage of women; and a list of best jobs for people interested in education and social service. Sample lists are posted at www.jist.com. Second, read complete descriptions of the jobs identified by browsing the lists. More than 500 jobs are described thoroughly. Each description includes job duties and tasks, skills, knowledge, and training needed-very helpful for writing resumes and preparing for job interviews. All descriptions are based on the latest O*NET data from the U.S. Department of Labor.

A salesperson sizing up a customer. A manager trying to motivate an employee. A teacher attempting to make a point with a student. Should they joke around? Stick to the facts? Make small talk? Cut to the chase? How do they "read" the other person quickly to discover what strategy is best? Now, Paul Tieger and Barbara Barron-Tieger at last provide the answers. Drawing on the same scientifically validated Personality Type model that most Fortune 500 companies use, they show just how easy it is to identify key personality characteristics through a person's appearance, vocabulary, body language, occupation, education, and interests. Filled with real-life examples and easy-to-follow directions, The Art of Speed-Reading People explains what motivates and drives each different type -- and what communication strategies will be most successful. For salespeople, managers, teachers, and anyone else who has to deal with the human factor at work -- and who doesn't? -- here is the business how -to book of the year.

College Majors and Careers offers straightforward advice to high school students exploring career options. This book provides information crucial to helping students make decisions about academic and career opportunities. Each area of study description includes links to careers

Current, interesting, thorough descriptions of more than 100 careers presented in convenient alphabetic order, including careers in computer and Web technology, health care, science, communications, manufacturing, and finance. Plus, there's a bonus section with advice proven to cut job search time in half, including sample resumes by professional resume writers for computer and technical jobs covered in the book.

Based on research with 200 accomplished professionals, "Building a Winning Career in a Technical Profession" offers twenty proven ways to build and sustain a successful technical career. Using a very practical approach, it examines specific "soft skills" that complement technical course work, and demonstrates how to learn and implement strategies such as integrity, perseverance, public speaking, leadership, and negotiating to take one to the top of their profession. Complete with success stories, discussion cases and insightful tips, it serves as an excellent reference, tailored specifically to technical professionals, and provides a road map for building a winning career. A collection of 20 strategies demonstrate proven ways to build and sustain a successful career. Presents the author's findings based on a research study with 200 success technical professional. Success profiles illustrate how real people in 5 different technical professions have used recommended strategies to make it to the top of their respected professions. An excellent tool for anyone looking to be a success in their chosen profession.

Readers of this WetFeet Insider Guide will learn how to find or create an ideal internship; structure an internship at a company that doesn't have a formal intern program; make cold calls to prospective summer employers; maximize their chances of getting an offer for permanent work while working as an intern; and make themselves more attractive to future employers.

While employers look for keywords on resumes and cover letters, they also listen intently for keywords during job interviews. Here's the first book to focus on how to use keywords in the critical job interview.

.You successfully answered the questions in a phone interview, a live interview (or several) and the company just called to make you a job offer! Now what? Getting an offer is exciting - so how do you know if it's a 'good' offer? What are the important parts of an offer to understand? Are there some parts that can be negotiated, and how do you have those conversations? Can you reject an offer, and how do you do that professionally? What about other companies you have been interviewing with - what do you do when you accept an offer? Recruiters and hiring managers want you to completely understand what you are accepting or rejecting in a job offer. This book will help you thoroughly evaluate a job offer, determine what questions to ask in a negotiation, create ways to decide how to reject or accept the offer, and ultimately assist you in being professional during the offer process.

Thirty years after women became 50 percent of the college graduates in the United States, men still hold the vast majority of leadership positions in government and industry. This means that women's voices are still not heard equally in the decisions that most affect our lives. In Lean In, Sheryl Sandberg examines why women's progress in achieving leadership roles has stalled, explains the root causes, and offers compelling, commonsense solutions that can empower women to achieve their full potential. Sandberg is the chief operating officer of Facebook and is ranked on Fortune's list of the 50 Most Powerful Women in Business and as one of Time's 100 Most Influential People in the World. In 2010, she gave an electrifying TEDTalk in which she described how women unintentionally hold themselves back in their careers. Her talk, which became a phenomenon and has been viewed more than two million times, encouraged women to "sit at the table," seek challenges, take risks, and pursue their goals with gusto. In Lean In, Sandberg digs deeper into these issues, combining personal anecdotes, hard data, and compelling research to cut through the layers of ambiguity and bias surrounding the lives and choices of working women. She recounts her own decisions, mistakes, and daily struggles to make the right choices for herself, her career, and her family. She provides practical advice on negotiation techniques, mentorship, and building a satisfying career, urging women to set boundaries and to abandon the myth of "having it all."  She describes specific steps women can take to combine professional achievement with personal fulfillment and demonstrates how men can benefit by supporting women in the workplace and at home.  Written with both humor and wisdom, Sandberg's book is an inspiring call to action and a blueprint for individual growth. Lean In is destined to change the conversation from what women can't do to what they can.

For more than 20 years, Martin Yate has been helping job seekers just like you achieve their ultimate career potential. In Knock 'Em Dead 2008, you'll find the latest on job market development, professional networking strategies, effective career-researching methods, and the expert advice that has benefited millions to date. Whether you are searching for an entry-level position, changing professions, or climbing the corporate ladder, you'll find the strategies and solutions you need to make the most of your specific situation, including how to: Structure your resume and cover letter for maximum impact Conduct a telephone interview Decide what to wear, say, and do during the face-to-face Negotiate the title and salary you deserve There's a reason the Wall Street Journal and USA Today praise this series as one of the best-it works. With celebrated career guru Martin Yate as your guide, you'll nail the job you want in no time!

Endorsed by the Professional Association of Resume Writers Now that 70 percent of job searches are conducted online, and resumes are processed by computers programmed to scan for keywords, knowing the right keywords­­or buzzwords associated with a profession, industry, or job function­­and how to use them effectively has never been a more critical job-search skill. The most comprehensive reference of its kind, this powerful resume-writing resource gives readers instant access to 2,500 indispensable keywords germane to 300 careers in nine employment categories­­from business, the law, and health care, to the arts, education and media­­and shows how to use them effectively. In 2,500 Keywords to Get You Hired, readers will find: Keywords for hundreds of individual careers A complete listing of critical keywords for each career Boxed examples demonstrating how keywords can be deployed strategically in a resume Sample resumes incorporating keywords

Presents the skills, education, training, and experience that can prepare one for a space-related career, with examples from the lives of astronauts and other space scientists.

This guide gives professional advice on how to behave in the office, and out. Every aspect of modern business etiquette is covered, from sexual harassment to protocol when doing business around the world, from telephone and Internet decorum to wearing the right clothes.