Career Guides

Countless guides to law schools coaim to fofer an insider view of top schools, but noe of these guides provides the rich detail that Vault's new guide does. In this new annual guide, Vault publishes the entire surveys of current students and alumni at more that 100 top law schools.

In this new annual guide, Vault publishes the entire surveys of current students and alumni at more than 100 top business schools. This guide does not seek to be a complete resource to budsiness schools and is not positioned as a replacement for established reference guides. Instead, is a must-have companion to these references.

Getting into MBA programs is more and more competitive. This over page book will improve your chances of admission to the schools of your choice. This version of The Edge, aimed at US applicants, features an in-depth analysis of applying to each schoo

An exceptional blend of up-to-the-minute, authoritative advice and well-researched program data from hundreds of institutions, this discipline-specific series is a perfect resource for any prospective graduate student. In addition to the latest facts and figures, these guides feature insider's advice giving readers a full range of their options. -- Academic programs -- accredited master's, and doctoral degree programs -- Entrance requirements and applications deadlines -- Tuition costs and financial aid advice -- Faculty research interests

“Law school applicants should consider this a guide to producing a competitive, superior essay. . . . These successful examples speak louder than any written how-to instructions could.” –The Book Watch Each year, thousands of people apply to the most prestigious law schools across the country, competing for an ever-smaller number of spaces. But each applicant gets one chance to distinguish himself or herself from the pack: the law school application essay. In the essay, you can spotlight the qualities you possess that transcripts and LSAT scores cannot reveal. Essays That Worked for Law Schools shows that winning essays come in a variety of styles and voices. One student writes about running a day-care center. Another tells a harrowing story about driving a cab in New York City. And a third gives an incredibly convincing argument for why the world needs one more good lawyer. From the thousands submitted each year, the essays in this book were considered some of the best by admissions officers at the nation’s top law schools. If you’re facing essay anxiety, this book will educate and inspire you–and most important of all, help you write an essay that will give you the best chance of getting into the law school of your choice.

Law School Confidential is written for students about to embark on this three-year odyssey by students who have successfully survived. It demystifies the life-altering thrill ride that defines an American legal education by providing a comprehensive, blow-by-blow, chronological account of what to expect. It arms students with a thorough overview of the contemporary law school experience. This isn't the advice of graying professors or battle-scarred practitioners decades removed from law school. Miller has assembled a panel of recent graduates to act as "mentors", all of whom are perfectly positioned to shed light on what law school is like today. From taking the LSAT, to securing financial aid, to navigating the notorious first semester, to taking exams, to applying for summer internships, to getting on the law review, to tackling the bar and beyond...this book explains it all.

Richard Montauk, a savvy admissions insider who is also a lawyer, demystifies the entire law school application process and provides the targeted tools to ace every step. Based on interviews with dozens of admissions officers, this newly revised edition of How to Get into the Top Law Schoolsoffers an in-depth and candid view of what leading law schools look for in an applicant-giving applicants solid, detailed advice on how to assess and upgrade their credentials to better match that ideal profile.

It is important to reach for the top when choosing an MBA program. The mean compensation package a top business school graduate is likely to receive can be 120 percent greater than what a graduate from a lower-tier program will get. Due to a sluggish hiring scene and fierce competition, it is more difficult than ever to get into a top program -- but not impossible. Your MBA Game Plan will guide you through the mysterious waters of the application process and help you differentiate yourself in the ever-growing pool of business school applicants. It shows you how to establish yourself as a good fit for a particular graduate business school program and to be distinguished as a person who can offer something unique -- greatly increasing your chances of getting into the MBA program of your choice. Written by two current MBA students who successfully gained admission into multiple top business schools, this book shows you what admissions committees look for and what you can do to make yourself valuable in their eyes. You'll see how to get the upper hand using a thorough marketing and action plan, essay and recommendation templates, detailed insights from successful candidates and admissions directors, and an analysis of every component of the application process. Your MBA Game Plan will help you gain acceptance into a top MBA program, speak the language of business, and demonstrate that you have what it takes to succeed in business and get into the best business program. Book jacket.

Now in its 2004/2005 edition, this perennial bestseller is the resource students count on for the most current information on applying to doctoral programs in clinical or counseling psychology.

An exceptional blend of up-to-the-minute, authoritative advice and well-researched program data from hundreds of institutions, this discipline-specific series is a perfect resource for any prospective graduate student. In addition to the latest facts and figures, these guides feature insider's advice giving readers a full range of their options. -- Academic programs -- accredited master's, and doctoral degree programs -- Entrance requirements and applications deadlines -- Tuition costs and financial aid advice -- Faculty research interests

The Insider's Guide to Getting Into Med School Choosing and getting into the right school is crucial to getting the most out of your medical school years -- and your career as a doctor. Kaplan and "Newsweek" have brought together some of the nation's top admissions experts to create the exclusive guide to getting into medical school. This excellent resource includes: * Advice from top admissions officers on writing persuasive personal statements, obtaining the best recommendations, preparing your application, and more. * Expert guidance on choosing the best options for financing med school, including tips on financial aid, borrowing and managing expenses. * Specialized information for every student, including minorities, women, gays and lesbians, the disabled, and others.

Following a clear and helpful general format, this updated volume is designed to help college students who are medical school applicants, and required to write a medical school admissions essay. Students will find extensive advice on the do's and don'ts for writing a successful essay plus instruction on the process of organizing ideas, writing a rough draft, then re-writing a final finished essay for presentation. Detailed advice is followed by 75 model essays, many of them new in this edition, all of them submitted by medical school students whose applications were accepted.

"Graduate school enrollment is up significantly and more students than ever need help figuring out how to finance their education. It's more expensive than undergrad, and most students can no longer count on mom and dad for financial support. Paying for Graduate School Without Going Broke, now in its second year, advises students on how to get the aid they need to attend the schools they want. With our exclusive EFC calculator and FAFSA Worksheet, we give expert tips on increasing student-aid eligibility, and our experts show how to find hidden funding resources."

Consulting. Its not just for MBAs anymore. PhDs, JDs, and MDs with expertise in computers, economics, health care, human resources, or statistics stand a good chance of finding a position with a firm doing consulting in that area. This WetFeet Insider Guide is designed to help non-MBA advanced-degree holders find a niche and a job in the consulting industry.

Kaplan DAT with CD-ROM, Third Editionfeatures: *Complete content review *2 Full-length practice DATs with answers and detailed explanations *Realistic perceptual ability practice test *Interactive feedback on test performance Are you ready for the DAT? You will be. 2 Full-Length Practice Tests • Detailed Explanations for Every Answer • Intensive Science and Quantitative Review • Reading Comprehension Practice Test • Effective Strategies to Maximize Your Score Special CD-ROM Features • Full-Length Practice Test • Complete Explanations for Every Answer • Personalized Interactive Performance Analysis The Only Virtual Reality PAT • Realistic Perceptual Ability Test • Exclusive PAT Exercises • Computerized 3-D Figures You Can Rotate and View at Different Angles

Kaplan MCAT 45, 2005-2006 Editionfeatures: *Hundreds of the toughest practice questions with strategic explanations, plus tips and techniques for answering them quickly and accurately *Powerful strategies for every question type on every section of the MCAT *Specially-designed practice sets containing the hardest science concepts on the MCAT The challenging practice and proven strategies you need to get a perfect score on the MCAT. Rest assured, everything you need to achieve your ambitious goals on the MCAT is in this book. No long-winded lessons -- just what you need to achieve an optimum score. This advanced guide includes: The Toughest Questions-- Practice with "high-octane" questions -- the toughest you'll see on the test -- and get detailed explanations, plus tips for answering them quickly and accurately. Powerful Strategies-- Take apart the most complicated passages with Kaplan's powerful strategies for every question type on the MCAT. You'll learn how to get the most points in the least amount of time. Personalized Practice Sets-- Target your review with the hardest material you'll see on the MCAT and lists of exactly what you need to know to score higher. Get the Pre-Med Edge! Sign up for Kaplan's freePre-Med Edgeemail newsletter at kaptest.com and tap into hot admissions tips, the latest test news, important deadlines, study aids, advice, and much more. Sign up today and get the edge on the MCAT and med school admissions.

For high school students considering a college major and for college students and recent graduates trying to translate their degree into a rewarding job

Newly updated with the latest facts and figures, this school directory and guidance manual presents profiles of all accredited medical, dental, and osteopathic schools in the United States and Canada. It also includes a full-length model Medical College Admission Test (MCAT) with answers, and selected questions with answers from recent Dental College Admission Tests (DAT). The authors offer advice on when and where to apply to dental and medical schools, information on assessing one's chances for acceptance at the schools, plus test-taking tips for students preparing to take the MCAT or DAT. This new edition includes a substantial number of sample essays for medical school applications and a new special section dedicated to high school students who are considering a medical or dental career.

An updated guide to the Graduate Record Examination offers an online study program, progress reports, quizzes, and a practice test with complete explanations of the questions and provides time-tested tips for effectively completing both the paper-based and the computer tests. Original. 35,000 first printing.

The first job out of college can be a rude awakening–but it doesn’t have to be that way. With this inspiring and informative guide, students can learn how to pay their dues without losing their minds. Best Entry-Level Jobsis annually updated and has been newly revised for 2007. It reveals where the best job opportunities are and what recent grads need to do to land those positions. The experts at The Princeton Review conducted hundreds of interviews with entry-level employees at the companies profiled in this book, and the most telling answers are in this book. Now students can get an inside look at hiring procedures, salaries, benefits, job responsibilities, opportunities for advancement…and more! Each job profile provides an honest assessment of the pros and cons of the position. Whether students want to work on IPOs at Goldman Sachs, help design jet engines for GE, or be personal assistants to celebrities, they will learn everything they need to know to launch their dream careers.

The first job out of college can be a rude awakening–but it doesn’t have to be that way. With this inspiring and informative guide, students can learn how to pay their dues without losing their minds. Best Entry-Level Jobsis annually updated and has been newly revised for 2007. It reveals where the best job opportunities are and what recent grads need to do to land those positions. The experts at The Princeton Review conducted hundreds of interviews with entry-level employees at the companies profiled in this book, and the most telling answers are in this book. Now students can get an inside look at hiring procedures, salaries, benefits, job responsibilities, opportunities for advancement…and more! Each job profile provides an honest assessment of the pros and cons of the position. Whether students want to work on IPOs at Goldman Sachs, help design jet engines for GE, or be personal assistants to celebrities, they will learn everything they need to know to launch their dream careers.

We can help you make the right decision. The Princeton Review's The Best 168 Law Schools gives you student survey-driven profiles of the nation's top 168 law schools as well as detailed statistical information about accredited law schools. Each profile provides information on academics and campus life, and also provides answers to all the practical questions you should ask when applying to law school, including: * Which employers are hiring graduates? * Is the focus of the curriculum on the practical or theoretical aspects of law? * Is the environment competitive? * What internship/externship opportunities are available to students? You'll also get easy-to-reference snapshots of each school's admissions criteria, deadlines, telephone numbers, tuition figures, e-mail and snail mail addresses, and other key info.

Pursuing a masters degree or a Ph.D. is a major life decision and a process that is intellectually demanding, financially challenging, and sometimes emotionally taxing. If you’re currently in grad school or you’re thinking about pursuing a graduate degree, then theGraduate School Companionprovides the practical advice and support you need. Graduate School Companiontells you how to find the best programs for your interests and needs, how to pay for your education, what to expect as a degree candidate, how to prepare for the job market, and how to find a job. It also includes: · Q & A with recent Ph.D. recipients and current Ph.D. candidates · Ten writing tips for graduate-level work · An extensive list of postdoctoral award opportunities · Instructions on how to build academic and non-academic job portfolios

We can help you make the right decision. The Princeton Review surveyed over 19,000 students to collect the information in the 2013 edition of the Best 296 Business Schools. This book gives you survey-driven profiles of the nation's top 296 business schools as well as detailed statistical information on additional programs accredited by the AACSB (Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business). The Best 296 Business Schools also provides answers to all of the practical questions you should ask when applying to business school, including: * What are the school's areas of specialization? * What is the breakdown of student demographics, including years of work experience? * Which companies are recruiting graduates? * What kind of salaries are graduates making? You'll also get an easy-to-reference snapshot of each school's admissions criteria, deadlines, telephone numbers, tuition figures, addresses, and other key information.

There are 250,000 business school applicants each year. This book provides annotated versions of sample essays so applicants can see how effective writing evolves. It includes exclusive insights from the admissions officers of leading business schools, including MIT, University of Chicago, and New York University. It provides 30 real essays by applicants accepted at top business schools such as Harvard, Stanford, Northwestern, Columbia, and the University of Pennsylvania.

A comprehensive guide for business school applicants preparing independently for the GMAT (Graduate Management Admissions Test). This edition includes strategies to achieve a higher score on all areas of CAT (Computer Adaptive Test), practice questions, a mock exam, and advice on essay-writing.

We can help you make the right decision. The Princeton Review surveyed over 19,000 students to collect the information in the 2012 edition of thenbsp;Bestnbsp;294 Business Schools. This booknbsp;gives younbsp;survey-driven profiles of the nation's top 294 business schools as well as detailed statistical information onnbsp;additionalnbsp;programs accredited by the AACSB (Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business).nbsp;The Best 294 Business Schoolsnbsp;also provides answers to all of the practical questions you should ask when applying to business school, including: * What are the school's areas of specialization? * What is the breakdown of student demographics, including years of work experience? * Which companies are recruiting graduates? * What kind of salaries are graduates making? You'll also get an easy-to-reference snapshot of each school's admissions criteria, deadlines, telephone numbers, tuition figures, addresses, and other key information.