Career Guides

The growing law enforcement and security industry remains highly attractive to new workers. Current concerns about security and terrorism have placed law enforcement agencies and protective services in the spotlight and led to sweeping changes in some branches. This extensively revised edition of one of the most successful titles in the Career Opportunities series contains 77 thoroughly updated job profiles and seven new profiles. Providing clear, accessible information on a wide range of opportunities, this book is essential for anyone planning a career in this field.

Highlighting the increasing number of career opportunities in the nonprofit sector for MBAs and managers, this guide presents a comprehensive overview of the nonprofit sector and how to get a job in that sector.

Offering job seekers information about a variety of careers within each field, this title includes training and education requirements, salary statistics, and professional and Internet resources.

The Guide provides business profiles, hiring and owrkplace culture information on top employers.

This guide should be a useful reference for students considering their career options and wondering if a career in the armed forces is right for them. Profiled here are 80 jobs from all branches of the service, including communications manager, firefighter and social worker.

This work presents a selection of jobs from government, human services, and international relations so that college students and career changers seeking entry- and mid-level positions can peruse a range of potential career paths.

Since the third edition of this perennial big seller was released in 2003, the federal government has again completely changed the process for applying for federal jobs. This much-needed overall update includes 30 sample resumes and tips for using the most popular online resume builders, which is the predominant method of applying for the abundant and well-paying jobs offered by the federal ogvernement - and something no other book covers.

Includes adult day care coordinators, financial planners, geriatric psychiatrists, hospice workers, and senior care pharmacists.

The first and only comprehensive guide to the federal government for students. Advice to win hot jobs: CIA, FBI, State Department, National Parks and MORE! U.S. Federal Government is the largest employer in the world - thousands of federal jobs and paid internships are available now! Ten EASY steps to help students find job and internship postings, write a federal resume, apply to jobs online or by mail, nail the interview.

Indexed for easy reference, this volume is a comprehensive guide to federal openings in the U.S. and the world. It includes information for all agencies and departments, pay rates, and vital tips on creating a federal resume, applying online, interviewing for federal jobs and more.

Shows where to find federal jobs and how to navigate the different application processes for the many federal agencies. Expert step-by-step guidance and resume samples for applying for jobs with the federal government.

FBI Careers is the only definitive guide to the organization's rigorous selection process. Its helpful information reveals what it takes to succeed in landing a job - for special agents as well as professional support personnel.

Part of a series that provides information for specific careers, this book includes detectives, FBI agents, firefighters, police officers and secret service special agents.

From police officers to forensic scientists and judges, the criminal justice system offers a variety of promising careers. The first of its kind, this highly informative guide examines functions of each job, offers tips to help determine the best career for the individual, and includes interviews from professionals in the field.

This set of biographies of Criminal Justice professionals helps readers answer the often-asked question, "What can I do with a degree in Criminal Justice?" The book provides meaningful answers to a specific, targeted audience - typical readers who are taking their first criminal justice course. The biographies are organized by various sub-fields and include discussions of what can be done with a B.A., M.A., Ph.D., or a combination of degrees. For anyone interested in, or studying, criminal justice.

Helps students explore career options within their field of study. This book covers various aspects of the job-search process, including assessing talents and skills, exploring options, making a smooth transition from college to career, conducting an effective job search, and landing the job. It includes a variety of career choices.

This work presents a selection of jobs from government, human services, and international relations so that college students and career changers seeking entry- and mid-level positions can peruse a range of potential career paths.