Career Guides

"GREAT JOBS SERIES ANSWERS THE QUESTION "WHAT CAN I DO WITH A MAJOR IN . ." Every college major gives students valuable skills and training, perfect for a wide range of careers. The Great Jobs series helps students: Assess talents and skills for a job Explore a wide range of career options Target the perfect career Present college majors as workplace assets Perfect their job search And much more!

Sixteen real life stories from people who used their degrees in anthropology to influence their choice of career, and to change their lives. These profiles encourage the reader to understand that chance, skill, and initiative are key to succeed both professionally and personally. By asking the question "How will my life, and the lives of others, be impacted by my choice to study anthropology, this helpful and informative guide includes cases and job descriptions of individuals working in a wide range of professions, not just anthropological. The author illustrates how and why people with a degree in anthropology entered their chosen field. The material explains how a degree in anthropology can prepare people for the challenges of a professional career. Anyone interested in pursuing a career in anthropology

Written by a veteran of the publishing and entertainment industries, this guide provides a comprehensive survey of career opportunities in the fields of communications, media, and entertainment.

High school students looking ahead and recent graduates often need help translating their degree into a rewarding job or planning their career. This book contains basic advice and a wealth of helpful information on how to use a college education as an entry way into today's competitive job market. "Top Careers for Communications Graduates leads readers through what it takes to turn a major in communications into a good career, one that offers a decent salary

Graduates with a degree in econoics are able to analyse raw data, often finding trends that can help explain past events, shed light on present-day conditions, and predict what is likely to happen in the future. For this reason, many employers eagerly search out graduates with an economics degree, offering them an expansive range of job opportunities after college. Necessary reading for anyone who has recently completed a degree in economics or who is thinking about getting one, this book leads readers through what it takes to transform the skills and experience gained from an economics degree into a great job. In the book's opening chapters readers will find answers to important questions: why get an economics degree? What does getting a major in economics require? What is the best path from high school to an economics-related job? Sidebar topics include top economics graduate programs in the United States and famous economics graduates. Interviews with professionals and academics are included. Profiles of the top jobs follow. Jobs covered include accountants and auditors, business managers, commodities brokes, export-import specialists, financial analysts, lobbyists, press secretaries and political consultants, research assistants, sales representatives and urban and regional planners.

Your guide to glide from campus to career You've probably never seen a help wanted ad seeking an "English major." But if you're considering majoring in English or have an English degree, don't let that discourage you. Many interesting and exciting positions are available for people with your skills--including some that will surprise you. This book gives you what you need to seize those opportunities. It goes beyond basic, generic job primers to include: * Advice on college and curriculum choices--courses, internships, and more * Tips to energize your job search * Profiles of real graduates, their jobs, and how they got them * Up-close and professional input from a publisher, journalist, speech writer, librarian, and literary agent * Overviews of typical salary levels, hours, and work environments * Extensive additional resources including Web sites, professional organizations, periodicals, and more With practical information plus enlightening perspectives from professionals who have already put their English degrees to work, What Can You Do with a Major in English? helps you determine the type of job you really want. Then, whether you're just starting college, close to graduation, or already in the workforce and looking for a more rewarding position, you can make decisions that will speed you toward your career goals.

Describes the required coursework and training for a range of career options, and includes salary ranges and employer information.

This volume is part of a series which shows people of different personality types how to turn a hobby or interest into a career. Exploring careers for bookworms, it helps readers decide whether they have the abilities needed in the field, and presents first-hand accounts and resource lists.

A presentation of career information on the field of writing. Each article in the volume includes: a job description; advancement opportunities; where to go for more information; educational requirements; employment outlook; salary information; and work conditions.

Outlines technical writing and communication careers, the type of education they require, and the employment outlook.

Helps students explore career options within the foreign language field. This book covers various aspects of the job search process, including assessing talents and skills, exploring options, making a smooth transition from college to career, conducting an effective job search, and landing the job.

The most comprehensive career book series available, Opportunities in . . . explores a vast range of professions. Each book offers: The latest information on a field of interest Training and education requirements for each career Salary statistics for different positions within each field Up-to-date professional and Internet resources And much more

The research skills and knowledge gained whilst studying history are assets that can be used to land a wide variety of rewarding jobs - both common and uncommon - in a number of industries. And because the future is important, even for those who study the past, anyone considering a degree in history, working toward one, or already having earned their degree will welcome a little help in mapping out their future. This detailed guide provides all the information needed to transform a history degree into a satisfying job, exploring everything from reasons to major in history to what types of jobs are available and how much they pay. what one can expect from a major in history, and how to get from high school to a history-related job. Special topics covered in sidebars include top history graduate programs in the United States, famous history graduates, and new trends in the field of history. In-depth profiles of the top jobs follow. Interviews with professionals in the field are also included. aides, cultural advisers, FBI agents, foreign service officers, librarians, marketing research analysts, tour guides and writers.

Written in an easy-to-understand yet informative style, this series surveys a wide array of commonly held jobs, and is arranged into volumes, organized by specific industries and interests. These books are a useful for libraries and career centers.

Offers job seekers useful information about a variety of careers in the field of journalism. this book includes training and education requirements, salary statistics, and professional and internet sources.

CAREERS FOR YOU IS THE ONLY CAREER SERIES DESIGNED EXPRESSLY TO TURN PASSIONS INTO PAYCHECKS! The inspiring Careers for You series encourages career explorers to examine the job market through the unique lens of their own interests. Includes: The latest information on training and education Tips on transforming hobbies into job skills Stories of success from each field Expert advice on finding and getting the job Advice on competing in hot job markets

"GREAT JOBS SERIES ANSWERS THE QUESTION "WHAT CAN I DO WITH A MAJOR IN . ." Every college major gives students valuable skills and training, perfect for a wide range of careers. The Great Jobs series helps students: Assess talents and skills for a job Explore a wide range of career options Target the perfect career Present college majors as workplace assets Perfect their job search And much more!

The Must-Have Guide for Breaking into the Music Business Completely revised and updated for the twenty-first century, The Music Business provides essential career advice and information on how to get started and advance in all areas of the music industry—from an author who’s had careers in music as an artist and professor for more than two decades. This comprehensive volume gives you guidance and information on: • Starting your music career • The ins and outs of recording contracts • Record producing and music engineering • The distribution and sale of records • The Internet and MP3s, and their effects on the music industry • The latest computer programs • Copyright law • Composing music and songwriting • Music education • The international music industry • And much more . . . The Music Business is an indispensable reference for anyone who wants to begin a career in any of the industry’s facets, as well as an invaluable aid to professional and would-be professional musicians alike.

Exploring all career areas - record companies, music publishing, sound engineering and more, this book contains case studies and top tips on finding and getting jobs in the music industry. It is crammed with honest, realistic, practical and helpful advice.

The music industry is flourishing--and young men and women seeking careers don't have to be performing artists to land a rewarding job in the business. Today's music industry needs composers, lyricists, creative managers, sound engineers, video producers and directors, booking agents, concert promoters, publicists, writers, marketing professionals, and even lawyers and accountants. 100 Careers in the Music Business takes the mystery out of job titles like song plugger, product manager, and engineer, and presents easy to understand explanations of duties and necessary qualifications. Most important, this book gives an overview of the industry as it currently operates--describing the roles of music publishers, recording companies, record distribution groups, the musicians themselves, producers, management teams, and marketing and promotion operations. Here too are inspiring stories of men and women who have made it in many different areas of music. A glossary of terms defines music industry jargon, and an appendix lists major music organizations. 100 Careers in the Music Business gives readers the most complete picture of today's music industry available anywhere. It's a "must read" for anyone considering a career in music, and it deserves a place on the reference shelf of high school and college guidance counselors.

Includes artist and repertoire workers, composers and arrangers, music agents and scouts, music journalists, music therapists, pop/rock musicians, and songwriters.

This guide aims to show how the music business really works. It offers a broad survey of its key role players - from songwriters to producers, solo artists and band members - and describes what each role entails on a day-to-day basis.

Written in an easy-to-understand yet informative style, this series surveys a wide array of commonly held jobs, and is arranged into volumes, organized by specific industries and interests. These books are a useful for libraries and career centers.

Provides comprehensive information on a career in photography. This title shows what life is like on the job, what to expect in terms of compensation, training requirements and places to go for more information.

Includes art directors, cinematographers and directors of photography, food photographers, medical photographers, photo editors, photojournalists, and sports photographers.

As Career Paths in Psychology shows, the range of work that psychologists find themselves doing goes far beyond the traditional laboratory researcher or the individual therapist. Psychologists work in all areas of education, in government, with private companies, and in communities. They supply research on immunization programmes, suggest improvements to airplane cockpit design, conduct studies on why peope buy what they buy, and design community programmes for reducing crime in neighbourhoods.

In this definitive guide, Forrest Mosten--an internationally recognized mediation expert--helps would-be mediators answer the critical question "Do I have the values, skills, personality, and commitment necessary to mediate?"<br /> A comprehensive resource, the book also explores a wealth of timely topics including the need to establish standards of the profession, how to maintain confidentiality, the pros and cons of co-mediation, and the place of mediation in the process of court and law reform. Straightforward and reader-friendly, the Mediation Career Guide is filled with practice tips, self-surveys, diagrams, reading resources, a list of training programs and volunteer opportunities, budget forms, and model standards of conduct. This hands-on resource is designed to make the challenging journey of becoming a peacemaker a one-step-at-a-time manageable process.

Career Opportunities in the Publishing Industry explores 80 jobs in publishing, covering a wide range of opportunities such as writing, editing, design, printing, selling, publicity, advertising, marketing, and distribution. Three sections thoroughly cover book publishing, newspaper publishing, and magazine publishing. An Industry Outlook section guides readers through projected trends in publishing, and extensive appendixes offer useful websites, a listing of schools and associations, and other helpful sources of information.

Aimed at high school, college and general readers, the books in this series provide up-to-date career information. Written in an accessible style, the comprehensive series surveys a wide array of commonly held jobs and is arranged into volumes organized by specific industries and interests.

A guide to the business of beginning an acting career in theatre, film, or television, on both coasts and in the heartland. This book offers counsel to acting majors on actor training approaches, career positioning, finding an agent, auditioning, interviewing, and making long-range career decisions.

Part of a series that provides information for specific careers, this book includes actors, broadcasters and announcers, camera operators, film editors, producers, newscasters and screenwriters.

Not everyone can be a rock star, movie star, or NBA all-star, but there's plenty going on behind the scenes and off-court: acquisitions, legal affairs, production, publicity, talent, marketing, and so on. This WetFeet Insider Guide offers the inside scoop on what it takes to land a job in the entertainment and sports industries.

Opportunities In . . . series gives you valuable career insight into your job field of choice! The most comprehensive career book series available, Opportunities In . . . explores a vast range of professions. In Opportunities in Acting Careers, you will find: The latest information on the field Training and education requirements you will need Salary statistics for different positions Up-to-date professional and Internet resources And much more

With more than 100 titles in the series, Opportunities in... is the most comprehensive career books series in the world. This is a thoroughly revised and updated title in the series. Each book in this series presents expert advice and the most up-to-date information available for training, resources, salary statistics, and opportunities in a specific, narrowly defined field.

This guide offers profiles of over 80 jobs in the film industry. Each profile details job duties, required experience and skills, advancement opportunities and salary ranges. Information is included on colleges, universities, film schools and websites, and there is a glossary of industry jargon.

Contains an overview of the career opportunities; advice to help you hone your professional skills for the television and video areas that most interest you; and salary statistics.

Radio is a high-profile and exciting field that attracts many aspiring workers throughout the United States. As radio stations are now broadcast globally via the Internet, and new technology, such as satellite radio, becomes available, many new opportunities are emerging for those who want to get into the industry. Providing insight into a field that is fairly accessible for those willing to start out in small markets and work their way up to the big time, Career Opportunities in Radio profiles more than 70 jobs that are available in the field, both for those just starting out and for more seasoned professionals alike. Among the jobs profiled are on-air personality/disc jockey, business reporter, sportscaster, advertising account representative, billing specialist, publicist, studio engineer, program director, website content producer, and more. Profiles are grouped into a number of different categories, including News, Sports, Sales, Management, Public Relations, Traffic, Engineering, and Programming.

OPPORTUNITIES IN . . . SERIES PROVIDES VALUABLE CAREER INSIGHT TO STUDENTS AND JOB SEEKERS! The most comprehensive career book series available, Opportunities in . . . explores a vast range of professions. Each book offers: The latest information on a field of interest Training and education requirements for each career Salary statistics for different positions within each field Up-to-date professional and Internet resources And much more

The most comprehensive career book series available, Opportunities In...explores a vast range of professions to help job seekers find the job that's best for them. Each book offers: The latest information on a field of interest Training and education requirements for each career Up-to-date professional and internet resources Salary statistics for different positions within each field And much more

Provides advice for rewarding job searches. This book, for first-time job hunters and those looking to change careers, offers detailed overviews of a range of professions and advice covering the job-search process, showing readers how to launch a successful career of their choice.

Aimed at high school, college and general readers, the books in this series provide up-to-date career information. Written in an accessible style, the comprehensive series surveys a wide array of commonly held jobs and is arranged into volumes organized by specific industries and interests.

Looking for a career in the film business? Look no further. Making it in Hollywood is possible. But only if you have a workable strategy. When author Frederick Levy launched his own fledgling career, he didnt' know a soul in the business. But that didn't stop him and it doesn't have to stop you.Hollywood 101 is a complete game plan for getting your foot in the door of the film industry. With fascinating inside stories and advice from key players, it takes you step-by-step up the ladder of success. Whether you aspire to be a producer, director, writer, talent agent, and any other behind-the-camera professional, this is the one book you need to turn your "reel" dreams into reality!

Every college major gives students valuable skills and training, perfect for a wide range of careers. The Great Jobs for Theater Majors helps you assess your talents and skills for a job, target the perfect career, tailor your job search, present college majors as workplace assets, and much more!

Useful for social work majors or readers considering the possibility of social work as a career, this new edition provides updated career facts and statistics. This practical reference provides basic information on becoming a social worker, including information on accredited social work programs at all levels - baccalaureate, master's, and doctoral programs - as well as guidance on social work licensing regulations and procedures, fields and organizations that employ social workers, applying for employment, and even adapting to one's first job in social work. All of the information is provided in clear, direct language and in easy-to-follow charts and tables. This new edition provides up-to-date statistics on fields of social work, current addresses of professional social work and related organizations, and updated information about licensing procedures and regulations in every state. For anyone intersted in social work.

Part of a series that provides information for specific careers, this book includes art directors, book editors, graphic designers, literary agents and photographers.